How do people feel about this one? Will it be short and sweet?
Mod warning:
https://www.boards.ie/discussion/comment/121425200/#Comment_121425200
Simply put, the offers shouldn't be in Dublin. Someone working in procurement could just as easily work from an office in Mullingar as in Dublin. The same can't be said for a teacher for example.
I think the talks are due to start this week.
That really is a massive over-simplification. Procurement might be a part of someone' role, but not all of it. At least that is how it is in my Department, each division is responsible for its own procurement. There is no central "procurement section".
Not that a Dublin Allowance will ever happen anyway. It seems it would be voted down by those outside of Dublin out of spite!
Back to the topic of pay talks... apparently preliminary talks have started.
And the usual "we have to be cautious now and inflation is coming down" rhetoric, (while of course preparing for increases in welfare spend) ... not that I personally expected any different.
And the Unions don't seem to have any firm goal in mind, if this is anything to go by. 🤦
Inflation is coming down and everything still costs 10% more. So we'll take 12%
Easily. Don't make it an allowance, make it similar to the credit for clothing for certain jobs, run it through revenue, define it as emergency service worker (Gardai, Nurse, EMT) and for those teaching in a primary or secondary school setting. Simples, administered by Revenue, place of work must be defined within the county of Dublin, job done.
According to the IT, it won't be concluded for another few weeks at the earliest as the Govt is tied up with budget stuff for the next week or so. Seems the focus is on pay rather than other stuff which is good to hear
https://www.irishtimes.com/ireland/2023/09/28/public-sector-pay-talks-set-to-run-beyond-budget-following-slow-start/
2% March 24, 1.5% Oct 24, 1.5% March 25 maybe?
I think there might be something in Jan? What do people think is a realistic offer and what do you think would be accepted? My guess is around 7%
I would think a deal for between 12 to 24 months, my guess would be 18 months in duration. An election in late 2024.
If its 18 months deal, I would imagine 3% in March 2024. Another 2.5% in October 2024. And a final 2.5% in March 2025. Total of 8% over 18 months.
If its 24 months deal, I would imagine 3% in March 2024. Another 2.5% in October 2024. Another 2.5% in March 2025 and a final 2% in October 2025. Total of 10% over 24 months.
The Unions simply must deliver this time around. They are played by the DPER negotiators time after time.
10% over 2 years, with inflation is running that high is a paycut. Sick of taking the hits for government economic mismanagement
Yeah. The war in Ukraine and the rocketing cost of living worldwide is economic mismanagement. Cop on.
10% over two years would sail through if put to a vote. Back date it a few months and people would lap it up.
Economic mismanagement? Inflation is global. Anyway I'd love more than 10 too but not a hope in hell is it happening.
Would you see that as delivering? I think either of them would be given a yes vote.
Housing is the biggest issue in this country. Entirely FF and FG issue.
Second is shortage of key public sector workers... hmm who controls pay/conditions there.
No public transport worth a damn but penalising workers needing cars.
But yeah let's blame these long standing issues on a 2 year old war. Who needs a propaganda unit with PS workers willing to do the dirty work
What would you take increase wise?
And to hell with all the admin staff who also have to live and work in Dublin.
Yeah, i'd vote against that.
If anything was proof of the contempt politicians hold for civil servants it was that. Just pawns on a chessboard to be moved wherever for political advantage. Not people with lives, partners, families.
And what about us rural dwellers who have to drive 50km to get to work and the extra costs we have compared to Dublin staff who can hop on the luas
I don't see the unions delivering unfortunately. They don't have the balls to stand upto the government. I eoukd say 10% over 2 years might cover inflation and go someway to rectifying the real pay cut the last 2 years.
There are vacancies all over the public sector. Civil servants, gardai, nurses, doctors, teachers etc because the value of salaries on offer are falling year on year. Unions are to blame for not protecting members. I think they need to deliver at least 10% over 2 years for their members. Inflation is nearly 6% this year and estimated at 3.7% in 2024 and 2.5% in 2025.
Yeah I'd take your hand off for 10% tbh. I'd imagine 10% has never happened before. I reckon 6 or 7.
I think cost of living is the second biggest issue facing this country. I think climate change is probably in the top 3 as well. Lets incorrectly state how big or small the problem is.
I don’t think it would be fair, people from rural countries face massive bills to send their children to university in the cities. Dublin students can live at home during college.
Not sure what that has to do with the cost of living for workers in the PS. It makes no odds to me I was just giving a simple solution that would save unions and government a lot of hassle. It is already done in a variety of ways for people on the Islands (NCT etc.), for those on shipping vessels (clothes allowance) and so on. Increase the allowance for clothing for Gardai, nurses and teachers whose place of work has a Dublin postcode. Train and buses are full every morning with students from the country who found a way around the high prices
Start working in Dublin then?!? I am of course being facetious. I am a rural dweller and have a 320km round trip daily, I work in Dublin, I cannot "hop on the LUAS". Most people I know in work live outside the M50. I was giving a solution to those saying a Dublin payment was not possible. It is possible, very possible. Would it make me work in Dublin or make it more attractive, not in the least. As soon as my work becomes something a local company offers, I will take the massive paycut and stay in the country. I can't comment on what you can do without more details on your personal circumstances, lots of people can make changes, lots of people just don't want too.
Do the children work for the public sector? If not, I don't see the relevance.
There's not much to be done when you're living in a village with no bus service. I've to do a 60km round trip every day.
Where would the idea end for a Dublin allowance? The Gardai, well how about civilian staff. Nurses, how about all the ancillary staff in s hospital. What happens those who drive 60km into the hospital, do they get a fuel allowance as well?
Then you'd have those of us live and work outside Dublin . Who have the transport costs someone living in Dublin doesn't have. Are we to to discriminated against?
Again, I didn't say for or against it, just that it was eminently feasible to implement. Would an extra 3 or 4k a year entice me to work in Dublin? Maybe if I was young but not anymore. I say this as someone who currently works in Dublin, lives in the country and the few buses nearby only start running 2 hours after I have to leave for work (not that I expect a local bus service to get me to Dublin). Like I said, I do a 320km round trip each day.
The question was asked about a Dublin allowance as it is harder to fill positions and everyone started banging on about the unions. Realistically it should be assessed would such an allowance entice anyone to join the PS in Dublin. Honestly, I would be doubtful. It certainly wouldn't help with retention. I have neighbours giving out about their 40km trip to work that takes them about 40 minutes. In Dublin, even on PT, you would be looking at 2+ hours for most trips that length at commuting times unless cycling.
That sounds to me like a case for arguing for increased working from home.
Not everyone in Dublin can "hop on a Luas", either - nor is it free.
This is why it'd never pass.
Its fairly well shown that living in Dublin is more expensive when you factor everything in. There are some people that are mandated to live in Dublin in the public sector. The logic is that those people should receive additional compensation to offset this cost. It shouldn't be for everyone, only jobs that have to be based in the city.
Ya cant pick and choose who gets it its either everyone or no one.
I never said it was free but people in Dublin have a bus service at minimum.
As for WFM. One department I was in had it some of the week. My current department deals with the public so WFH isn't an option.
Again, I'll point to the London Weighing allowance.
I'm sure there are plenty of people working outside London who feel they should receive allowances too.