Never crossed my mind actually that they never seem to do live shows in Ireland outside of Dublin. Every two bob Irish podcast usually does some kind of Irish tour.
If it was truly member led it would just be a Ken Early travel blog.
And Ken Early talking about other sports.
I can only recall two ads the lads did in the past 4/5 years of listening to the show. It's so infrequent. I have no problem with it at all. It's also an ad linked to a live show, so it didn't come out of the blue per se.
On the live shows in Ireland, yeah I suppose that's fair enough, it'd be nice if they ventured to Galway or Cork the odd time, but I'm sure they'll get better attendances in Dublin.
Great lineup for that London live show. Anyone here attend it? Thought the Petit ep fell a bit flat, but I'd say the others will be better. When Eoin said Katie McCabe was on, I thought he said Katie Taylor and I was flabbergasted when he said "she was in great form!", lol. Looking forward to hearing the others. I reckon the Dara O'Brian ep will be great, if it's aired.
100% Agree. Seriously, people who have a problem with the couple of lines about a hotel every 2 years have some sort of weird issues. It's nothing. "Actually, they claim to be ad free". Yeah, fúck off
Laughed at the end when Eoin was wrapping it up and Petit utters "this is it" in a surprised tone, sounded like he was expecting a longer interview.
I still get paid, right?
I quite enjoyed it but i wouldn't really pay much attention to a lot of his opinions, although the bit where he called himself a girl for writing when he was a 14 year old was quite awkward. Eoin moved along fairly quickly to the next question
On
I liked his honesty, whether it is PC in today's world is irrelevant really. He was very honest and came across as a fairly likeable person.
I always think the live shows played back come across poorly on the podcast
Half drunk crowd overly eager to be laughing and cheering at every single opportunity regardless whether warranted or not
Was weird when they extraneously started laughing during the Petit chat because they put something up on the big screen.
It's probably fun to be there, I'd go if I wasn't far from Dublin, getting there is a pain in the hole for me.
Do they only do live shows every two years? I thought it was more frequent than that. They’ve definitely promoted more than hotels; Aer Lingus and O’Hara’s beer come to mind. They chose to describe themselves on their own website as “commercial-free”, presumably they don’t have to do that.
I find it much weirder that anyone would get worked up defending the honour of people they don’t know and who don’t know them. Maybe it’s that parasocial relationship thing?
Leaving out Waterford is a slap on the face.
Thought that was brilliant. The lads are painfully left on stuff like that so was great to hear them put in an awkward position. Although Petit was 100% correct in what he said obviously you're not allowed say it anymore.
Thoroughly enjoyed the interview.
Petit interview was good but I thought very short. Lots of sound bytes. Even he was surprised it was so short...no issues with advertising extra sponsors. Every pod does it.
In general the content quite poor this week I thought. I avoid Irish football stuff now as it's so negative from them.
The Racket by Conor Niland is £1 today in the Kindle store
It's well worth getting. I listened to it on Audible and it's one of the best sports biographies I have read/listened to
I'm not defending them, it's more like I'm laughing at people whining about 20 seconds of ad per year in a podcast that has 6 episodes a week pretty much 52 weeks a year.
Anyway, Petit seemed pretty cool.
I thought the interview with Spider was really good too. I wasn't expecting it at all which added to it
Don't care where the live shows are as long as they don't go back to the fúckin' National Stadium again, place is a complete dump.
saw a gig there and it was absolutely shít. Ended up leaving halfway through because the sound was so bad. Bar situation is a mess too.
I hated everything about the National Stadium. Awful seats. Tiny toilets. Queue for the bar was massive. Sound was poor.
They said in Fridays podcast the "Gangs All Here" event(s) will be in the Gaiety with details this week. Gaiety Theater be good.
I wouldn’t really be surprised if Matt Doherty wasn't trying. Maybe he's just become **** but don't get the impression he cares all that much
As a Wolves supporter I can tell you it’s bizarre anyone thought Matt was a very good defender at any point in his career. At his best he was a very good right wing back with license to run up and nod in back post headers from crosses, something we are too shite at international level to do and Wolves don’t have much interest in doing since Nuno left.
Ken can’t help being snidey about Martin Oneill calling Doherty for what he was years ago.
Was O’Neill rude to Ken in a press conference or something? Ken really doesn’t seem to like him
Ken is a snide who isn’t a particularly keen judge of the Irish national team on previous evidence and struggles to admit when he gets it wrong . That’s his default setting on a mic. Probably not in real life.
Apart from stanning for King Steo after it was blindingly obvious he was way out of his depth and drowning in the national job Ken’s been pretty much on the money. Just because you disagree for very personal reasons it doesn’t mean he’s a bad judge.