Seem to be a great location, lovely house exterior but the interior is ugly and looks cold.
Another house where all the money was spent on the construction and very little left to finish the interior.
Seems to be tiles/lino in every room which was a big mistake - Makes it look so cold and uninviting. I hate round structures in a house. Curved walls make a space useless. I hate that hall and stairs.
The interior design is now very dated, if that was changed it would make it all look a lot better in my opinion. Seeing it furnished would have helped
So beige!!!!
WOW!
That is something else! I wouldn't like to live in it, but I admire the work they've put into it.
If someone was thinking of buying a house in an estate to open a creche, it would be great!
I tried really hard, but I couldn't find a single thing I liked about the house. Its all very cold looking.
All the interior wood actually reminds me of the office building I work in.
As you drive further along there it’s lovely. Lined by absolutely ancient trees. An old school further up the lane sold very quickly earlier this year. There’s ruins for sale further up there too. The noise is horrendous from the constant traffic between Waterford and Wexford on it though. Looks like the the new road cut between two old country estates so there’s not many one off houses around there.
The ruins
House and garden look like they've been maintained well, but if I was buying it, I'd also be investing in lots of large buckets of thick, white paint!
It's been done quite well, too - often these things look like they've been painted by a toddler on crack.
I've always thought that you know you've too many rooms in your house when a grand piano appears.
When a grand piano that no one every plays except the odd drunk party guest appears, you mean. Heck, my mom had a baby grand in our house growing up, and it was far from a mansion, just a plain old four-bed suburban Florida ranch. She played it all the time and taught a lot of piano students on it over the years, though, so it definitely wasn't just for show.
Why would you do this with the tiles?
Good point, agreed many do use them wonderfully. I absolutely meant in the context of mcmansions.
Small update on this. Passed by it yesterday’s and there was 2 sturdy, builder looking types outside it, leaning against their vans, chatting. Wouldn’t be surprised to see work commencing on this soon!
I hate everything about this: the tiles everywhere, the fact it looks like a church conversion when it is a (relatively) new build, the wood panels under the windows. And 750k for a McMansion in Donegal, get in the bin.
https://www.daft.ie/for-sale/detached-house-dooen-glebe-newmills-letterkenny-co-donegal/5320599
hard to look past the front entrance..
Little roundabout out the front. Loads of concrete and tarmac around the house.
No landscaping of any significance. It really boils my blood when these house come up. Keeping the grass cut that was in the field before it was a site does not count as a garden or and few beds of shrubs lined with chippings is definitely not landscaping.
110 photos? I don’t have time for that when this will be an identikit rural one off house.
No. Its trying way too hard. What is holding up that (apparently) massive stone wall hanging in space downstairs? It worries me, and is the upstairs massive wall an extension of it? You can't/shouldn't put in something like that and visually only hold it up with a layer of plasterboard.
Ooo, a Gothic Pringles can turret; that's a rare and elusive species indeed! Observe how it tries and fails to hide among the ordinary surrounding fenestration and beigewash exterior.
That ground floor interior of said turret is definitely horrible and terrifying. I really hope those blocks above the doorways are not actual stone, because besides looking absolutely stupid (physics does not work that way, architect!), that's a genuine hazard if any of those stone bits ever come loose from whatever is holding them to the structural parts that are no doubt behind them.
Other things I hate:
- Giant wood-framed glass block wall off the gothic stone-clad tile-floored foyer. "Gothic deco" is not a thing; stop trying to make it a thing.
- The wall at the end of the main sitting room has the best views in the entire house, and that's where you decide to plop your giant fireplace and chimney instead of a lovely picture window? Whyyyyyyy?
- Fecking cheesy word art literally carved into the walls, so the unfortunate buyer is stuck with it.
- Convex protruding drawers in the kitchen? Especially on the island right in front of the sink? Do these people hate knees and wish to cause them pain?
- The balustrade on the staircase is both the ugliest and the most dangerous-looking thing I've ever seen. Now I'm convinced whoever built this place is a sadist.
- I genuinely have no words for the abomination in the upstairs landing. Why would anyone do that?
Jesus that’s absolutely shocking considering how nice a house that could have been. Busy road below, but that’s a great site for Letterkenny. Agreed on the fireplace blocking the view, unforgivable
27 pictures before we see the inside, then 10 of what effectively amounts to the hallway!
House contents coming up for auction:
Important Live Auction on behalf of Michael J. Kinane o... (14 Sep 24) (easyliveauction.com)
I have no idea what the inside looks like. I was 20 pics in and still hadn't got past the front door. What house needs 110 pictures?
Looks like its been on sale since at least June/July 2023, and was previously POA. That, or it was sold and someone immediately got buyers remorse…
https://www.donegaldaily.com/2023/07/02/spectacular-home-with-a-two-storey-tower-hits-the-market-in-donegal-1/
The misaligned tiles in the front hallway...who laid those
And the tiles on the risers of the wooden stairs, it must be great craic fixing the grouting as the stairs expands and contracts, that's if the tiles stay put and don't fall off.
I don't like it at all either, all notions, no practicality for daily life apart from getting your steps in as you traipse from one room to the other. The kitchen must be like a sauna on a sunny day with all that ceiling glass.
Exactly what I was about to post. I was losing interest at that point anyway and didn't look any further after no 27. 🥱.
I'd be all over this if I had the money, just me and two Dobermans :D
I'd be all over it as well if I had the money. Just me and my five girlfriends. Girlfriends and not wives as I'd trade them in for younger models every couple of years.
I would love to know what all that stonework is supposed to be. There is no way it would hold itself up - the shaping of the arch of the front door is impossible, and the stone surrounds on the windows. Is it real stone? Or is it artificial. All the pieces seem to be different so it suggest its real, but the weight would be massive for those inadequate lintels, obviously there are steel beams under it all but it isn't remotely convincing as a structure.