I thought he would get some jail time especially since he ran from the cops and pleaded not guilty.
He's very lucky, but not a great role model for young gaa fans.
What false or 'scurrilous' comments are in this thread? Genuinely curious?
When do judges joke when making statements in a court of law??
Chasing him up the road and kicking him in the head while on the ground would the main one.
This was a joke the outcome of this case that's for sure.
'Cahill' Hayes his reputation all over the country alright.
Now on a serious note, any flare supporter willing to take one for the team on this..
Please stop making false comments. Hayes was charged with 2 counts of violent disorder both inside and outside the nightclub. The judge quoted that Hayes was involved in the altercation outside the Icon nightclub. He was acquited of the assault charge, although 2 gardaí and an eye witness testified to seeing Hayes kick/stand on the victim while on the ground outside the nightclub.
Acquittal of a charge does not necessarily amount to innocence, it is likely enough that the large number of attackers involved in the alleged assault muddied the waters during the trial.
Ah right, so the whole “innocent until proven guilty” thing has been put on hold has it??
The judge and jurors who saw the CCTV, heard witness statements, saw witnesses cross-examined etc are wrong, whilst the Boards Detective Agency knows exactly what happened??
Limerick people are the same as any county in Ireland.
There must be a sizeable cohort who are not happy with Hayes not pleading guilty, showing no remorse. And Kiely's involvement.
It's not fair on the rest of the team. There's this visceral reaction where we want them to lose. Which is very unfair on the team as a whole.
In Kiely's desire to win at all costs he may damage the team's legacy. The team deserves better for their sporting achievements. It seems like Kiely needed advice as much as Hayes.
Aquittal of the charge certainly doesn't mean guilt though, so presumed innocent
There was CCTV of said incident though, inside and outside, so I'm sure that cleared it up for them
I don't understand your point. What's a 'flare' supporter? Is it the young lads throwing those smoke flares?
Feck it, Clare supporter
In round 1 put your Johnny Maher equivalent, on the subs no. 26, he's totally dispensible, bring him on with 5 min to go, to do a job😂
Deadly with Effin Eddie!
Didn't say he was guilty of the alleged assault on Cillian McCarthy, when the gardaí gave evidence of Hayes kicking a man on the ground the judge said this appeared to be a different man that Hayes was attacking... As I said, acquittal of one aspect of the case doesn't necessarily amount to innocence. You'd almost think Hayes was the victim the way some people are defending him.
Also from the judge when talking about the case "none of this would have happened if not for Kyle Hayes".
You can't go dragging the thread down with actual established facts. You'll ruin it all.
It has obviously escaped you that he was found not guilty of assault.
Tj Reid is a great role model. Funny Kyle when he was an U21, put him down as a role model/favourite player on a match programme!
Still a great player, TJ, too.
I also find Michael Rice is a great mentor in St. Kieran's for young players. My nephew raves about him. Lots of great teachers but some appalling ones too.
Funnily enough I agree with you about the tribalism in hurling. Its supporters ruin the sport and this in intertwined with an inability to accept the sport's rule. They should apply to others not your team etc. And you have people here calling for Kyle Hayes to be abused by supporters and players. Then someone will die before their time and they'll compete here to offer sympathy and tell you how "it puts it all in perspective" unaware that someone should not really have to die for some perspective to be found. Hard to think of a sport with a scummier element that is at the same time so self-regarding
However, the only problem with your observation in this case is that you are not realising that the pile-on here after the Kyle Hayes verdict is also tribalism. You seem to imply that only the Limerick people are being tribal. That's where your aloof observation falls down. Clearly there are people here hoping, for nothing more complex than hurling reasons, that he somehow will not be available to Limerick. Otherwise they would be equally exercised by every other similar incident that comes before the courts.
Connolly is another thug who is facing up to another assault charge but the poor auld Dubs wouldn't let you say anything bad about him
https://www.sundayworld.com/crime/courts/dublin-gaa-icon-diarmuid-connolly-charged-with-pub-assault/a1101048711.html
Echos of the time when Luis Suarez racially abused somebody, then the whole team wore T-shirt’s with his face on it
sports teams can be very tribal and lose sight of the big picture
Funnily enough, and perhaps tellingly, your own chosen adjective 'aloof' is the perfect one to describe the post above. In the first part you're bordering on victimising Hayes. Then in the second part you're trying to remove the criminal aspect of the Hayes incident and portraying that people's feelings on it are driven by hurling interests? Come back to reality.
The post you replied to, and the majority of people in general, are suggesting that Hayes should not be cancelled altogether but that he should step away for this year at least. And he should. Whether he likes it or not his place on the Limerick panel elevates him to superstar status, but he is currently an anti role model.
Ironically it appears to be the case that John Kiely and Limerick GAA are keeping Hayes in the panel this year for "nothing more complex than hurling reasons", as you say. Otherwise why did Kiely banish a peripheral player in Pat Ryan to the stands before trial but, as he said himself, "never, never hesitated in picking Hayes" after being criminally convicted. Morals are for the middle class it seems, just do whatever is needed for the cause.
The only reason Kyle Hayes is being discussed here is for hurling reasons. That's abundantly clear. There are hundreds of cases across the country every year with suspended sentences which are never mentioned by the people here. That proves its driven by hurling considerations rather than some irresistible urge towards morality.
As for keeping Kyle Hayes as you say "for nothing more complex than hurling reasons"............are county hurling panels not normally meant to be picked on the merits of hurling ability?
He committed a criminal act. He shouldn't ever play on an intercounty team again but shame on John Kiely for supporting him. People here would feel alot different if Hayes had kicked the crap out and caused permanent damage to their own brother, son, nephew, cousin or family relative and didn't apologise for their actions afterwards. Hayes is a thug and has shown it on the field of play as well. Once a thug always a thug unfortunately. He deserves everything that will follow him after this.
You're aware you're posting in the GAA forum, right? That might answer the first sentance you wrote.
Barely tipped him. Concannon is always goading Hayes . Hayes outplays him everytime and then gets his retribution later. He gave Concannon some whack across the hand last year in the semi. Concannon deserved it ..100%
Mod Edit
Warning issued.
Hope Hayes minces them..
Like the IDF is it🙄