No rain fell on their farm for the last 8 months. Ran out of nuts Saturday morning, new mealbin is a pain .
It's only when you have to draw 25kgs bags that you realise how much cows eat this time of year.
I can't even get into the new hoppers to fill them. I filled the bucket of the digger with coarse dairy ration and shovelled it out at feed trough in shed, theyre in on bales at night. I was surprised they weren't antsy when milking with no nuts
Fine house by Ed Payne..!!
For a second major airport in the country you would think somewhere in the midlands would make more sense instead of shoehorning another one into the East coast commuter belt where land and basic services are already under alot of development pressure. Somewhere along the M4 beyond Kilcock would tic alot of the relevant boxes
O'Leary has 1500acres bought up in Westmeath…. hed be the man to talk to..
Off topic but was out of diesel in tank in yard recently and filled tractor twice in local garage and it hits home how much you use travelling to outside places compared to filling up out of tank in yard
Zone G airspace I believe
It has to be outside airport control from other airports(ie not interfere with their routes in and out) which limits where it can go,Dublin airport control extends a good bit further west of Dublin than it does south
South of Arklow is just inside Zone G airspace,the rail line motorway and port then bring it into play
If this were China,they'd commence building there monday
Thank god this is not China or anything like it for that matter .….... sure its far less planes we need in the skies as it is never mind expansion
Yeah lely here. Grazing. 9 out of 10 days I wonder how anyone stands in a parlour. But then again most lads round here don't milk cows themselves anymore.
I had to make an investment/upgrade and I couldn't pay for a parlour and labour.
I love to flexibility of it. I have young family so I can do school runs, training in the evening and I'm not rushing to be finished.
Not saying you have to be a better farmer to run a robot but it's certainly less forgiving than the parlour. If you make mistakes with grazing or something breaks you will be chasing your tail.
I don't think it's for everyone, far from it tbh. It's not the cheapest way to milk cows either. Information is very good. I wouldn't like to be without it now.
you had a couple of A4s on a farm years ago? The A5 is alot better and user friendly machine IMHO.
I know a couple of indoor farms with robots. Happy but reckon it awkward doing the cubicles. If cows were brought out to parlour shed would be empty and you could fly around with bobman. Cows always in cubicles with robot set-up.
Grazing takes a while to get used to. For me and cows.
I hear lots of things/reviews from people with them and I sometimes think Jesus they had it real handy. I wouldn't go back, sure i can't go back now!
’I wonder how anyone stands in a parlor’ is becoming more and more relevant here. Over 30 in the farm relief here, and not one will milk. We’re OK for staff but that could change fast. What yields are you achieving and how much extra meal are you feeding?
Are you spending the same amount of time at cows?
What breed of cows?
Cost per litre of robots?
Electricity costs on par with a milking parlor?
Any change to the durability of the cows..are they lasting as long with the extra production?
Did you get a grant?
How long would it take to train new staff to be able to work the robots properly?
Thanks for posting Visa!
I wonder with advances in tech, will there be an actual semi robot in the pit adapted to existing parlours... you just bring in the cows
There's trials and some research taking place but nothing really concrete edit to add on obviously there's the robotic rotary parlours on the go already it was herringbone and headbanging type parlours I was talking about
. Traffic jam
I think the key is to have milking time less than an hour long. It's better for the farmer and animal. The less time to milk, the less it's viewed as a chore. Paid labour can be used to mask a bad set up for the farmer. And then it's less likely to get the labour if there's a bad set up.
Its the length of time in the parlour though. Under an hour here now. Some lads milking for 7 or 8 hours a day, torture
I’d imagine the crowd trying to buy up the land in Arklow will find it nigh on impossible to get some people to sell up. My own take on it is their only way of dealing with some of them would be to buy land a few miles away and offer an exchange plus money. So if a guy had 100 acres offer him 300 acres of equally good land 5 miles away plus a million euro, anyone that turns down that sort of an offer is just plain unreasonable.
There's a thread here on this fair site about that "airport"
Some say it's what's under the ground that they are really after. Anyone know hat's under Arklow lands?
There's little to no chance of an airport being built the way planning is in this country. Wasn't there one pencilled in for Tuber outside Moate a few years ago too. Plus the Chinese retail city thinggy in Athlone. Some massive casino and stuff in Tipperary a few years back as well. All pie in the sky stuff. We don't have labour to build homes that's needed nor get planning permission for lots of other stuff
There was a guy came around a few years ago, looking to build a solar farm. 1000 euro/acre/year lease for boggish land, and you could still have sheep. Not one person was interested. all it takes is one person that won't sell to upset that airport plan
Fecking cut of the place
Thanks for your comment, i assume ye didnt get rain. Its a stone base, milkman and dairys very happy.
Better than my spot
Indeed there's always an asshole to make **** of others
No sense of humour whelan, you never survive around a table for the morning tea/coffee.
I say it was tongue in cheek by @straight
I was talking to a chap at the weekend. He does 10 milkings a week for a chap. 1hr20. €50 per milking.
Works out at €500 a week for 14hours work. He has another gig on the side.
My shearer crutched 380 sheep in eight hours at €1.50/sheep a couple weeks ago.
There's no competition for that job but nice money all the same
sounds alright once he is close by. He’s travelling to and from milking 10 times.
Its often very easy to equate things like that to only the time spend in the pit. From the time he enters until he leaves it the yard its probably an hour and a half.
Even of its nearby it probably at least ten minutes away add in to change clothes or take a shower after and you are at two hours. Take 5-10 euro for transport and it about 20/hour
Is it cash or cheque if it cash its good money but the risk is the dairy farmer is recording it. If its a cheque or a bank transfer then its not as good as you miight think.
There's a granite base there with quartz veins.
Could be uranium, lead, gold, lithium.
Oh lord it's so hard to be humble......…