New thread for a new season!
True I would say a good chance it's his last season possibly anyway. Maybe moving into doubles wouldn't be bad place to go, he also did well when dropping to challenger level, but his form is just so poor, despite his effort, surgeries etc just dont think he is up to very top level.
Agwi-Thiem is live on Premier Sports 2 for anyone interested. Thiem having a tough time so far, failed to serve out the first set and now into a tiebreak.
Ah so sad , Agwi with the feckin 3 set pts in a row
Great atmosphere for the Davis Cup in UL.
Pity about the results but everyone having a great time.
Tennis Ireland need to do this more often. Sell out all weekend
Celine Simunyu playing qualies in Dubai tomorrow
Will likely have a hard time against Cristina Bucsa, but fingers crossed.
Pretty cool! No idea how she got a WC but feck it!
I think Colm McLoughlin is one of the tournament directors. I recall James McGee getting one a few years back too.
Haha love it
Simon carr got a qualifying wildcard to one of the Qatar atps this time last year iirc
Tough match as expected for Simunyu, 60 63 loss to Bucsa
Murray finally wins an ATP match in 2024!
Sinner up to #3 after adding Rotterdam to the AO.
Saw some of the Murray versus Mensik (what a talent can't believe he is only 18) match, an absolutely excellent battle three sets all tiebreaks, Murray edged out and very angry with himself.
I see Mensik beat Rublev in next round, what a brilliant tournament for him.
Nasty looking injury to Alcatraz, but he reckons he'll be ok for Indian Wells.
Also on their way to the US twist
Mensik in final in Qatar, shooting up the rankings at just 18, terrific mentality in tight games.
Norrie into the semis in Rio (with it has to be said a very kind draw). He beat Alcaraz in final last year.
Jaysus, Rafa's hair hasn't gone long left now.
I actually didn't recognise him!
Djokovic, Alcaraz and Sinner all taking a week off this week before Indian Wells, but everyone else has to go and play somewhere to pay the bills 🙂
https://www.atptour.com/en/rankings/singles/live
Even Murray beats Shapovalov now.
Jack Draper absolutely ripping it up at the mexican open breezes into semi final with De Minaur, if his body doesn't let him down should really continue to shoot up the rankings.
And it looks like his body let him down again...fought back to win second set...then retired 0-4 down in last set.
Better news for de minaurs others half into the semis in San Diego beating some decent opponents along the way.
Rublev defaulted in the s/f against Bublik of swearing in Russian at the line judge. I must say, it did look to me like it was English and he was shouting that the ball was out.
Katie Boulter in final tonight in San Diego, a win would take her inside the top 30 pretty impressive stuff!
Edit she won in 3 sets, up to 27 in WTA rankings.
Sinner up to #2
Somehow, Halep has had her suspension rescued to 9 months and is now free to play immediately
This being despite the fact that the level of Roxadustat found in her system was far higher than anything that could've occurred as a result of the supplement she's claiming she took. Why even bother trying to find dopers any more 😵💫
I see Rublev has had his points and prize money from Dubai reinstated because that would be a disproportionate punishment. I'm disappointed to read that, I thought it was warranted considering how he screamed in the line judge's face. He has a reputation for being rude/aggressive to the people on court.
They didn't say it, but I 'd say the official who spoke Russian was wrong. To save face they gave back the points and money. I would think.
Murray's reward for beating Goffin will be Rublev in R64.
And Nadal has withdrawn from Indian Wells. At this stage it looks like he'll save himself for the French Open and see how far he gets in that before the body gives up on him.