... or would anyone? My opinion is no one would. There would be plenty of strong words and maybe weapons supplies but that would be it. Thoughts?
Again not the question.
They supposedly offered the six counties for use of the ports here during WW2
There was supposed talk of yanks pushing Brits to begin reunification efforts for NATO membership during it's early days,as it's felt would close out Atlantic gap to russia between us and Iceland
Black and Tans!
Well then stop posing stupid effin questions.
I might as well ask you what personal items you plan to take on your journey to Mars?
But seeing as you have, here's the answer.
Eu countries have provided 10s of billions in every variety of aid to a third party country which has never paid a dime into the EU. So what makes you think they wouldn't do a whole hell of a lot more for an actual EU member of decades membership, signed up to a common defense contract.
You could expect a shutdown of all direct approach routes (land, sea and air) at a minimum, within the hour. (Danish straits - closed, Mediterranean - closed, all approaches by EU airspace - closed)
Everything Ukraine got we'd get in triplicate. So equipment out the ass, satellite intel, signals and cyber warfare resources, full spectrum sanctions the second a boot touches land, asset seizures, and lots of "private" contractors and international volunteer legions at the minimum.
With such aid Ireland could easily equip a defense multiple times the size of Russias invasion capabilities.
It's not a stupid question at all. Unbelievable the amount of arrogant smug gits on this thread.
And something based on a UN charter doesn't exactly inspire confidence.
That is very interesting stuff and good input👏...I knew there was something about this
I'm surprised it wasn't pushed forth during the worst of Isis terror attacks few years ago
So basically a bit better than what Ukraine got.
Its based on a UN charter. We know how well that worked in the past.
Putin is going to use Brazilians and Mick Wallace to destroy us from the inside. Crinkle crinkle tinfoil hat.
My own view is, if the Russians attacked Ireland. The British and the US contribute to defending us.
not through any love of Ireland but tactically the British especially can’t afford to for their own safety have the Russians here, on their doorstep. It would simply be the kickoff of WWIII…
What is the point of this whole thread really?
Why not just come out and say whatever it is.
Considering your scenario is in the realm of pure fantasy, I wouldn't lose too much sleep over it.
The point is literally what it says it is. I can't make it any clearer. Now I understand how people go into exams and answer completely different questions than the ones asked on the paper. Absolutely astonished if I'm honest. And to add insult to injury, call the question that wasn't asked stupid.
I ask questions to learn what others think. There is no hidden agenda here.
Some of the posters at least seem to get it.
It was.
The French Government invoked the clause after either the Charlie Hebdo or Bataclan attack (or maybe it was both, I don't recall precisely), but that enabled French security personnel to move into neighbouring nations and with the help of those nations, chase down and corner identified attackers until they were captured or killed.
Would it not be easier to drive up North?
well then. nobody knows for sure. theres your answer.
/thread.
next up. what if martians landed. what if monkeys owned the luas.
Could they not do this anyway without invoking the article?
That's grand so. Lets never discuss anything again unless we know with 100% certainty what will happen. You must be great craic at parties.
And martians aren't currently invading Venus or monkeys aren't running Dublin bus so your analogy makes no sense.
by air travel shortest distance between Ireland and Russia is 5,990 km or 3,722 miles. If you travel on a conventional airline (which has average speed of 560 mph) from Ireland to Russia, It will take 6.65 hours to arrive.
That makes it an extremely challenging proposition by Russia to begin any sort of conflict by attacking Ireland….regardless of air to air refueling capabilities…
Not to argue, thats probably true.
But if they were to send a nuke our way then i can only imagine that they'd better do it from the out in the Atlantic. Cause if France or UK see a launch out of Russia on any trajectory that comes anywhere near them whatsoever they might make some assumptions and press their own buttons.
They must have very slow planes.
I flew Dublin to Moscow years ago and it took a little over 4 hours.
you will have a tailwind headed east from here.
New York to Dublin, significantly faster then the reverse leg.
Bacterial infections works both ways. Aliens would in all likelihood bring bacteria that would have serious effects on human populations also.
I’d like to see them Russians take on big Joe Joyce in a bare knuckle boxing fight. They’d be on their first submarine back to Moscow after 5mins with big Joe in a by-lane off Longford Main Street.
Not a lot longer going east to west.
It would be worth it for the call out videos on YouTube. See you here Putin ya feckin eejit and your buddy Lavrov!
This is it exactly. The Brits would have a strategic interest in not having a Russian threat so close whatever about giving 2 hoots about us otherwise.
Well this was largely a waste of time. Just as well I have Ireland's brilliant performance against Malta to entertain me.
Not sure what you expected.
If you ask a silly question, you’re going to get silly answers.