https://www.independent.ie/regionals/dublin/dublin-news/cars-to-be-banned-from-areas-of-dublins-quays-as-part-of-city-transport-plan/a745050370.html#:~:text=Dublin%20GAA-,Cars%20to%20be%20banned%20from%20areas%20of%20Dublin's,part%20of%20city%20transport%20plan&text=The%20first%20measures%20to%20reduce,Bachelor's%20Walk%20and%20Aston%20Quay.
Can't say I'm in favor of where we're going with this. Whatever about a congestion charge like london, an outright ban seems too… cabbage ryan… for my liking.
I'm confident the main reason for the excessive road deaths is the huge numbers breaking the laws, go to your nearest set of traffic lights or a road where 3T trucks aren't allowed and you will see for yourself… I had somebody undertake me yesterday on the hard shoulder of a motorway while I was in lane 1 doing 120kmph. Pure idiocy is what is killing people on our roads
Take cars out of the city and they'll be as much of a danger, just elsewhere. With that being said, taking the cars out of the city would help take the deaths out of the city and make a better funcioning city centre with fewer road closures so there is that benefit
In any case, the point of taking cars out of the city streets is to make our busses faster and more reliable, nothing to do with road deaths
Hey man, it works in America, doesn't it?
Four months in to the year and we’ve 61 people killed in and by cars yet people (some of whom haven’t been in Dublin City Centre in years) are banging away in their keyboards saying it’s dangerous to move cars out of a heavy footfall area.
You couldn’t make it up. Jokers.
Cool - do I win a prize?
ok - had it in my head that they had been doing this for donkey's years!
Beer pipelines from brewery to packaging plants exist
This must be the most stupid post on Boards in a very long time.
Well done.
They don't - the project never got completed.
Last news I could find on it - https://thecurrency.news/articles/116120/waters-targets-aviation-pipeline-in-new-potential-energy-investment/
Without being flippant, the likes of Circle K (aka Topaz, aka Shell & Statoil) have lines going from the port (where they have the storage tanks) to the airport to transport the likes of aviation fuel (my recollection was that it is around 10,000 litres always contained in the pipes). If it was that important to Diageo to continue exporting from Dublin Port, they could do something similar (but with stainless steel pipes!).
I haven't owned a bike in a few years, I mostly drive a car, sometimes ride a motorcycle and walk… but these changes in the city are great. I'm fully in support. We absolutely need to reduce the traffic in the city and particularly on the quays. Most of the arguements against it are a bit rediculous and far fetched. Lets face it, car drivers kill people on a regular basis…
Clearing out a lot of the traffic will just make the city a nicer place to be. Will give better access to retail & dining… will give better oportunities for business away from the massive rents in Grafton & Henry Streets.
Diageo could also reopen a packaging plant in Ireland and not have to send tankers of beer to Runcorn to be canned/bottled just to be sent back here. They had one in Dundalk but it closed with the Macardle Moore plant a long time ago.
Yes, I do feel I should be able to drive through the city like I always have, I have no interest in hanging around Capel Street eating or drinking so pedestrianising that is no benefit to me.
So you think your journey is more important that the bus containing way more people that your car? Anyhow, you will still be able to drive through the city. Just not all the way down Bachelors Walk and Aston Quay.
I presume the traffic that used Capel Street is now causing issues elsewhere just the same as me turning right onto Pearse Street instead of left is moving me in one direction instead of another.
You presume? It is more likely to have evaporated!
How is the Guinness traffic going to divert, is it via Church Street, thats insane.😡
Diageo wanted to use their traditional route so maybe they can return to using barges? Maybe this will get them to speed up the building of their plant in Newbridge!
Have you any facts to back that up? a quick Google tells the complete opposite, Pedestianised areas are much safer- When is the last time someone in a car stopped to helped a pedestrian getting mugged or assaulted?
Pedestrianisation of a busy city centre street in Mexico City resulted in a 30% increase in commercial activity and 96% reduction in violent crime.
https://rapidtransition.org/stories/reclaiming-the-streets-the-increasing-trend-of-pedestrianisation-around-the-world/
lads it's entertaining but i'm pretty sure they are a troll
If we're using anecdotal evidence as facts, I've been in town regularly at night 2/3 times a fortnight with my partner or friends, never once had an ounce of trouble. Does this mean there isn't any? Of course it doesn't.
All the people you know seem to be very unlucky when they're in town.
