The Guards was always seen as being a very good job. I'm not 100% sure on what pay deal it was but I believe their pension is not what it was. They are finding it hard to fill positions in Templemore. Is it as lucrative a job as it once was?https://m.independent.ie/business/budget/a-budget-pledge-broken-just-over-half-of-the-800-garda-recruits-promised-for-this-year-will-be-delivered-42024768.html
Challenging a liar and calling someone out with documented facts is not begruding anyone. I have an extraordinary keen eye for detail and spotting spoofers and bullshIt so am perfectly successful in my own career, thanks.
The barefaced lies that public and civil employees peddle time and time again never stops on Boards. And apart from me and one or two others, never challenged. It's utterly bizarre.
Here is your link: https://www.gra.ie/documents/GRA-Pensions-Booklet-Jul17-red.pdf
Post 95 pays 1.5% of gross + 3.5% of net pensionable pay (gross minus 2xOAP). Since these deductions are tax allowable, it's actually a bit less.
There's no way you are paying 12% of your gross on your pension unless you are on a massive salary. The garda is struggling with basic arthmatic me thinks and is just adding up the head-line rates.
ASC is 10% after first €29000
They don't get the supplementary as I said in my post.
Incorrect, that 50% of salary applies to the pre 2013 recruits. Post 2013 recruits who manage to achieve 30 yrs service before reaching 60 years old receive 14/15k max or over 250 a week. Apply after 30 and receive much less.
We have your mark, you would not be willing to do the job, expect others to do it for you and be grudge them their income and that is the fact, you have made it very plain.
I think the top-up you are referring to is known as the supplementary pension, which is payable until the SPC starts at age 66, subject to certain conditions.
OKAY.
The top of the pay scale is 56,118, that excludes the two recent pay rises.
So after 30 years the pension is 50% of that = 28k, assuming no pensionable allowances.
There are likely to be pensionable allowances, I suspect?
28k will be made up of 15k PS pension and 13k SPC.
It's 15k now. Old pension, that I am on, had a built in top-up until you qualified for the OAP. That's gone now.
Old pension that's already retired get a good pension but don't qualify for state pension. 1995 to 2012 get the Garda pension and a top up until 65 then you get the state pension. After 2012, basic pension only and no top up, until 65 then you can also claim the state pension.
Produce it yourself, it's your evidence. I only pay it, what would I know?!?
Read and digest my message properly. It's 14 to 15k if you can complete 30 yrs service, I won't get the full 30 years service, as such mine is 9k. If you're over 30 joining, the pension is far worse again.
The only way it could be as low as 15k is if, for some implausible and impossible reason, a Garda finished 30 years without even getting the fixed increments on the basic grade salary.
The typical go to of someone that has no argument. You ought to know better with your experience.
Unable to refute the facts and challenges I put up, you resort to the childish "if its so good why not you do it". I did not mention the nature of the job or the dangers. Its you who brought that up as a strawmans argument.
OK, that is enough then, you clearly would not be willing to do it yourself, just whining and jealousy and no respect for those that do.
First you say the Garda pension is 9k, then you say it is 15k.
The 9k is wrong.
15k could be correct, I don't have time to check it now.
+13k approx SPC = 28k in total
Hold on. There's obviously more to this. How many years service? What current salary? None are working to retirement age with a 9k pension. Basic salary today, without ever getting a promotion, will give at least €26000 pa, plus a tax free lump of €78000, after only 30 years. That's the minimum by a long way.
Can't be arsed
Do you ask the drivers, farmers, fishermen, construction workers, etc the same? Because their jobs are more dangerous than the Garda.
The danger of the Garda job is just spin for grabbing attention of how they deserve to be paid more and has no basis in statistics compared to other jobs.
Here is a very simple question for you, would you be willing to risk your life for a pension? Because in the end that is the risk you have to be willing to take to get the benefits you are so jealous of. Having done ACP over 40 years ago and seenwhat they do, I can say without hesitation there is no way I’d do it. You want their pension go put your life on the line, otherwise put a sock in it.
SPSP rates for gardai are partly based on Net pensionable remuneration, which is gross minus 2xOAP. Which means that there is a threshold below which no or a tiny contribution is paid. Of course, the total salary counts towards the career average.
As usual, the complaining public sector worker fails to show the full picture and presents only half the story. The Garda will be given a lump sum and pension at an age where they can still get a second career for not unreasonable contributions.
That is for standard members of the SPSPS.
The fast accrual members pay more, but of course they don't need to work as many years.
Most PS pay regular 6.5% pension contributions plus the ASC.
