Well when some of that settles in the fiscal accounts of Ireland to pay for what we’ve spent and will continue to spend for a long time in assisting and facilitating the Ukranian people, not to mention prioritizing their welfare over tax paying citizens….but you know as well as I do we won’t see a red or yellow cent.
knowing the EU, most or all of it will be gifted to the Ukraine….
Empathy goes a long way, and we’ve certainly facilitated them with a shîtload more than empathy…. 😉
This german far right was also an observer during the Russian presidental elections in 2018 together with a long list of other European far right and Kremlin supporters.
Its a long list
I read this thread every few days out of general interest of what's going on in Ukraine. As someone who will never visit Ukraine or had general interest in the country prior to the war. I would consider myself only as an observer without emotional attachment. Ukraine can of course keep fighting on to defeat the invaders with the help from nato but at what cost long term. Population loss to condemn the next generation to an ageing population, infrastructure of a 3rd world country and so on. I know its not currently mainstream or popular but let's face it unless Nato actually get involved in the fighting russia can't be beaten but equally they will not win. Talks will happen eventually that's how all wars in stalemate end.
Talks .
Full withdrawal from all occupied Ukrainian territories, ukraine then joins Nato and the Eu ,
Then there could be talks , but until then tens of thousands more orcs are going to die in Ukraine for no reason what so ever
i tought this one was on the banned clowns list, no?
Its great that the people of the EU are offering more than just empathy to vulnerable people fleeing from one of the largest military forces in the world when the russians have clearly decided to make no efforts to avoid killing civilians. When the less vulnerable Ukrainians have helped the russian scum invading their country understand that they have made a mistake in following a genocidal idiot then I think it will very much be to Ireland's benefit that we provided this assistance. Just seen this graphic of how russia has pushed forward in its efforts to invade Ukraine in January and the cost it has been happy to expend on the 199sqare miles of territorial gain:
Have no way to veritfy the figures but on a rough calculation of the area of Ukraine versus troop losses to get as far as they have in the month just gone then it will just take putin about 25 million troops to take over all of the area of Ukraine assuming they could find enough rusty guns to equip them with and the Ukrainian armed forces don't just move to take it back from them again.
all part of the plan lads
It will be atleast 10 -15 years before ukraine meets the minimum criteria to enter the EU. This would require for ukraine to meet EU standards on goverance and corruption plus the criteria for the Euro. Would not have a clue about nato membership
exchanged for rusty orc metal
Quite possibly right,I'm sure there was some involvement of the communist Italian auto unions too
haha is that what basil fawlty beat with a branch
Seriously what is the end goal for the ukrainen government,minimise territory loss and become a nato member? Atleast this would protect the remainer of the country.
Expulsion of Russian forces from all of Ukraine
not all eu members have euro
Requirement for all new members
Funny, if UK applied for EU membership now they would have to adopt the euro. They really feck up big time.
I think with the number of Ukrainians killed defending the rest of Europe from a genocidal army of russian scum they will be given much more lenient terms than any other country previously joining the EU. I think you are way off in your estimates of when Ukraine becomes a full member of the EU and it will be much sooner that they will be welcomed into the EU free trade area. I also think this is not going to be just a charitable decision from the EU but Ukraine will give serious benefits to the EU from the natural resources of Ukraine and a strong military force that is being built up there to defend the EU from any political instability to the east.
A lot to digest in this my eyes are too tired atm and the font is making me squint I'll go at it tomorrow but ye can have a gander
Putin doesn't know how to lose, so when the s hit hits the fan, someone in the EU will be hit with a missile, at this point the response from Nato will be to down play it, Nato is too PC for war. You need strong leaders to beat Putin, right now EU, UK, NATO, US, have weak leaders
They taught that about Biden as well. There is a hidden resolve within the West that Putin will not be allowed to win.
Is he being sucked in to be blown out in bubbles. The West's problem is it's too developed it can afford descent. However that's it's strength as well.
Russia and Putin taught it was weak, Russia and Putin got sucked in thinking it could win. It has lost the energy war, it's lost the food war and now it losing that actual war
Had a quick look through the first pages of the thread for a laugh, ah the good old days of 2021 when posters gushed over Putin and eagerly parroted all his talking points.
The victim lies it socks off twisting big historic events into fantasy
But we will use something else...
I think a preemptive strike on this unstable crazy fool must be considered if its not going to happen internally.
And....
Give them f16s ok nazi's didn't have in ww2
I never said the US doesn't have plenty of stuff in stock they clearly do, but a lot of it has features the US don't want to send, hence all the sourcing from scratch.
Many of those drones cost more than fighters. If you have an actual detailing their build times, I'd love to see the link. Anyway, I said nothing about the build time of those.
If I understand things correctly the HIMARS launchers in Ukraine are geofenced. If they aren,'t and it's the individual munitions, fair enough,
They have been training troops in Belarus for weeks, don't assume or underestimate; it's unlikely the cannon fodder tactics of Soledar are going to be the main element of any big offensives. That tactic was most likely to keep their better troops safe for a more important action.
Tell me about it. I once owned a beautiful car built from that metal, and even in Australias slightly drier climate, it rusted while you looked at it.
Jens Stoltenberg.
Eu can't realy fast track Ukraine into the EU membership. They will have to meet fiscal requirements and sort out the corruption across the society at a mimimum first. I would be in favour of Ukraine joining but only once they meet the minimum requirements and thats years away otherwise it would weaken the overall EU. Russia is not a military threat to the EU, they are struggling even with ukraine. This war has shown how weak russia really is. Nato would pick off the Russian air force in weeks, their only real threat is nuclear.
I guess I couldn't reach the low levels required for a ban here (or even for 'normal' participation for that matter) even if I tried.
I probably would feel honoured tbh.
No, some brave leaders are needed. "Strong leader" makes me think Putin and other dictators and autocrats that seem to tickle the fancy of a certain kind of voter...(!) We don't need that.