He was grand, would have been a serious heifer as he had a great frame but his mother is a tank. I’ve another heifer here I’ll have to wait on the genotype back that’s either out of him or my own stock bull she seems quiet too.
I have a proper calf here very impressed with him just needs grass now hopefully in the next 2weeks. I heard that Rolex is good but Rigby is disappointing could have them mixed up. I heard Lisa sir is doing the goods but I would like abit of height
Would you have any preference between Valentino and Manclaux if you’ve used him?
I got all bulls except one so it’s hard to judge but if all vta come with the same growth as the bull I had it would be Valentino. I have 9 incalf to a knottown bull to calve at the end of the year and after that I’m just going to try buy in a few saler heifers. I really don’t like the bulls.
Anyone any thoughts on the Dovea LM bull Ivantonov LM5887? Seems to be incredibly easy calving whatever the calves turn out like…
Super bull and calves shaping up nicely, will try get few pics. Used him 4 times this year. Think they saying he is suitable replacement for Ivor (LM2014) who is no longer available I believe
Thanks Alan. Was calving as easy as the figures suggest? Are they born real slips of things?
Ivantonov straws are €15 each. I haven't used him, but his sire Bavardage was a great bull.
Yep, they calved ok themselves. The 2 red lads are twins.
Has anyone got any calves off Castleview Reece LM8619
powerful proper from a heifer
WHat age?
09th April , 6 weeks, photo taken early last week
The PG selection is a bit poor this year. So many unproven test bulls, low stars making many unsuitable for ICBF scheme, majority of them with very little milk so only for beef animals. Is dairy there main area so they don't need to concentrate to much on the suckler side, especially after Fiston, Zag and a few other most used Ai bulls. Do you need to order from Dovea Genetics or are there any technicians who go farm to farm?
Dovea have technicians who go farm to farm.
Claddagh McCabe bull calf from a blonde cross cow. Doing 1.8kg since birth. Born 21.3.24. Will be some tank come October/ November
Class animal there, any pic of cow? How was he calved?
No issue with Mccabe , used him over the last 3 years. She was aid to him again Tuesday.
some cow, what’s she by
Nothing wrong with the 2 in the background also. I see they were bulling too!
I have a roan lim cow 3rd calver. She's out of a Belgian blue cow. I've been giving her a char bull this last 2 years. She's producing great stock so far.
She will be up for AI early next and I'm wondering will I stick with the char bull or would I go with a blue bull to get the nice colours.
Question is, is it asking for trouble putting a blue bull on a lim cow that's out of a blue cow. She's isn't awful muscly and has calved char calves herself without help
A CH calf out of her will sell everyday, a top BB heifer could make allot, anything else might not make big bucks. There’s BB bulls with red factor short gestation and average calving
had a cow that i thought was coming a bulling this morning. Theres a strong bull calf and he was following her and rising on her head and she was standing for that so thought she would be on for ai in the morning. Back up there this evening and Notting happening no marks on her back. What would lads do with that ai her tomorrow her leave her off ? Is that enough signs off heat to show a cycle? She’s a long time calved also.
was there slime? On her tail or anyway around that area? Mine don’t make much effort in the hot weather when it comes to jumping.
no there wasn’t any I checked il check again in the morn but find it easier to check for smile if there still lying down. Would you ai if she was yours ?
I'd AI her, youll regret not doing her if it turns out she was bulling more than youll regret doing it if she turns out not to be bulling. I would always AI at any slight sign of bulling, once AI'd a cow because she let a bawl while standing on her own in the middle of the field, she held.
I'd take the same approach. Any slight possibility of being on will get AI'd. Otherwise you'll be waiting another 3 weeks and dates start slipping
Bull calves often jump on cows heads and they stand, it doesn’t usually mean much, they’re just playing. I put two or three yearling bullocks with the cows, find them great heat detectors, check them three times a day then.
this calf is Oct born so he's more of a yearling than a calf.
I AI'd her anyway she was hard bulled but he got her bulled so must have being on
Dunmasc Genetics brochure - something to read while waiting for the penalties.
https://dunmascgenetics.ie/wp-content/uploads/2024/05/Beef-Bull-Cat-Spring-24.pdf