The ASC rates are below, the Gardai are fast accrual
https://singlepensionscheme.gov.ie/wp-content/uploads/2020/05/Fast-Accrual-Scheme-Information-Booklet_WEB-1.pdf
So Gardai pay 0% ASC on earnings up to 28,750. After that the 10% ASC kicks in.
Pity the guarenteed job and pension is still not enough for some. Drug dealing Superintendent down to the Garda on the street.
It proves no matter how much you pay people, it's never enough for some who can target the vulnerable.
Good lord above. I hope you never make detective.
Google the single public service pension rates. The first €34000, there is no contribution charged. After that, it's something like 3%.
I see you haven't stopped making up **** and lying about the gardai.
There's no threshold, you pay 12% (new entrants) of your gross pay into your pension. It's not tax, there's no allowance or limit before you start paying. I'm baffled where you even get that from. Your ass probable.
25% allowances just from doing your normal working roster? Would ya **** off. Sunday and public holiday allowance, yes they are good. Nights and Saturdays are only worth pennies on the dollar. Saturday allowance fyi is a flat 15 euro!
The amount of applicants doesn't mean it's a great job or overpaid. It means there's a lot of people out there that believe in doing the job because it's a public service job. They are also the people who have absolutely no idea about the actual job so hardly the experts to ask.
And if you factor in overtime as I know you like to do, be sure to do the same with whatever job you compare to the gardai and show is the hourly comparison.
When you next compare to another European force, be sure to also compare average income and cost of living. Cause I know that's another trick you like to pull.
The next wave of AI based tools are going to make a load of private sector desk jobs redundant, including IT jobs. Maybe it'll lead to new technologies and new business opportunities ...
There are so many problems converging that the human race has never had to deal with before never mind all at once.
So, I dunno, state job might be better, for a while. Probably a load of juicy EU jobs to regulate AI. Also, YouTube influencers !
Maybe it'll all be grand ! Maybe we won't have to work anymore and the machines will do all the work. Maybe in the 25th Century.
Did you also check how much as a % of your salary you contribute towards your pension? Why did you not provide us with that figure? Why not provide us the lump sum you can expected?
And I mean the actual % after thresholds, etc are taken into account.
If you feel your pension is not enough, you can apply for your own private pension which also has tax reliefs.
Oh, for those in the private sector who you might think have better pension that you, if the employee has to pay 8%, they pay 8%. Not 8% above a threshold like in the public sector.
True enough.
State jobs are poorly paid for what you have to deal with.
Maybe teaching 20 years ago was a cushy job. Now you're a teacher, a councilor, a mental heath professional, legally liable if you don't spot child abuse, have to be knowledgeable in the latest LGBTQ++ lingo etc etc etc.. No wonder teachers are leaving the profession.
Same can be said for Gardai and nurses, the pay is poor for what you have to deal with, and the job today is very different from the job you signed up for.
OR you can get a job in pharma, tech, med devices and get 50k+ with pension, share options, bonuses, regular hours, health insurance. Half the lads I know who used to work in trades are gone into factory jobs. Handier work for much more money.
Not true but a common misconception in certain segments of society. I was raised with that misconception - working class family in a midlands town. It was either cushy public sector job or break your back in factories/retail for no pension and low wages.
It was only after I left college that I started meeting all these people working in pharma, tech and finance who had much better pensions, private health care, great pay, great perks like free gyms and 'lifestyle allowances' of a few grand a year. I said sure why not join them and I work in tech myself, not a developer on 6 figures or anything like that but my pay, pension and terms and conditions are much better than any public job at the same level. Happy out and tip my hat to anyone willing to go into teaching or the Gardai or into public facing civil service jobs which are very poorly paid for the abuse.
I think the post 2011 conditions are not right at all and the pensions people will get will not cover expenses for anyone who doesn't own property. 9K a year, 15K a year, 20k a year doesn't matter.......all poor pensions for the years out in and all require you to own a home and ideally have a partner with another income. There's 30 year olds in Google and Salesforce on 150K doing jobs that noone can describe in plain English, not the norm and far from it but if people want to moan about overpaid people with fat pensions and cushy numbers it's not a Garda or someone in the passport office - not anymore and not by a long shot.
if you do the full 30 years you get about 15k, or 280 a week (basically old age pension) which in real terms will be worse after the next 30 or so years of inflation erodes. Think long and hard if considering if you join after 30 years of age as you won't complete 30 years and pension will plummet drastically. Like every job talk to those you know are serving and not what the old generation say as the job is so different now to back then.
ive got it checked for myself and my garda pension will be 9k a year when i retire, its terrible after the service put down and stress, to a job like no other