By this time next year all those areas identified as future plazas will be full of men in tents
No evidence whatsoever to support this idea.
I mean get the tents off Mount Street before you do anything with Lincoln place, its just ridiculous.
This has nothing to do with removing cars from a small area of the quays.
And?
PS, the weather is appallingly bad, raining again but did get to golf today, drove there and bad, Im a terrible person.
So you're self entitled as well as badly informed?
Twice now you've referred to Lincoln Place. Why? Do you really not understand the change DCC are about to implement (despite your abundance of commentary on it)? It is not part of the two Liffey Quay Bus Gates unless someone moved the street this morning
So you think the two short sections of the quays that will be restricted will suddenly go from being busy to be deserted and dark? Where are you getting this nonsense from? There will still be loads of people there so not sure why you are wasting people's time talking about dark isolated areas and parks at night FFS.
Oh and stop trying to use mysoginy as as excuse to defend your crap arguments!
Grafton Street will always attract footfall as its a destination and most of the shops have security on the doors and plenty of undercover private security staff.
Grafton street didn't used to be a "destination" - it used to be a regular street that one would drive through!
comparing this to pedestrianising the area around the custom house or Lincoln place is nonsense, who is going to hang around these" plazas " in the evening.
I didn't make that comparison so why mention it?
It never stops raining in this country, cold and dark from sept to May,
You obviously don't be outside much if you think the weather is that bad!
serious alcohol abuse problem, growing drug menace leading go rise in vicious assaults, those responsible for much of the intimidation are underage so know they are untouchable.
Nothing to do wiht a feckin bus gate FFS
Just saw a headline in a paper, 440,000 extra cars and 400 less Gardai.
So way more cars now and you think they should be free to drive into our cities whenever they wish because of safety and other nonsense claims?
So again sort out the public safety issue first so people will actually come into the city, take the streets back from the criminal element and only then put street furniture etc where cars, buses and taxis usrd to be.
Blah blah blah "No skin in the game" you said? People sitting in cars doesn't make the city centre safer. In fact, if there was something to happen, do you think all the drivers would hop out and help? Would they f**k!
Is hanging around Beresford Place currently all sweetness and light because of the passing traffic, then?
Your entire argument is based on nonsense. Cars passing do not make places safer; and anyway, even if you were somehow right (you're not), there's very few of them passing through the future restrictions even now.
Its not safe, the business owners are finding it very tough.
I personally know of at least five young men who have been attacked for no reason, daughters little pal is tiny, flung to the ground in Temple bar at 4pm, not a Garda in sight.
And then we are supposed to believe hanging around Beresford place after dark or at anytime of the day will be pleasant.
By this time next year all those areas identified as future plazas will be full of men in tents.
if cars are removed then less people around at night
This is simply untrue.
We need "Bruce Wayne/Batman" to patrol the streets if the Car security Patrol isn't allowed to drive around the city centre now!
Your belief is not backed up by facts.
Motorists are far less likely to stop and help than a passer by on foot or bike is. The areas you are talking about are streetlit and do not require the brief lights of passing cars.
You are not talking about dark isolated areas here; and gender is irrelevant - you are making baseless claims based off anecdote and a complete misrepresentation of the areas involved.
I think you're being a bit over the top in relation to trouble in town. Granted there are areas that are dodgier than others but you're making it out to be a hell hole.
It's not about hanging around the proposed plazas at night, it's about making the city a more welcoming place for footfall and generally a nicer place to be. Capel St is 10 times nicer since it's pedestrianisation than it ever was. Ditto with Parliament street during the trial periods of pedestrianisation.
It's mid April now and guarantee there'll be plenty having coffees or standing outside pubs enjoying pints after work today not in the rain, cold and dark environment that you're describing.
Closing a few sections of the quays that already has very little private traffic is not going to turn the Dublin into Gotham City.
It absolutely does make areas safer, people coming and going from their cars, lights on the cars, passing motorists who might stop and help if someone is being attacked, how can you say a deserted dark street with no one is safer than one with cars.
I walk at night and avoid dark isolated areas, dont go into parks, I choose noisy streets with passing cars, I am assuming you are male and I have had enough of being spoken down to by men, you have simply no comprehension of the way women use public spaces.
you're wasting your time with that one, some of the stuff they were coming out with on the dun laoighaire thread is nuts, it's like some kind of AI that learned all the cliched tropes about bikes and car restrictions from twitter and journal comments