How do people feel about this one? Will it be short and sweet?
Mod warning:
https://www.boards.ie/discussion/comment/121425200/#Comment_121425200
They better give 6.5% increase to the dole.
Yeah good luck with that Kippy we have had a few ding dongs over the last couple of years but I have been ridiculed on here for pointing out what is about to happen and have now made it a point to put up anything that may gently nudge some of your fellow Public sector employees head out of the sand with regards to the upcoming global recession.
I really don't think there's anybodys head in the sand - a lot of these issues are simply outside of the "something you can control" aspect of life and as such need to be looked on as such in the way I have outlined it above. You really gotta look out for yourself in things like this.
Just say you do get a few PS workers to "get their head out of the sand" - what do you expect them to do? Hand back money willingly?
Again, you wouldn't do it yourself.
Thanks for that.
It's actually a good better than I thought it was earlier
no but the shite going on in here you would think the good times where hear to stay.
This is an anonymous online forum lad. You'd be well minded to remember than when engaging with anyone here.
No I don’t see that mentioned as part of the deal.
Well your private sector buddy Saloonfire seems to think so. He has secured a much higher pay increase. His employer doesn't seem to think there is a recession on the horizon !
seems like this will pass fairly handily based on prevailing sentiment.
i think if the govt doesnt deliver on the cost of living aspects expected in the budget that it might set the tone somewhat differently however.
i can see why many would take the offer that's going, the govt certainly would be in no rush to go back to the table and bread today is always better than bread tomorrow- but the worth of the euro in your pocket will be a long way short of 8% down by the time this deal expires and for me the gap i expect to see in real spending over this deal is just too much to make it worth supporting, personally.
Hours already reduced from 37 to 35, what hours are you referring to here? Curious
The exhaustion is compensated by the opportunities for crass schoolyard boasting to boost his low self esteem.
This has prob been answered but I’m lost in the thread.
Is the 1% this Oct 1st still happening or just the backdating to Feb?
The thought of anyone doing better than you or getting one up over you just eats you up inside. We saw this during Covid and WFH where you thought employers were stealing the minuscule amount of electricity to power your laptop while WFH by not reimbursing you your costs. You went on a one-man cursade about seeking costs from employers for two years.
That's a separate agreement, so yes that's being implemented from October 1st. The 3% will be on top of that.
Unions are planning to meet Oct 7th for counting the ballots so it'll be a bit longer for the 3% to kick in if ratified.
TBH many employers shirked their responsibilities, during COVID.
Ergonomics went out the window. People spent 2 years at kitchen tables
It also costs some people more to stay home and heat/power the house than office but I think the government should have mandated the tax rebate at point of pay, rather than optionally and forcing people to navigate a time consuming tax claim.
So,
Right now my pockets are empty.....
Accept 6.5% offer and my pockets will still be empty
Will I ever get to a point where I'll have money in my pockets?
I think it's sounds good on paper but if you actually compare the pay increase to the cost of living increases across the board, then it is not a great deal.
Ultimately, workers will foot the bill for the extortionate price of living at the moment.
So sad to think of how many businesses will go to the wall in the next few months.
The rule is there for a reason. A newly recruited CO has near zero experience in the CS in most cases
It also doesn't apply to open competitions. Plenty of people get on panels within 2 years that way - if they're good enough.
Go on strike ah yeah that'll be great craic all that'll achieve is saving the government a day's pay strike pay won't cover many bills. European economies and indeed neo liberal capitialism itself is heading down the toilet and the unions have managed to secure a locked in pay rise this is a victory for the trade union movement and we need to grab this deal with both hands.
I'm just surprised it is not written in crayon. Imagine complaining that public sector unions haven't secured a deal to help private sector business it is hard to fathom such idiocy.
This thread is a good capture of the various views on the pay issue/state of economy and how personal people take their views, I wouldn't have the patience to hammer out a deal like this so fair play to them. Already you can see here the general tea time discussions are warm to the deal, life still has to be lived. Could we get a better deal with threat of strike/carry out strike, yeah maybe but is worth the hassle? Good enough is good enough
Well in my department I see 4 new entrants CO's that started in around the same time as me.
3 of them have over 10 years experience with some form of education, 1 has a degree and 5 year experience.
Do you mean CS experience? Because 1 year of that should be enough to try move up.
It's nothing but a mechanism to keep CO's in roles longer and keep wages slightly lower.
The quality of some of the newly entered CO's, EOs and even HEO's I have seen is absolutely shocking in some cases. Can't write reports, analyse data or understand national plans / policies. Alot of them need alot of training and 1 year of that is nowhere near enough.
Nothing to do with keeping staff "down" , most places are only happy to train , develop their teams to give them relevant experience to move on.
Spoke to HR and finally got some clarity. Last February's 1% will be paid in the next 2 to 4 weeks. If a yes vote, 3% backdated to February, plus another 1% in October. So that's 5% in total of an increase coming in the next couple of months.
You should have already received Feb 2022 1%
I think most departmens got it towards the end of Feb/early March.
You should try working in a tech section. It's dreadful some of the staff we have coming in. If they can't do basic administrative tasks what hope do they have doing highly complex technical work.
Tech streams should be paid more than a bog standard HEO or EO.
Your February 1% is already agreed so I doesn't matter if it's a No vote.
Sorry your post is correct , enjoy the extra few bob !!!
I actually do and the training is double that of a new entrant as they have to learn admin AND ICT as well