How do people feel about this one? Will it be short and sweet?
Mod warning:
https://www.boards.ie/discussion/comment/121425200/#Comment_121425200
I know, it's a skill to twist one every which way.
Nurses and teachers are, and gardaí are transferring abroad, and those sectors are in massive trouble.
Another or your repeated "gotcha" attempts, which falls apart on simple examination
Ahhhh, so Ryan Tubridy works in the public sector only when it suits your argument I see.
You think that this is a gotcha or something? They are not the government, they are my employer.
I don't give a crap how they fund it, I've never cared how any employer funds my pay.
They have money for increases everywhere else, they can find it for us.
No, I just sat on my asre and waited for the automatic increase. Just waiting for the golden pension now😁
If you’re not happy in your private sector job then why don’t you walk?
Of course it wont. Benchmarking or a redefining of the scales is the only (semi realistic) things that I think can be done to do that. Pay people more.
Agree and just as pointless as another poster thinking matching inflation will address recruitment and retention in Dublin but it seems to constantly be rolled out
I only now had the chance to read the email from the union and how the deal is structured. On the basis of what I read I would agree not good enough.
I think you'll find I never claimed you said it would happen. I just said its not realistic. This is a pointless back and forth.
Its completely realistic to believe a Dublin allowance would address the issues, and its equally realistic to believe it won't happen for a number of reasons including shortsightedness. So yes I've remained realistic and that includes being realistic about chasing inflation. That is my point.
INTO are in favor of it. I don't know about SIPTU and others.
It'd be great. As much as I disagree with the idea of lower paid workers receiving a higher percentage increase compared to middle or higher paid workers, with a Dublin allowance, you could really do some interesting stuff with how its applied giving lower paid workers a much bigger percentage boost then higher paid. Its probably the only time I wouldn't agree with that perceived inequality.
Not happening any time soon tho.
You said you'd rather be realistic then chase inflation matching pay increments. You then suggested a Dublin allowance would address the recruitment issues.
I agree a Dublin allowance would help address those issues but its in no way realistic. Its less realistic then pay adjustments equaling inflation imo. That was my point.
I think I'd take 8.5% if it all kicked in yesterday...
I think you'll find I never said it would happen just that it should, as inflation matching increases won't solve recruitment and retention in Dublin
A dublin allowance would be a good idea, because a median salary of say 50k in ballygobackwards gets you a hell of a lot more than 50k in Dublin.
"if you want to survive just quit your current job" yeah that isn't far off because every waster Anto with a few kids on the JSA is raking it in while the people dealing with their nonsense applications don't even take home as much as them.
I thought the unions were dead set against a Dublin allowance. It would be a positive step IMO.
so the tolls increase each year in line with inflation.
utility providers like vodafone and eir increase their prices each year by inflation.
Banking and finanical unions got wage increased of 4% for 2024 because inflation is forecasted to be 3.2% in 2024.
But CS and PS shouldn't expect wages in line with inflation, of course not. Fair play to the union, they are standing up for their members, at last.
I'd just rather be realistic
Whatever chance you think we have of getting inflation matching pay adjustments. We have a near 0% chance of getting a Dublin allowance despite it being entirely logical leaving aside the entire decision of who gets it and why.
It truly is amazing what can be achieved with slave labour.
Also, rather than leaving and working in the private sector I'll wait until the government bring a better offer to the table.
They don't. It's tied to Performance Appraisals, as required.
not if you're serious about fixing the problem you mentioned
A Dublin allowance is far less realistic then a inflation matching pay adjustment.
We've been fed this loads of shite that we shouldn't ask for an increase matching inflation.
We should be asking for more. Because anything less is a decrease and matching inflation is just standing still.
We only get this if we take industrial action.
You can always leave and get a job in the private sector. Nobody is forcing you to work in the public sector.
The country is in recession now and owes 5 times more than the national debt 18 years ago. In the last recession hundreds of thousands lost their jobs and incomes, many had to emigrate.
Lots of things are more affordable now compared to 10, 20, 40 years ago. Flight tickets, televisions... I even saw some clothes in Pennies recently and wonder how they can produce and sell them for that, and pay for their staff, overheads, vat, marketing etc.
I'm also realistic that an inflation matching pay increase that is extremely unlikely to happen won't address those issues but heaven forbid something that would tackle it such as a Dublin allowance is applied
Where is this "realism" going to end?
Anyway, we already see the effects of it, can barely recruit COs in Dublin never mind nurses or teachers.
Society needs public services. To deliver these services, wages need to be, to use your word, realistic, in other words not get smaller in real terms every pay deal
If people weren't too complacent to strike then the government wouldn't treat us knowing we won't strike.
Chasing inflation is realistic.
I'd rather be a massive pain in the ass to our employer then accept a deal that gives everyone an effective pay cut.