How do people feel about this one? Will it be short and sweet?
Mod warning:
https://www.boards.ie/discussion/comment/121425200/#Comment_121425200
You’re in the wrong thread my friend, if you’re looking for a toxic environment that’s a battle of massive egos you’re in the right place. There’s around 5 trolls/wind up merchants who seem to think their opinion is warranted on every issue! You know who you are, I don’t have to name you individually. You comment on every age, the world doesn’t revolve around you. Some people want to discuss pay talks and not see petty arguments everyday, I’d assume most people on this thread get fed up logging in, I honestly don’t know where ye get the time to post so much. Boards was good 10 years ago, helpful participants who stayed on topic. Place is just consumed with negativity now, take a long hard look in the mirror
Pathetic
When does your driving licence expire? The present government have no mandate whatsoever to allow you to drive beyond February 2025.
They sell bonds i.e. take out loans which don't have to be paid back for 10 or 20 or sometimes 30 years.
What do you want to know? Discuss? It’s all been said before on here. It’s at an impasse currently. The current conversation is about whether the government have a mandate to have a pay deal passed an election cycle. While the answer is obviously yes, it is still a question related to the pay talks.
Sinn Fein IRA used to shoot public servants not that long ago so I wouldn't be getting your hopes up if I were you.
They are populists above all and that's not good news for the whipping boys of society such as public servants.
Is there a thread discussing the pay talks?
Rubbish of course
The next government can choose to continue with existing pay deals etc. or rip them up if they want. There are political consequences either way but it's their choice.
Actually a change of government isn't even needed to rip up public sector pay deals, they can just do it anyway.
Maybe some here weren't yet employed in the PS during the crash? Governments can do what they want and that includes things which would be illegal for a private sector employer to do.
So the government have the authority to agree a pay deal that extends beyond the term of their office. However, in your opinion, they shouldn’t do that (or maybe able to do that).
I am assuming that is what you now mean.
fair?
In fairness no legislation is required if it is an agreement for industrial peace. The point still stands though.
Perhaps public servants would be better off dealing with a new government because this present government couldn't care less about public servants? An election campaign revealing the shortages of staff in the public sector is required rather than a boast of public sector peace from a decrepit government
This is the stance the unions should take and agree a one year deal only.
What legislation needs to be passed….?
Do we reset the laws when the government steps down? New government, new legislation?
The next government can do that, absolutely.
Building a hospital is not the same as passing legislation beyond your mandate.
Be careful what you wish for. People jumped in far too quickly last time.
Hahahahah that couldn’t be any further from a fact.
It’s factually incorrect.
So the next government can walk in and say to the contractors for the children’s hospital “sorry lads, the previous lot didn’t have the mandate for this contract, out ye go”.
The government have the authority to agree a deal past their official term. Any other statement is your opinion it’s undemocratic.
It is undemocratic to agree a deal past their electoral mandate. That's what the unions should be telling the DPER and that a one year deal for 2024 should only be negotiated. It is then up to the voters to decide.
You completely miss the point on that but I don’t want to restart that.
The government have the power to agree a deal past the end of the government. The world doesn’t stop and reset every election.
To be perfectly honest coming from you that's quite something especially when I consider you prefer deals where money is paid in tiny pieces over many years than paid upfront. You literally prefer deals where you're paid less.
FF/FG have no legal mandate to enact any form of social legislation beyond February 2025. That's not an opinion. That's a fact. I could equally argue with you that such a requirement to plan for the future in the public service could have been enacted in 2020 for five years to 2025.
thats one of the worst takes in this thread.
It doesn’t really work like that in government. They have to plan for the future past Feb 2025. I’m surprised a public servant or even just a person wouldn’t understand that.
so do they have a mandate for, say, Metrolink, which will take another 3 or 4 governments to complete?
That's ridiculous, of course governments do things all the time which continue on past the next election.
The present government have no mandate whatsoever to negotiate beyond February 2025.
German union pay demand of set €500 per month / 21% raises inflation fears
Construction workers seek wage increase that could delay interest rate cuts by the European Central Bank, economists warn
No one talks more of "service" than the likes of jokers like Varadkar/Donohoe
3% March 24 (backdated to 1st Jan), 3% June 24, 3% January 25, 3% June 25 is the very, very minimum I'd consider accepting to get a deal across the line.
They can feck off with dragging this into 2026
Deal or No Deal.
I'd agree, once it is in double digits it will pass, the question is then how quickly, not a fan of the more than 2 years and I don't think I would vote for it if the deal was for 2.5 rather than 2, backdated to January with a start of 3% will see it through either way, needs to have reach 5% by October, then the same next year, 3% in January, 2% in October.
Lot more differences than similarities in the context of public sector pay between the North and South. I’d have no doubt we would strike if we were in their situation but we aren’t even close.
Complete rubbish.
Crazy talk.
If bondholders sell their bonds, so what? It's like someone you sold a car to selling it on, whether they make a loss or not is no skin off your nose. Any future bolds sold by the government will be on different terms reflecting the circumstances at the time of the sale, but that's always the case anyway.
Ireland is one of, if not the most, safe investments in Europe for government debt and the markets reflect that.
Yeah it would surprise me too.