How do people feel about this one? Will it be short and sweet?
Mod warning:
https://www.boards.ie/discussion/comment/121425200/#Comment_121425200
Not directly but if you scan back this thread you will see people say 10% will do them split over 2 years.
That would be an insult and a massive "real terms" pay burden reduction on the government. We are not a national debt to be reduced by inflation. We need to be able to pay our bills and support our families
10 % split over 2 years mathematically higher increase then 10% straight in one go.
Well prepared to be insulted. 10% over two years would be accepted with zero issues.
Which is still bullsh1t level.
Government is increasing tax take because of inflation. It's baked in, those prices are never coming down. The rate of increase will just, eventually, drop back to normal.
Every vendor is charging the government more for services. We are service providers but people seem to think that employers are doing them a favour for "giving" them money.
The past few years inflation, with increased tax receipts, has lessened the governments wage bill in percentage terms. It's a joke.
Hi , can I just ask if anyone knows is the october 1.5 percent raise is just going forward or will it be backdated like the last one where it came out to a 750 lump sum or something like that?
Just going forward ameee, so salary goes up by 1.5% from october 1st
Grand so thanks.
It's 1.5% or €750 whichever is greater.
An awful life 🤣 Who are you kidding. I'd tell you stories only I've signed the official secrets act.
A working family of 2 adults,2 kids starting off a as CO gets less than the same family on welfare
NVM.
Haha what do you want? We got 6.5% recently? 10 would be incredible. And it would be accepted with a 90% yes. So what are you trying say?
I think I just said it.
But like I amended - NVM. I'm not going down this rabbit hole again.
You do you.
Yeah I'll do me. Ill vote in favour if it's close to 10. As will everyone else.
That's your right.
But remember, 6.5% in the face of inflation of more than double that, was not a pay increase.
But what about an extra 10 now. You are saying 10 isn't enough? Seems like stupidly unrealistic expectations to me. But of course it's also your right. But very very unfair for you to spout nonsense of me not valuing my colleagues.
10% over two years with inflation currently running at over 6%?
No, its not enough.
Then advocate for higher pay for COs not begrudge people on social welfare. It's not a race to the bottom.
This government have made it more profitable to be on the dole than to get a job.
Forget any unemployed people looking for Christmas work. Too many double payments and bonuses would be lost.
Hahah well come back to me when 8% is voted yes. Best to leave it there , we don't see eye to eye. I'm not impressed with the colleagues comment tbh , but anyway good luck.
It is not more profitable to be on the dole then in a job.
A very wise woman once told me, "the truth goes down damn bitter."
I'm not going to vote for something that is affectively a pay cut, either for myself, or for my lower paid colleagues.
No point advocating here for greater increases aimed at the lower paid grades - or even a flat rate increase, Bren, you'll just be told you're narrowing the gap between the grades and de-valuing the work of the higher paid grades.
Been there, done that.
Well that's something we do agree on, I think the lower pay grades should be given a higher %. I'm an engineering/acc grade 2 but I couldn't give a shite if lower grades come closer to my salary. Give them more of an increase as the chances are cost of living is hitting them more.
It's a chicken and egg situation though. Now a days the vast majority of union members are old and they seem to really struggle to get new entrants to join. Most of the members would be on the the old terms and conditions and closer to the top of their pay scales. Those extra few percent aren't as important as the top of the scale compared to the bottom.
But as long as people don't join and union and vote no, they just be leaving the decision to be made by the current, longer term civil servants. The union heads know this as well and suggest rejecting a deal if they feel the vast majority of their members will accept it.
Some of the grades could be combined. Why is there a HEO and HEO (Higher) grade?Or AP and AP Higher. Is there really that much a difference between roles?
Depends on the department, some just purely go off longevity in the role at Ap or Heo. So they are just awarded to you or other depts like dept of finance you interview for them and in theory there's a bit more responsibility attached.
AP and PO Higher are different grades that you can be promoted to - they've existed for a long time, and were historical tied to policy work in D/Finance and D/Taoiseach (D/PER too, after it was created).
If you get an offer under an interdepartmental competition for AP or PO Higher, you'll still be placed in one of those Departments; they have internal competitions for them as well. I think the competitions are fairly regular.
Movement to higher scales for CO, EO, HEO, and AO are not defined as promotions. They were created on foot of a pay agreement in the mid-90s. You can see more on this in circular 24/1995. Civil Service orgs are required to maintain a certain percentage of staff of each of these grades at the higher scale. If they drop below, they'll appoint more people to it. This is often done via seniority, but the exact methods vary across organization.
Interesting, thanks. I think once you move out of policy work in the civil service (which obviously is core work), the grades start to look a bit odd for other functions, especially when you then bring public service into it.
Like I've seen IT manager at HEO and AP level for similar roles and org sizes.
Yeah there can be a bit of randomness especially when your bring the public service into it. And the requirements can be sometimes wildly unrealistic for the salary. Some organisations just chance their arm I guess.
Sorry, i know it's not relevant but easier than starting new thread. I'm trying to work out the arrears pay on my payslip after promotion. Next pay date is 26/10. I'm guessing this for the period worked 12-26 Oct 23, correct?
It covers the 13th to the 26th (and includes weekends, so divide 14)