Stores dearer than last year and British beef flying it don’t add up
May hay while the sun shines or if you are Larry, make coin when it rains in the back end. A lot of 7 month men with stock to move and they don't want to house.
The 30 month system was definitely done by Larry anyways fellas running to get rid
sorry don't understand your answer.Do you mean they weren't paying 4.50 in Cahir?
I say he meant that in Cahir they are paying the same base across the board
no they are not paying the same price across the board
Seems good demand for angus heifers in some factories,..got 475 base + 30c breed bonus for a few earlier in the week.
Hi, may seem like a real beginners question but anyway.
What are the pros and cons of going flat price vs grid with the factories?
Bought Silage for 25 Euro a Bale sold for 40 Euro a Bale no Cattle involved is this Profit or What???
A simple game you buy and you sell it is not robbery it is genuine honest business.
You'd get accused of profiteering at someones expense in a "fodder crisis" year 🙄
Enough of this 'Making a Profit' craic on this thread. This is beef farming thread and we don't want to hear any of that profit nonsense.
Any excess monies left over from buying/selling stock should be used to buy random stuff in the creamery.
Especially random stuff that makes ya say, "Jaysus, I might need wan o' them at some stage."
'Better be looking at it than for it' - justification to buy pretty much anything.
How are lads bucked reared calves going this year?..spring born ones here seem to be doing well the past few weeks
Heifers going next week, €4.70. There is 1 on it that will be lucky to grade a 2+ but she is a going as she is a mad bitch. OK running with the herd but try doing anything out of the usual and she is away like a short. She has got the same TLC as the rest of the group but she hasn't trove as well. The constant nervousness has held her back.
They look to be doing very well, how much meal are you giving them? How old are they and when did you buy them?
A lot of people back here are getting considious this year and they also said that there calf’s aren’t thriving as well as other years, probably the wet weather isn’t helping either
The best thing for her is a bullet in the head....i wouldnt care about flesh on her...
Cheers,they are late February/early March born,bought them at 3 weeks old,1kg of nuts all summer and up to 1.5kg since August
Had one here the same. Lost money on her but glad to be rid of her
@StevenToast, I know, I have her since a weanling, thought she might settle some bit, but in truth it's worse she has gotten. Thankfully I haven't had to to do much with her, but she is going now. Not going back into the shed to jump around and hurt one of the others in a pen with her.
You could be the exception to the rule but generally speaking it is all about the way stock are handled,if they are handled roughly which I am not saying they are you will make a nervous animal dangerous,taking your time with them and carrying a stick without using it great trait in a proper stockman.I find when it comes to feeding nuts it can keep them quiet.She could have pressure on the brain from a small hemorrhage or something that is making her cross,it might also explain the lack of thrive compared to the others.
@Aly Daly you are 100% right. The way people handle and act around cattle has a massive effect on their temperament. The previous own could be the problem here, he is a very busy lad, I would guess he drives around the field once a week to look at his stock so she isn't used of people. She is used of me & passes no remarks of me herding every day. But if I want to move them or something she notices a gate open or that and she will just bolt in the opposite direction. Thankfully the rest dont go with her so she does usually come back into the group. After this load goes there will only be 6 left in the group so she might not come back as handy that's why she is going now.
I’ve one this year that’s absolutely mental, charolais calf out of a Simmental cow that got no different treatment than the rest. He was crazy from the day he was born. Sometimes it’s just in the animal
It's a throwback to some ancient genetics I'd say and just a freak thing. There's certain stock with a bit of kindness and patience you'll quieten and there's a small few who get worse the more you do with them. There wound up like a spring all the time and frighten at the smallest of obstacles, oftentimes you'll see them startled by there own comrades.
Got paid the same base price a cross the board for three cattle inc one Friesian. Cattle were booked in about two weeks ago. An ABP plant.
What may be happening is lads that are sending in a substantial amount of under finished FR are getting a lower base rather than putting a heavier penalty on these cattle
Got 4.60 last week plus AAX breed bonus, underage and spec brought it up to 5.06/kg
Is there currently a HEX bonus?
Hopefully supply gets tighter and there's an improvement on price.
HEX bonus is 10c/ kg locally. However it higher elsewhere
Super way of rearing stock. Do you have the figures done up? Are you keeping them as bulls?