Moscow mustn't have had enough humiliation at the Security Council of late.
Wonder if our Ambassador Fergal Mythen will repeat the Taoiseach's recent suggestion for Russia to be booted off the SC?
Would never happen of course, but its a new low for Russia to be in that realm of discussion.
Well it would be on a par with the UK invading Donegal, Cavan, Monaghan, Leitrim and Sligo, fighting goes on for ten months and in order to end the war, we say to them "You get to keep those five counties forever, as long as the fighting stops now".
Putin would never agree to withdraw from any part of Ukraine as part of a "peace" settlement.
Pick out the few false videos and ignore the library of fantastic videos? Cry me a river buddy!
I have heard about barrels wearing out on tanks, but is this really necessary? No wonder they are winning.
Really are away with the fairies aren’t you. Georgia and Ukraine wish to join NATO because of threats on their sovereignty from Russia or because they want to threaten Russia? What does history tell us? We’re Georgia and Ukraine justified in feeling threatened? When has there even been a hint that NATO or NATO aligned countries have any desire to go after any sovereign Russian territory?
Putin paying weekend over time I see…
Imagine blaming the Jews for fighting back against the Nazis in the Polish Ghettos.
‘Could they not just talk peace?’
Putinbots just as moronic.
Amazing how many of the anti anything NATO and pro Putin posters just pop up with a small number of posts, even if not obvious new registrations. What makes someone set up an account here, not use it for a couple of years and then launch into stuff like this? Hmm, I can draw my own conclusions.
You begin with "No", therefore you seem to be saying that the NATO issue is not a red herring.
I appreciate that you may not have intended to quote me in your post, as your following thoughts don't seem to be at odds with mine.
Am surprised that it took you so long to spot the red herring!
Our Taoiseach may not have much influence / leaverage/ control / final decision at UN level but he has a lot of these possibilities in his own country re what to do about any aspect of the Russian embassy in Ireland
Advisor to the office of President of Ukraine: Nuclear blackmail, energy terror, grain blockade. Putin turned food, cold and prices to weapons against the world. Putin's Russia is waging a hybrid war against Europe, taking Africa and Middle East hostage. Proving once again: negotiations with RF — a waste of time
stout words from a stout man
The word "Forced" is enough. They are being detained against their will. I well understand the game that the Russian's are playing., and while it does look like as you described, its well understood too by the Diplomatic world. Trying to put a veneer or legality and honesty on the situation using the Red Cross. But this will not stain the reputation of the ICRC, on the contrary, it will embellish it. They are not the first, and the way the world is going, it won't be the last either to try this, but inevitably it backfires.
"No need to be deliberately stupid about what Putin says" So after Putin deliberately orders his military to illegally invade the sovereign state of Ukraine, now we should not stupidly believe what Putin says? I'll tell you one thing anyway jeanfrancois, personally I'll believe Zelensky any day over that lying Putin or his equally lying minions.
Except Russian doesn't do "negotiation" it only does dominion. And no matter what it calls it, it's still subjection to Russian rule 100%
Ya your lot were too busy profiting off the misery on both sides. Very similar to the stance ye take today. Wouldn't like to risk losing those Russians billions from your dodgy banks. Even all those Narco billions wouldn't soften that blow.
Dev offered his condolences, yes, he had a bee in his bonnet with London and New York. I do not think he spoke for everyone at the time.
Pro peace is now pro Putin? Really? How childish does someone need to be to research a posters history? I've never been bothered enough by atones words to be that pathetic.
Lol.
Pro peace,
How about having an actual clue what your talking about first
And when or if Putin shuffles off this mortal coil, President Higgins will relay the appropriate condolences to the Russian Ambassador, as per diplomatic protocol.
Allow me to quote from John Stuart Mill, philosopher of note from the mid 19th century.
“War is an ugly thing, but not the ugliest of things: the decayed and degraded state of moral and patriotic feeling which thinks that nothing is worth a war, is much worse. When a people are used as mere human instruments for firing cannon or thrusting bayonets, in the service and for the selfish purposes of a master, such war degrades a people. A war to protect other human beings against tyrannical injustice; a war to give victory to their own ideas of right and good, and which is their own war, carried on for an honest purpose by their free choice, — is often the means of their regeneration. A man who has nothing which he is willing to fight for, nothing which he cares more about than he does about his personal safety, is a miserable creature who has no chance of being free, unless made and kept so by the exertions of better men than himself. As long as justice and injustice have not terminated their ever-renewing fight for ascendancy in the affairs of mankind, human beings must be willing, when need is, to do battle for the one against the other”
Your proposed “opening gambit” seems precisely what the Ukrainians are doing anyway.
Oh look another account saying the same thing ......
There is never just one. It’s always multiple accounts appearing at the same time. Always essentially backing child rapists and murderers when the layers are peeled back.
Yes. In the current circumstances with Russian occupying Ukranian territory and carrying out war crimes to be pro 'peace' without preconditions is to be pro Putin.
I believe it's the one person soapboxing and looking for a little attention,we seen the same thing 8 years ago in the original Ukraine threads
I'd say everyone here is pro peace. I'd say everyone here is pro negotiation. I don't recall seeing anyone say to screw both these in favour of both sides continuing in a war.
The thing is, the peace and negotiations are entirely at Putins door. He just has to withdraw everyone and the fighting will stop. Then the negotiating happens on what happens next. The outcome being that Russia keeps its nose out of it's neighbours business and pays up for the damage it's done.
Just one little correction re NATO. Countries apply to join NATO, NATO does not go around canvassing for members. The fact that so many Ex USSR applied to join speaks volumes about Russia.
I struggle to remember my current passwords, not sure how they remember the passwords to usernames they set up however many years ago when they registered.
Russia withdraws all of its forces to pre 2014 borders , Russia funds the reconstruction of Ukraine from their own pocket, then ukraine joins both the eu and Nato.
Simples
I'd add, Putin and his generals sent to the Hague.
Ideal end is Russia pulls out and leaves Ukraine alone and gives back all the land they have stolen and pays for all damage they have done,its really quite simple.
Would give up land full of natural resources to an enemy that does genocide to your people?
You think they will stop there?