So the balls-up has started since last night which makes Fairview from clontarf to Edges corner a single lane with bollards down the centre.
This will be a permanent feature and works will take 21 months.
You mean like pretty much any signal controlled junction around the country?
well the bikes would have right of way i think so cars should be waiting for a break in bike traffic to turn. stand at ossary road for a bit and the amount of motorists that go through after the light goes red is shocking
As long as the speedy types on bicycles will have a bit of courtesy allowing cars take it slowly all will be good.
Most cyclists are great but of course you get the odd red light runner who thinks it is my fault he broke the lights and found me in his way.
Saw a couple of near misses at the Ossory Road junction over the last week. The yields and red lights really need to be observed there or someone will be badly hurt.
The raised footpaths are permanent yes, it gives priority to pedestrians and slows cars down. I like them, it looks good, my road is one of the ones with this going on.
lol I often walk to Aldi in East wall from far North of their!
Dont get me wrong, I get what you are saying, it is just surprising how dominant Lidl in particular has become in the area, with shops here, East Wall, Upper Drumcondra Road, Artane and Santry.
The East Wall shops aren't 10 minutes walk away though if you live West of the new Ballybough Lidl. When this opens it will become the closest full service supermarket to Ballybough, Clonliffe, Lower Drumcondra and North Circular Road etc., who have amongst the lowest levels of car ownership in the city, so distance is an important factor.
It is a little bit weird as their is another Lidl (and Aldi) just ten minutes walk away at East Wall.
Ah yeah, I know the spot well. I just assumed it was going to become apartments. Good catchment area there.
Where the old Annesley motors used to be. There has been a Mud Island mural along the front of the site for a long time. Between O'Sullivan Avenue and Clonliffe Avenue.
Was supposed to have started ages ago, but apparently site clearing starting next week.
Where’s the new Lidl going?
There's plenty room for an inbound lane.
Further towards town, once it's finished, they have to put back the North Strand bus stops they never should have removed. I hope the entrances to the side streets are not in their final state, it's like going up and down a little staircase everytime in the car.
It will be fun when the LIDL Ballybough works start (next week supposedly).
Yes, it's quite common to hear that actually. I've told several people, several times, that there'd be an inbound lane, but no, they still say it when they complain about it.
That traffic looks to be the same as it always was to be honest. It was always backed up on that stretch.
I saw some guy on a facebook group claiming they aren't going to have an inbound traffic lane when it's finished. Some guy rebutted what he was saying, and even took aerial photos, which he overlaid with the plans showing the inbound lane. The guy claimed the photos were out of date google photos, and the locals knew the truth. Claimed there isn't space for another lane, ignoring the space that the worksite is taking up. There's just no getting through to most of these people.
give me strength, this f**king fool thinks he's a politician
Two weeks ago on the Griffith Avenue cycle lane, I watched a Porsche drive about 50 meters the wrong way along the cycle lane (yes between the footpath and the raised curbs) to get out of a parking space!
Loads of folks at school pick up time, park outside of the designated parking spaces, the worst offenders park in the cycle lane. Thus blocking a cycle lane that was supposed to be designed for children to safely cycle to school!
The motto used to be 'paint is not protection'.
The motto should now be 'paint or slightly raised kerbs are not protection'.
Jesus. At least that contraflow driver can see the approaching cyclists they are blocking. 🙄
Drivers are getting worse.
What's class about that is the amount of cyclists in the 22 seconds of the clip. And a shout out to the guy who puts his hand up to the driver. Hopefully his middle finger was up too!
https://x.com/Nialltoner/status/1750804873845629077?s=20
Hahaha delighted for you to be proven right. When I walked past, the lads were debating what pipe was what, and how they would manage to get around the old pipes... they didn't seem best pleased!
I'd like to think it was the same lads that told you you were wrong 😅
if they couldn't get a big enough car park, why build it there?
is it no wonder this is all taking so long if the council don't even know where the bleedin' pipes are going
<off Topic>
In your image of Newcomen Br. (below) I happily note the pipework buried in the bridge. Many many years ago, I was working on a project in the DCC offices (a North East Inner City Renewal project) and somehow during a chat with the DCC lad I was working alongside, I mentioned how some of the pipework went "in" the bridge (as I had often seem them digging to fix something) and he flatly aid I was wrong and all utilities crossing the canal wouldn't have been sunk into the bridge but would have crossed the canal to the side of the bridge. He even got a colleague to back him up and I was made feel like a feckin eejit.
Glad to see that whilst I may well be a feckin eejit, I wasn't wrong on this particular point!
couldn't believe the amount of cyclists going inbound on this today at around 0830, it really will be worth it in the end
You can see the ‘join’ there where the new and the old meet. They may tidy it up later but there’s a definite ‘feck it, that’ll do’ about it.
I think WW put that in themselves, current ask/proposal is for DCC to put bollards or something down the road to prevent it
I'm pretty sure there's already no right turn when leaving Westwood. Nobody obeys the sign though. It's been there for years, but not sure if it's currently in place due to the works.
Yeah, it's not like they are oblivious to all this either, there's just not much that they can do. When they originally went for planning permission here, it was with a much larger car park. DCC are the ones that cut it down to the current size.
I'm far from a Westwood smypathiser but am a member and have kids in creche so plenty of experience in it. A few things to note...