RTÉ admits paying Tubridy €345,000 more than declared

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,065 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

This was my understanding from today's testimony (the actual payment was first revealed last week). Forbes and O'Keefe may have cooked up the 'redundancy' payment between them and nobody else on the board was even aware it had happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,713 ✭✭✭✭rob316

What is been done to compel Dee Forbes to go before the committee? She has done all these deals, we need to get to the bottom of who else was complicit in RTE.

So far we are been led to believe DF had the run of the place with no one to answer to.

Faberge Invite.jpg

Word in the ether is the location is Ballyfin House in Laois tonight at midnight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,002 ✭✭✭✭Water John

They could try forcing witnesses but most will get a sick cert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭ZookeeperDub

They will never allow Dee in front of the committee, if that happened she could tell the truth and it would be a disaster for RTE and for Noel and his "I never even had a cup of tea with her"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,755 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

No . You usually have to be a journalist or have a qualification or background in in media / public broadcasting to do news anchor or reporter. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,755 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Have to say that was the thought I had earlier as well.

The missing €120 k ??

Hopefully the forensic accountant that has been taken on will locate this ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭RoTelly

It had been mentioned a few days back their Union group seemed to suggest it.

AFAIK DG's wouldn't get this as they have a fixed term of 5 years (which can be extended to 7 years). ... though she did get a moving fee of €50k in 2016, because she move from London to take a job in Dublin, though it seems she was as resident in Cork as she was in London at that point.

You just have to look at how RTÉ has been run of the last 14 years. Cuts to content with no real explanation as to the relevance of such cuts, while on the other hand feeding 2FM and imported programming from the license fee.

______

In the end they were just greedy, they all knew one another and knew what to expect more money for no return, it was a secure cash flow, but in fairness they looked for what they wanted and fair dues to them for that, and wouldn't you be doing the same!

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,928 ✭✭✭standardg60

Welcome to the hierarchical nature of anything state run or affiliated here, when you get to the top you answer to no one.

No but they will have to submit everything including statements to Martin's enquiries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,942 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Surely this is theft/embezzlement? There is no reason to get the payoff

They seriously need to force DF to the committee or at least be investigating what she was doing whilst in the job because there seems to be a lot of things pointing towards her as the executor of very dodgy dealings as the boss of RTE. No wonder she took sick when this all kicked off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭SupaCat95

I can't, I dont know how to drive one let alone change the oil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭inajock

Dòchas Centre, North circular road Dublin 7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,309 ✭✭✭evolvingtipperary101

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭TruthorBust

Fintan Drury. A tool and an insider. Telling us tubridy is an entertainer. Is he fukk. Drury was a non exec director at Anglo Irish Bank and did fukk all of use there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

Great cross-ref job there. I'd say the CB Live and CB radio would be worth a look too. The CB live show was feckin ridiculous - it might as well have been broadcast from NK's scaffolding. It was always a great place to spot the people that were with NKM, but didn't publicly align with him or show up on his website wall of 'talent'. Never be fooled by Claire's 'Gosh, I'm just Miss nicey nicey' persona. She's as ambitious, ruthless and greedy as the next

So the can is well and truly opened, however the little worms have just woken up. They've scratched their hoops, they've taken a whizz and they're sticking their little heads over the rim of the can and having a look around. Not one little worm has actually made it out of the can fully...yet

You go worms!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭chicorytip

That was Eoghan Harris. All he did was produce Mailbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,356 ✭✭✭ForestFire

So we are in the middle of a PAC/Media/political review of abuse of funds and power in RTE....And they are actively taking the piss, by not turning up to these investigations (unplanned Retirement/Sick/Resigning), but also still screwing us over and robbing public funds right in front of our eyes live on TV!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

I like a lot of Fry’s work; that’s not his best effort, but given the turn around time it’s not bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 819 ✭✭✭alzer100

She's saving herself for that LLS appearance in which she is promoting a book and will be signing it in Easons that Saturday morning. You know the one that will probably fly off the shelves?

If and when she does appear on front of the PAC, can you imagine the potential revenues that the Oireachtas could be missing out on by not having ads on their live stream?

I mean this is nearly who shot JR stuff!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,918 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

I really doubt there’s any widespread appetite for RT back on air at this point. They might as well burn the radio Center down if they’re letting him back. It’d do less damage.

Had a Conf. Call with my American colleagues until now so debating whether to go to bed or watch the coverage I missed today.

Was there any explanation as to Moya Doherty’s absence? As I said yesterday the only acceptable reasons for this would be she’s resigning from it or being pushed, so if it’s anything other than those it’s a real 2 fingers from her to the committee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,052 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Time to call in the Gardai if that 500k figure is correct.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,918 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

Here’s a thought. If you are not attending a government committee due to an illness shouldn’t the committee have a right to independently medically assess you after s period? I feel sorry for those who do need to absent themselves from things due to genuine mental health issues but it’s being abused by plenty just interested in saving their own hides.

Committees like PAC should have done real power otherwise they’re just talking shops. It’s fine having people turn up because they respect the oireachtsis but mostly it’s the people who have no respect you really wasn’t in front of these committees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,002 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Main point is NK had a one to one call with DF where she agreed to underwrite the contract. 7 days prior she and other senior heads had met and decided not to agree.

Lynch said the two contracts were tied, not completely separate entities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 819 ✭✭✭alzer100

I don't know but there's a rumour the Oireachtas have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,197 ✭✭✭saabsaab

The more that comes out the murkier it gets. RTE seems to be dysfunctional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,751 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I didn't quite understand the nuance of the discussion at the start, but my understanding was that O'Keefe and Doherty had sent formal notice that they would be unable to attend, but that O'Leary didn't bother her hole doing so, she just didn't show up. When asked about it Bakhurst said he did not make any specific attempt to request she came, and as she is no longer employed he didn't think he could demand it anyway.

No specific reasons were given for the absences, and quite frankly there is no point Doherty being there anyway, she is clearly as useless as tits on a bull. Also, is she still actually employed in any capacity? I thought she only attended previously as a former chair of the board, not a current member?