Following on from
this thread
Please remain civil or posting privileges will be removed
https://www.newstalk.com/news/majority-of-irish-people-do-not-trust-the-government-cso-1743948
people lie and you declare it’s “dancing on the head of a pin”
If they are lying about what he did that would suggest they don’t think the original issue was too bad so they have to embellish it
What would you prefer? People to lie about the facts and everyone to say nothing?
Most of them won't bother because they'll only have their own hypocrisies thrown back at them
The state of affairs is,if it's hypocrisy you don't like,you'll need to choose the party with the least basket full of them and that won't be the top 3 in the opinion polls
So I guess 70% of voters at least don't care?
You may put up with that
You should go and get elected and call him out on it
Yes. The 'law and order party' 🤣
maybe he gave Harris a box of Twix
hopefully the taoiseach didn't take that the wrong way…
Deleted
If anyone is in trouble overseas it is worked on by the department, they will not go to press or any media because the person in trouble might not want this issue highlighted. In this case, based on the information the department had been working on this for weeks. That has been confirmed by the family.
If anyone thinks that the UAE is going to change their opinion on what has happened based on leaders questions they are sadly mistaken
Also if anyone thinks that it is raised in the Dail one day and a few hours later everything is resolved they are also sadly mistaken
People have no problem slagging off civil servants and what they do, when they actually do their job they don't want to congratulate them. As I have said many times, the lady in question would never be home without the department working on this issue and fair play to them. Both Simon Harris and Michael Martin at least had the decency to call them out for that work.
Lots of these cases will never comes to light yet these people work away in background
@howiya In the discussion between McDonald and Harris it's acknowledged that she raised it with him privately the previous day.
Where did you see that?
I thank Deputy McDonald for bringing the case of Tori to my attention. I believe her colleague Deputy Kerrane has raised the matter with the Minister for Foreign Affairs. I am not directly apprised of the situation but I am very happy to be directly apprised of it now and to work with Deputy McDonald to intervene and see how we can support an Irish citizen in what sounds to be, from Deputy McDonald has told me, the most appalling of circumstances. If Deputy McDonald would like to engage with me on it, I am happy to engage with her directly on it. I thank her for bringing it to my attention. ~~ https://www.oireachtas.ie/en/debates/debate/dail/2024-07-09/speech/74/
As I posted Michael Martin and Foreign Affairs department where dealing with the matter before MLMD raised it?
I was reading this.
https://www.oireachtas.ie/ga/debates/debate/dail/2024-07-10/speech/53/
Wasn't aware that McDonald had to raise it twice in the Dáil. Like I said I was looking for something else that happened at leaders questions yesterday and just scrolled up.
@howiya She raised it as a point of order on the previous day.
https://www.oireachtas.ie/en/debates/debate/dail/2024-07-09/speech/68/
I stand corrected so
Absolutely correct.
It was naive of the family but stupid and risky of MLMD to have it raised publicly in the Dail.
You referred to GDP as your comparison point, which would suggest you were completely unaware of GDP unsuitability for making such a point.
Our GNI is expected to grow by 2% in 2024 and 1.9% in 2025[1]. Our government expenditure is forecast to grow by 7% with this budget[2].
Our government expenditure is expanding far more rapidly than our GNI. This is completely irresponsible behaviour, even by your own chosen metric.
Its very much not "only right wing hawks". The neutral, expert, Irish Fiscal Council, said this week:
"by breaking its own rule limiting spending increases to 5%, the Government is increasing the risk of the economy overheating and adding to inflation pressure.
This comes at a time when the economy is performing well. Unemployment is at record lows and employment is at record highs."
"As a result, the economy does not need more money pumped into it from Budget 2025."
The whole reason our government brought in the 5% rule in the first place was for this exact scenario.
[1]https://www.crowe.com/ie/insights/stability-programme-update-2024
[2] https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/c51yql430l5o
It works out well when we need an anecdote to back up the blind defence of this government. Or unionism.
I called you out on this yesterday, yet you ignored and continued to spread misinformation. Again this is what Harris actually said.
“If you’re accused of sexual assault, and you wear the uniform of Oglaigh na hÉireann, you can’t continue to wear that uniform until the matter is resolved. I don’t think that’s a radical concept, that’s what a zero-tolerance approach looks like,” he said.
It's clear you have an agenda on here against FG which is ok with me, that't the point of a discussion forum. But spreading lies and misinformation is not the way to do it
U til MLMD raised it in the Dail it was likely some junior Diplomat at Thrid Secretary level was dealing with the case. Once it was raised in the Dail it was no doubt escalated to Ministerial level and hence the reason it was resolved almost immediately.
The lady thanked the embassy and ambassador.
Up there with Ryan's window box farming during COVID.
@Augme stop speculating on what happened and read the reports linked in the thread?
