How do people feel about this one? Will it be short and sweet?
Mod warning:
https://www.boards.ie/discussion/comment/121425200/#Comment_121425200
So we should be paying Gardaí as PO then, to not take bribes?
Medical clerical officers obviously take bribes every day, to bump people up the lists?
If they were paid less and didn't have a double salary, in expenses, they might actually have the smallest understanding of what "average" earners lives are like
Being a TD is a **** hard job. I've no issue with them having a decent wage and I don't understand people who throw stones at them.
Your comment is too idiotic to respond to.
Being a Garda is a **** hard job. I've no issue with them having a decent wage...
So we've come from "They need the huge, relative, salaries/expenses" to "Shur it's a hard job"
They are meant to be representative of the people yet are insulated from all the financial decisions they make
Yet you did...
So are Gardaí paid enough to escape this bribe threat, you speak of? Or is it just politicians and you think that they have a weak character?
Im not conversing with someone who thinks a TD , elected by us should be on a Heos salary.
Being a Garda has a progression route. You move up the ranks and specialise.
Becoming a TD is to represent a huge portion of your community and the entire country. It involves understanding legislation, drafting it, providing critical analysis on topics at a Government level. TDs also represent their communities and talk with locals on a weekly basis at their clinics. The job is temporary and may last 1 year or may last a lifetime on 5 year cycles. To get it, you must be elected and a high proportion of people must vote for you.
Yeah, I am happy for TD's to be well compensated. Not many people want to do it.
As an aside, how do you want jobs to be priced? Its is a hard job, that is as good a metric as any to price it....
"Pay them feck all and they will take bribes"
Is that the reason we pay them so much?
What is it with politicians you think makes them more succeptable to bribes Vs a Garda?
Almost every councillor wants to be a TD. There would be no shortage of TDs ever.
TDs have staff to do the work you speak of, above.
Did I say there would be a shortage of TDs? No.
Important there is representation of all walks of life.
TDs do have staff. TDs also do a lot of the work themselves.
I am not sure how this ties to the Public Sector Pay Talks so I'm just gonna drop it now.
Back on topic there lads
Some union branches are having second or third round meetings next week prior to submitting a shopping list to union head offices. No word yet as to when negotiations are expected to start.
There will never be a shortage of TDs, that is clear. However, as we have restricted pay over the last decade, we have seen the calibre of TDs go right down.
Yeah those submissions are going into the round filing cabinet...
Two increases, March and October. 18-month deal. D/PER waiting on inflation to come down before agreeing amounts. Little or no sectoral bargaining element.
SIPTU threatened action unless talks start all unions should have jumped with them. Show solidarity with other unions shows strength.
I wouldn't be surprised if we get a deal that is favorable toward years end 2024 just before election time.
'waiting for inflation to go down' = 'locking in the pay cuts caused by past inflation'
I hope nobody is fooled by this, or has their vote cheaply bought by a small backdated increase like last time.
The last deal was great. We wont get the same again.
No it wasn’t, deep down you know that. Yet you keep saying it, we got shafted last time.
from indo today:
"Pay hikes are to keep pace with inflation at around 3pc next year. However, highly sought after tech workers, builders, planners, accountants, engineers and insurance specialists could see wages rise by up to 15pc, according to the survey."
"Four in five Irish companies reported hiring challenges in 2023, the survey found, while 72pc said they had lost staff in the past six months because they couldn’t compete on pay and benefits, including flexible working."
gonna be difficult to retain attract highly skilled / qualified staff in certain segments of public sector if only 3% on offer ..
No we didnt. I reckon it was the highest deal we have ever gotten. We wont see the same again. Deep down would ya go and shite.
If you want to vote for peanuts work away, it was still effectively a pay cut with rising inflation. 6.5% was abysmal, thankfully you’re in the minority on here with those views
Great!???
Real wages are down 10% !!!!!!!!!!!!
Mod:
This is a discussion board; not a battle field so take a step back and cool off and tone down the attacks on each other. Discuss the point; not the poster.
Hahahah yeah dreamers on here. Trying to claim the last deal was crap is insanity , best deal thats ever been got ,90% plus happy with it. You also didnt get the increase right. No point being disingenous..
Is it even 10? If so , So is loads of peoples. My pals havent gotten 15% pay rises since it started - we will though. Its not a god given right for your salary to keep pace with this inflationary period. The last deal was a little cracker and we will NOT see the same again so keep dreaming like the rest of these posters.
I dont think the article is suggesting that public sector pay talks will result in a 3% deal at all. The deal will certainly be higher then that as it has to taken into account the inflation over the last 12 months as well (minus what we already received).
I don't see how you can say a deal is a "little cracker" considering it resulted in people having less purchasing power afterwards. In the public sector, the expectation is that your wages track inflation. In fact, its a normal expectation anywhere really.
And government makes more money from said inflation.
Our employer is making more money and paying us less
Thats overly simplistic.
The government "makes" no money in my sector. Its run at a massive loss to the taxpayer.