Not a good look. I wonder did he go because this was going to come to light?
Threadbans:
CGI_Livia_Soprano
Sorolla
Stevie2001
Rothco
realdanbreen
Paterson Jerins
Aldo006
HBC08
Clay Shaw
Pintman Paddy Losty
northknife
StevenToast
ButtersSuki
Bobson Dugnutt
The PAC is going to compel Dee Forbes to attend when she is "better".
I don't think they can compel her
If you are a company, the rules for PAYE employees changed a few years ago.
Siun speaks like she understands the problems....the board is the problem. Failing us for years.
All these opening remarks and Lynch's to come - opening statements to today's Public Accounts Committee - are already published on the RTE website? How? Why?
I doubt it, she has resigned and RTE accepted
I'd like of we were a bit more like the UK and the media was snapping photos of Tubs popping our for a brown scone looking stressed on his Nikia 3210!
Was news to me too. I had to actually dig for it the other day. You would imagine they would clearly notify all bodies. Off topic I suppose.
Lip service to change. Promises. Promises. Promises. Give the answers and facts and stop the protection of yourselves and others.
Pitty she didn't write it.
They're shifting to a more hand-wringing "if only we'd known, lessons learned, we need to do better" tone today.
So they are being stood down by the new DG.
”Reconstitution of the board”
After the backlash yesterday they had to do something
Typical gaeilgeoir thinks that everyone wants to hear it.
A lot of time wasting here.
Moya looks like shes getting a tickling...
Who may be compelled?
4. In general, any person in the State, any Irish citizen outside the State, or any person
in an Irish registered vessel or aircraft or on an Irish diplomatic mission outside the
State may be compelled.3
5. Exceptions exist in certain circumstances for the President, an officer of the
President, Judges4
, the Master of the High Court, the Attorney General, an officer of
the Attorney General, the DPP, an officer of the DPP and persons entitled to
diplomatic immunity.5
Which committees have the power to compel?
6. A Committee seeking to use compellability powers must have the power to send for
“persons, papers and records”. This means the Committee can insist upon the
attendance of witnesses and the production of papers and other material.
7. In terms of a Part 2 Inquiry, any existing Oireachtas Committees or indeed a new
Committee set up for that purpose could seek to hold an inquiry. Any committee
seeking to run such an inquiry may ask the House to confer it with the power to send
for persons, papers and records.6
8. In terms of committees engaged in “other committee business”, (referred to in these
Guidelines simply as an Oireachtas Committee) a number of Committees currently hold the power to send for persons, papers and records in their Orders of
Reference.
Seems they can.
PAC -
RTE chair Siún Ní Raghallaigh wants to get rid of the usage of the term 'talent' as the first cultural change of RTE. Because she says the use of the term 'talent' implies 'them and us'
--
That's grand it is all sorted so....
She'd want to get a hold of herself with them stupid looking glasses.
This is not luncheon in Rolys.
RTE Board to be fired after they answer the questions.
reconstitution of the board... what does that mean?
it is one of the requirements of life in Ireland to pay the TV licence.
If you do not have a TV - then fill out this declaration
if you have a TV you must pay the licence.
i think it would be very foolish to stop paying the licence
It's like the change in the name of the passport application process.
We should be promoting the use of our national language, not giving out when people use it
Well it is the first language of the state as per the constitution, it is official government business and she obviously has high proficiency of the language.
Most of what she says is in English. Not to use Irish would be sending out a poor message on a lot of levels in my opinion. Symbolism really, but nonetheless that is all that there is. At least she has decent proficiency in the language, unlike many others who pretend to.
"first cultural change"
🙄
James O'Connor - 26 years old. Very calm and targetted manner of questioning.
The bould Mattie McGrath could learn a thing of two
Yep....
The board has to go. Lynch and the CFO should be facing some kind of charges.
He’s fantastic, very well prepared.