Both myself and @Clo-Clo raised that Micheal Martin and department of foreign affairs had been involved well before MLMD brought to attention in the Dail? As he mentioned no way it was resolved in 24 hours.
“They kept in touch with us. Any time there was an update, they were phoning us, I know Micheál Martin was doing a lot behind the scenes as well.“They all just worked as a team and they were amazing. I’m so grateful to all of them.” Source: - https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-41435080.html
“They kept in touch with us. Any time there was an update, they were phoning us, I know Micheál Martin was doing a lot behind the scenes as well.
“They all just worked as a team and they were amazing. I’m so grateful to all of them.”
Source: - https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-41435080.html
He had a poor way of explaining it but he was correct in terms of keeping hardware shops open so people could use the garden etc during those long days with restrictions in covid.
I remember going to Woodies at the time and we got into a queue which went around the car park to get supplies. Anything to keep the boredom away.
From a mental health point of view it kept a lot of people going.
You really will go to bat for anything with this govt. Impressive.
I couldn't care less what you think, it's a true fact that many people during covid used their garden more than ever. You are so caught up with having a pop at someone you can't admit that.
I couldn't care less what you think.
Ctrl C
Ctrl V.
Good for you
😂
Who said that the Irish Fiscal Council is neutral? It is full of right-wing economists.
https://www.socialjustice.ie/article/budget-2025-should-close-income-gaps-and-build-resilient-public-services
Have a look at what Social Justice Ireland is proposing. They have listed over €10bn of public expenditure increases, nearly twice what the government is planning. When they come along after the budget and criticise the government, you will be jumping on that bandwagon too. As I said, it is only right-wing hawks you want the government to spend less. All of the left-wing NGOs are and will be calling for more expenditure than the government are planning.
As for GNI, I note that you did not do the 2019 comparison that I did, you avoided it.
Harris, fine talking but try implementing within his FG party
https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/politics/arid-41428870.html
https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-41435482.html
Been reported on again with more background into events of it.
There's a reason you didn't quote me, quoting that, because I never did. I never confused sexual assault with this latest assault carried out by McGahon. Stop lying to defend a drunken bully who put his hands on woman.
He put his arm around a woman he didn't know.
After the argument ended, he followed them to pick it up again.
He lied to the Garda and was found out via CCTV.
This is who Harris is 'Happy' to have as a candidate in the upcoming GE. That's the problem. Harris is a hypocrite, as is McEntee for that matter.
Harris spoke on gender based assault, sexual assault and Harris also said:
TAOISEACH SIMON HARRIS said that he wanted to acknowledge the actions of Natasha O’Brien, the young woman who was the victim of a vicious assault and whose attacker received a fully suspended sentence.Speaking on The Anton Savage Show, the Taoiseach said that her refusal to remain quiet following the conclusion of Cathal Crotty’s trial, has led to a number of essential follow-up actions in combatting gender-based violence.He also said that he was unhappy with the response that the government received from the Defence Forces.When asked, the Defence Forces said that 68 serving members were convicted or currently before the courts. Harris said that a zero-tolerance approach must be taken.
TAOISEACH SIMON HARRIS said that he wanted to acknowledge the actions of Natasha O’Brien, the young woman who was the victim of a vicious assault and whose attacker received a fully suspended sentence.
Speaking on The Anton Savage Show, the Taoiseach said that her refusal to remain quiet following the conclusion of Cathal Crotty’s trial, has led to a number of essential follow-up actions in combatting gender-based violence.
He also said that he was unhappy with the response that the government received from the Defence Forces.
When asked, the Defence Forces said that 68 serving members were convicted or currently before the courts. Harris said that a zero-tolerance approach must be taken.
Now know that the 68 are convicted for assault, gender based assault, drugs etc.
https://www.thejournal.ie/natasha-obrien-simon-harris-defence-forces-6423045-Jun2024/
“Zero tolerance should mean zero tolerance. That stretches to the barstools, the WhatsApp groups, the workplace, the football clubs and the newspaper columns.
https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/taoiseach-urges-men-to-play-part-in-changing-attitudes-towards-women-in-ireland-1645501.html
“There has to be clearly no tolerance for the kind of behaviour that came forward in the courts, particularly last week.Meanwhile, Mr Harris said he was eager to meet with Ms O’Brien, but said he may need to wait until all legal processes are complete.
“There has to be clearly no tolerance for the kind of behaviour that came forward in the courts, particularly last week.
Meanwhile, Mr Harris said he was eager to meet with Ms O’Brien, but said he may need to wait until all legal processes are complete.
The assault wasnt criminally proven though and the accuser gets 35% of the blame in the civil court
That reduces the banging on ability of what you're repeating over and over here,a lot
I'll probably come back to find a few 100 more repetitive too's and fro's between you and clo and blanchy but its not real life,its just a couple of lads trying to best each other on the internet again
Move on ,the lot of ye and save the byte's for heavens sake