whelan2 wrote: » One of our Angus bulls had a pig tail post wrapped in his ring this morning
YpU would never manage working nights and shift work anyway. Or travelling through time zones.
Our garden (it's not a lawn) is showing a good growth of dandelions, docks, a few daisy's and grass. I will give it a run with the small disc mower behind the IH454 when conditions allow.
The last bit was more tongue in cheek, I've no bother working nights or with timezones and jet lag thanks, which is a slightly different thing. Once I get a 3 hour block of sleep at some stage, I can work around the rest, but long term, there's a natural biological relationship with daylight /sleep patterns, not that I know much about it, apart from having the sense to pay heed to those that do.
It's nothing to do with me as, I've already said it's, it's well proven that it is detrimental to the health of the general population, which probably outweighed any historical benefit from the extra productive labour.
Wait until the bees have finished with the dandelions - well that's my excuse anyhow.
Nearly biting my nails watching Dublin v Derry 😲
some game
is changing the hour really that big of a deal?
I think the health implications are more likely to be related th the short winter days. They have that issue in Northern Sweden and the likes. We probably have it here to a lesser extent. Only way to avoid that is to move closer to the equator.
Some terrible penalties there by Dublin
Fairly embarrassing for them alright.
They must be so confident of winning that they never bother practicing penalties!
Fair play to Derry. Serious turnaround in their counties fortunes in 5 years
yea they were in division 4 about 5 year ago.
Grand stretch in the evening
I'd say Joe Brolly doesn't know what to do now after mouthing off about Mickey Harte.
Au contraire Rodney, in reality, compared to yesterday, the clock is reading is reading an hour later, so in effect the evening is gone.
And... to make matters worse, it'll be darker when you're getting up in the morning so they're gone too. Whoever came up with this idea should be sacked, it's an all round disaster.
That's SAD you're thinking of, here's some of the research on DST.
From the man himself Luke O'Neill
https://extra.ie/2024/03/28/news/dr-luke-oneill-daylight-savings
or some other sources;
https://evidencebasedliving.human.cornell.edu/blog/the-health-effects-of-daylight-savings-time/
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC7302868/
Proof positive at last, it's as I always suspected, you can't believe the scientists
I just don’t fancy it being dark at 8:30 in July. It won’t seem like summer at all.
It's a league title, I wouldn't get too carried away yet and to be fair he is following onto the coat tails of a lot of good work done by the likes of Rory Gallagher and Ciaran Meenagh. Remember they are Ulster champions and probably should have beaten Kerry last year if Shane McGuigan hadn't been panned out, whether you think Shane Ryan was in the right or wrong is another debate.
Brolly may be wrong, but he could be right yet too. Paddy Crozier won this trinket as manager in 2008 and hasn't went down in history.
You forgot to factor in, that we're 25 minutes behind GMT.😊
Time to get out on it is the problem
Can a goalkeeper be off their line in penalties in gaelic?
Yeah definitely - but they are undoubtedly continuing to move in the right direction still and your right to recognise it wasn't a one man turn around by Harte. The Glen winning the club championship is another step that adds to the overall squad. They've some massive footballers in the squad.
Brolly is the type though that would have revelled in their down fall if they failed/struggles in Div. 1.
No, but like soccer its rarely enforced
My maternal grandfather never changed the clock. As a child I remember when he and granny were alive and we stayed over or visited them on Sunday, grandad would get up from his chair by the range at 9pm to wind the clock over the mantle. That was his que to my parents and other visitors to get ready for bed or leave the house. My late Uncle kept on the tradition and my eldest batchelor brother who now lives in the same house continues with the tradition.
I noticed the first house fly in the kitchen earlier today and the first midge landed on the laptop screen a few mins ago.
Its not so much its never enforced, as there is no sanctions. Should he get a yellow card, do cards from earlier in the game carry over. From where do sanctions start.
If he is listed to take a penalty and is send off what happens.
It's a rotten way to decide a gaelic football game imo.
Big win for Derry, dubs will take a lot from it as well esp with the players to come back & getting the goal to force extra time...you have to hand it to them
See any swallows yet?
My oh, who is a dub thought the game was over at fulltime and would be a replay. Only realised during the second half of extra time it was still on
great looking ground there. How does it hold up on dry weather ?