Old thread seems to be permanently locked. It will be interesting if anything can come of this at last.
Threadbanned Posters:
i have alerted the mods about your claims i am someone else. and i do not drink so be careful who you insult re on the sauce
on the subject of the thread you do claim to know it all and consistently mock others. you have not answered how you know a blow would cause hundreed or thousands of fractures. seems it is you were on the sauce. do not refer to me as your erstwhile friend again
and? there is no proof she was killed after sunrise. no one knows time of death. It was not possible to say. Stomach contents made a theory of early morning. Did you ever eat at night?
I`ll tell you what. You go back over everything I said last night and show the mods exactly where I said "one blow" would result in 100s or thousands of injuries. So now who`s making false accusations? And I wasn`t on the sauce last night. That`s two false accusations you`ve just made. Therefore if I go, you should go too.
sunrise means nothing is what I mean. most people are up at sunrise at this time of year
i am not wasting my time with silly games. Do not make any more false allegations about me. This thread is about sophie. you brought up this nonsense as it was pointed out to you you do not know what journalists mean by understand . i was addressing your post not falsely accusing you.
unless you have something re sophie to discuss then just do not bother me
Sunrise of 8.38 - there should have been enough twilight from about 8.00 to be out and about. That's what it was like this morning at least.
@tibruit
It is absolutely lazy journalism and inspired by Harbison`s comment that there was 50 fractures. One good blow to the head with an axe, poker or stick would cause multiple skull fractures. The block with force would crush the skull. Ten blows with that block would leave hundreds if not thousands of fractures. The recent Mirror article is also lazy journalism where a hack with access to Bailey goes into the file and tries to associate individuals who were initial suspects in early `97 with what was said at the recent Garda press conference. There are two lines of information in the article. One is a "garda source", but that is just a regurgitation of what was said at the press conference. The other line is "
show how you know Ten blows with that block would leave hundreds if not thousands of fracturesand
Ten blows with that block would leave hundreds if not thousands of fracturesand
and
it is understood". That`s the hacks own speculation.
that is what i asked you to prove. your medical and journalistic qualification to prove that
ok i said one blow by error
Re Sophie. I know exactly what the difference is between "a garda source said" and "it is understood". They are two completely different things and I shouldn`t have to explain the significance. It isn`t rocket science. I also never said that a single blow would cause hundreds or thousands of injuries or fractures. People here have mis-quoted me and then criticized me for saying something I never said. No big deal. I have been verbally abused. I`ve been called names such as POS. I`ve never once reported anyone to the mods. Grow up and stop your whining.
i thought you said you believe it was a morning murder. i t may have been but no one knows. This is from A Dream of death
An analysis of the crime scene and the likely sequence of events led gardaí to
believe that, from when Sophie was rst confronted outside her Toormore
home to the nal blow she suffered at the bottom of the laneway, the attack
had lasted a matter of minutes. It was entirely possible that her killer had been
at the scene for as little as 15 minutes. e inability to narrow that timeframe
down from a period of around 12 hours was a huge setback for detectives, and
although they believed the killing occurred sometime between 11 p.m. and 2
a.m., they couldn’t prove it
I still think it happened in the morning. Even though it's tight, the timeline makes sense to me at the moment.
@tibruit At posts 10450 and 10452 above link the words "jog on" are used by two different people. It is quite a popular phrase
the timeline makes sense to me at the moment
because you think it was a dispute re land or right of way?
i did not call you a POS. you said ten blows would cause hundreds or thousands of fracture. That is rubbish .What you say re journalists is just a non journalist opinion whining is the best you can do?
You`re gas. Note how SoulWriter starts many sentences without a capital. Jeez you couldn`t make it up. This thread gets so comical at times.
you are pathetic . many people do not capitalise . that is all you can do when you cannot explan how ten blows can cause hundred or thousands fracture. you are the gas one LOL.
ya I think it was because of a dispute re land or a ROW. like it wouldn't surprise me if Sophie had delt the first blow either, like a slap. Very French (joke).
it's no wonder your sophie theories are so pathetic. trying to play linguist LOL
Lads, I'm not a mod here and I'm not wanting to backseat mod either but would youse both STFU or take it elsewhere please as you're ruining the thread!
I don't buy that. can't see a dispute starting that early
linguist?
sorry I thought that was aimed at me.
why? genuinely - why not?
Sophie isn't there all the time so it's not like she has loads of opportunities to confront Alfie. Whos to say she didn't go down to the gate as the entraged party. It's not unrealistic.
"And there goes the land dispute theory !"
Not quite Kirk,
You need to think outside the box. I've already said I don't think Alfie killed Sophie.
And I don't think it's a boundary dispute, as such, more a right of way dispute.
Agreed, the flare-up can be a spur of the moment thing, but the dispute could have been simmering away for years.
Involving who ?
Have you passed on this info to the gardai ?
I don't have any "info", I have an opinion based on what information is in the public domain, and experience of real life situations.
no it wasn't
But who is to say Alfie was around that early. i think Bailey is a better bet but with new info coming about who knows. maybe there was guy secretly staying with her. It would explain why she didn't invite josephine hellen over as she ussually did
The gate at the start of the right of way was not just Sophie's, it was shared with two other properties. She might have liked it kept closed but that's it, I don't think she would leave her house to remonstrate with someone using that common gate.
The other gate from the ROW part of the lane into the bottom of Sophie's lawn was Sophie's, she had it installed in the last year or so. The pumphouse was actually the pier that this gate closed onto. Shirley Foster found this gate open when she discovered the body. This was a gate into Sophie's private property. Discovering someone at this gate might cause her to confront whoever it was. Sophie was only there occasionally and it's possible those around the area took liberties when she was not there. I have seen this happen here where I am. Her visitor might not have been aware she was at the cottage and carried on as usual, or they may well have known she was there and just carried on.
Further back in the thread I put up a landregistry map; post 434. showing the only routes to Alfie's shed and his fields below his house. Through this gate was one route, the other being along the back of Sophie's house by her back door. I read on another forum that Sophie installed another gate across this path at the same time. I haven't been able to find a photo of this second gate at the time of the murder, so I haven't shown it, there is a photo of that gate but it's taken much later.
If there's one thing sure to kick off neighbour against neighbour it's gates across a right of way without consultation even if it's only an imagined right of way.
i'm sure the gardai are well aware of anything rumoured here and know all about any disputes
" It would explain why she didn't invite josephine hellen over as she ussually did"
But she did!