|I see there is 400 jobs going nationwide for clerical officer in the Garda,
Just wondering does anyone have any idea what the pay is like or the hours
Mod:
See warning on posting your actual number in post #306
The Clerical Officer Salary PPC Scale (rates effective 1st March 2023) is as follows: €519.96 €552.66 €560.96 €577.18 €601.09 €624.97 €648.84 €666.22 €685.91 €708.79 €724.90 €747.54 €770.05 €805.17 €832.78 €845.43 LSI1 LSI2
Standard civil service working hours and pay.
Civil Service so its flexi time - full time hours are 35 hours a week. Just have a google for Clerical Officer payscales to see the pay
No idea why it is posting twice. Apologies
So you start on about 27 grand a year,
A scale from €27K to €44K per annum.
anyone know where their offices would be in Galway?
i know they just built a HQ near Heuston Station in Dublin
The Western Region headquarters is Dublin Road, Renmore. The main Garda station in Galway is on Mill Street. So those are the two most likely to have vacancies but literally every Garda Station in the county is a possible work location.
Does anyone have any information on what the assessments are like? Are they difficult to pass?
thanks just wondering will there be loads of competition in Dublin where I live. would i be better off applying for Galway where I'm from and can stay with the family
Is this a result of them being in the process of removing the civil servant status from civilian staff? I.e get staff in specifically as Garda staff (similar to PASO’s in the Prison Service) so they can deny them the benefits of the wider civil service due to ‘operational needs’, and also claim they’re civilian staff when it comes to allowances and other benefits.
Mods pls delete
Is clerical officer with the Garda a Monday to Friday position or does it involve weekend work?
The vast bulk would be Monday to Friday. A small number would have a shift allowance and work over seven days.
No it is so they can have more control over timelines for staff starting and around when vetting is started for potential appointees
There's loads of jobs in Dublin.
Probably not more than 10 in galway
that would be my concern and something to be mindful of -i.e terms and conditions of civil service may not apply to these roles going forward. Something to be aware of.
Is the pay good ?
Like how quickly can you move up if starting pay is 27 grand its hardly worth the effort for people , Unless there just out of school
It's an incremental scale so you'll move up in pay every 12 months regardless of anything else. You'll eventually get to the top of that pay grade unless you are successful in promotion to Executive Officer which is next level up or Higher Executive Officer after that
Easy enough to get promoted internally after a couple of years
There is no mention of flexi if you read the information attachment on the post.
There is a clause saying that if people are hired pre the policing plan going through they will be employed as civil servants. If its post the bill going through they will be employed as public servants.
The existing civil servants in AGS have been told that they will remain as such till Jan 2025 and it will be reviewed then.
For the numerical assessment does anyone know if calculators are permitted?
Is the process the same as the public jobs COs competition, (application, online test then interview) or is it straight from application to interview
I think there is psychometric testing before interview
Does anybody have any insight into what the assessments are like for this campaign?
Thank you
left the Guards a few months back thanks mobility , the promotions are not easy to come by compared to other areas of the civil serviceand the chances will be reduced when the policing bill comes into effect......and with internal contests they have, they'll be reluctant to let you move to other areas, happened to me and a few others, wouldnt release us to move to different departments as we were "essential" to the role we were at and wouldnt sign us off
same as the ones on the civil service page....
Have to disagree, I have been promoted 3 times since I joined (which wasn't that long ago!) Have found good opportunities for movement and promotion over the last few years
So are they all like behavioral type questions, like the ones on the Clerical Officer campaigns in civil service?
yes
Hi All,
Noticed the deadline for recieving applications has been extended to next Wednesday, 27th September.
The application booklet mentioned that assessment links should issue mid to late September. (Obviously that date was decided upon before the deadline was extended).
Any info on when test links should now issue?