Thread to discuss the football itself.
This is not a thread to discuss the hosting of the competition in Quatar.
You can discuss the hosting in the relevant thread.
He is a serious shthouser.
He is so over rated, I really am Glad he not Irish . .
I'm sure it's disappointing for you.
But not for me.
Yeah that’s crucial, losing himself and Oisin in the same year would feel like a death knell for this panel.
Same. I just hope Lee will give it one more year.
Declan Rice for me just doesn't work in the English team, too cautious. Disrupts the balance of play and doesn't slows everything down.
Having him and Hendo in the same side doesn't work.
On form as always! 😂
See that’s more like it!
England only appoint managers with baggage, like Southgate bottling it in 1996.
Has Big Sam ever missed a penalty for England in a major tournament? Has he f**k.
Pay the man ten times his body weight in lager and gravy and anything is possible in 2026.
Have RTE cut back on pre and post match analysis since the knockout stages?
Semi-finals
Tuesday 13th December
Argentina V Croatia - (19:00) - Live on ITV 1
Wednesday 14th December
France V Morocco - (19:00) - Live on BBC 1
Sure if we can’t have a laugh about it at times, it’d only depress you more.
I still live in hope though, every single year.
You'll be entering the land of nod during it anyway...
England's drop in quality from the first team to the bench is very big. Foden, Saka and Henderson off for Mount, Rashford and Sterling is big drop imo. Grealish is good though..
There can be only one......
My team of the quarter-finals (4-3-1-2):
G) Livakovic (Croatia)
RB) Juranovic (Croatia)
CB) Yamiq (Morocco), Gvardiol (Croatia)
LB) Allah (Morocco)
CM) Modric (Croatia)
DM) Amrabat (Morocco)
CM) Kovacic (Croatia)
AM) Griezmann (France)
ST) Weghorst (Netherlands)
ST) En-Nesyri (Morocco)
Manager: Walid Regragui (Morocco)
Honourable mentions: Martinez (Argentina), Hakimi (Morocco), Lovren (Croatia), Sosa (Croatia), Ounahi (Morocco), Messi (Argentina), Giroud (France).
You can take the player out of Spurs, etc
Who replaces him is the question? Eddie Howe is probably the pick of the bunch if they go domestic, and they don’t have a good track record with foreign managers.
What they really need is a manager who’s won an international tournament, whether as a player or a coach. There’s nobody in that England setup who actually knows what it takes.
Whoever they appoint next, you can be sure that it won’t be enough to get them over the line. For that reason, I’d leave Gareth in the job.
I think Morocco might have just too many key injuries after today's match to beat the French but Croatia vs Argentina is very 50/50.
I still find it funny that Englands best manager only got the Job cause the English FAs first choice was caught out in a sting . . Big Sam would of been Mike Bassett level bad!
I actually really like Southgate, theres no arrogance and solid humility that is usually the exact opposite to what England managers bring to the team.
Posts like this make the France win even sweeter, cheers 👌
..😄
How fuckin Spursy was that lads, holy jaysus like.
Morocco might actually have a decent shout against that France team. Dare I even dream of a Croatia - Morocco final?
Yep.
You think of the abuse Southgate got when he played, think he missed one of the penos against Germany in 1996 ?! Next thing hes on a pizza advert with a bag over his head, trying to go with the mocking abuse he was getting. Sakho aswell, getting racial abuse 2 years ago, now doing his best for his team. I really hate the mob that go after these lads and then cheer them on when they turn it around (Becks another one).
I know you are, that's why I said it :)
One thing about that match
Seemed devoid of atmosphere in comparison to others. Very flat at times.
Bit of needle like last night would have helped.
Neville is blaming the ‘rank bad’ ref! It almost sounds like the ‘moral victories’ Ireland used to go on about.
Keane more cutting the top teams ‘find a way’ he said.
There has to be a scapegoat since it didn't come home. Southgate be the easiest.
Have to laugh at ITV, missed opportunity that England won't play Morocco, the team that beat Spain and Belgium. They talk so much shite!!
First top team they meet they do the English and crumble
Wouldn't mind seeing England win only for the usual over the top crap that starts coming out of them once they start winning. They were definitely the match of France tonight and many referee decisions went against them. Will stick my neck out and say they gave France a harder time then France will get in their next match...