Gives military officers and occupation officials something to do rather than panic.
Putin can take care of this humiliation any time he likes by withdrawing to pre- Feb 24th borders and declaring Ukraine to have been successfully punished and cleansed of Nazis, vampires, werewolves, leprechauns or whatever he's having himself. Most of the faithful will lap it up and his goons will take care of those who don't.
To borrow from the cop in Scarface, "It's your tree, Vlad; you're sitting in it." He can climb down whenever he likes. If that weapon on Russian TV with the council facelift declares him King of the Tree then fine, who cares.
Its short term. A liberated Ukraine can become Europes gas supplier. Algeria is already being prepped to take on the southern EU states. Azerbijan and all the 'stans come into play as new energy partners. Nuclear is back in play which takes pressure off gas supply for electricity production, freeing it up for industry. Solar and Wind will be accelerated. Its all downhill for Russia. Anything we want from them we'll take on our own terms going forward. Decades of political interference, espionage and online trolling undone by an idiotic mistake.
Unfortunately, this is a long game, but it may actually be a good thing in the longer term. Forward 2 years -- hopefully, Ukraine is free and Russian army is out. Ukraine may then start developing its own gas fields in the east of the country and on the Crimean shelf. This, together with new pipelines from Kazakhstan via a south route, gas from North Africa and further diversification of energy production means that there will be a healthy competition among energy suppliers, leading to much better economic stability in the EU.
Remember back in the early days of the Syrian war ,the theory of America wanted to build a oil and gas pipeline from Iran ,into Syria,Iraq and turkey before connecting to western Europe and removing the Russia from the equation all together,
It was always a conspiracy theory Posted by putinbots on here ,
But looking back it almost makes sense as to why Putin got involved in syria and bombed it back to the stone age
You keep referring to overpriced American LNG.
The cuts of Russian gas exports by pipeline from Russia has made Gas a relatively scarce and expensive commodity. This bids up the price of LNG worldwide. Whether its American LNG is irrelevant: LNG is fungible. Calling it "overpriced" is meaningless, it's just scarce and therefore expensive.
Hopefully.
We need a source of NG we can depend on for sure.
Lol, so the Putinbots were conspiring that Russia only bombed Syria to stop an oil pipeline? Sounds like the exact opposite message the KGB would want to spread. Make sure you check under the bed for putinbots at night!
Yeah hopefully that’s how it turns out.
In the short term Germany and by extension the EU has to ride out this winter.
Ok, expensive relative to NG.
That better?
In the UK ?
That game is over and they will ride out this winter.
eh? German and French electricity prices are soaring ahead of the coming winter
Mueller said Germans should save gas as they face potential problems for a couple of years.
"It's not just about one winter, it's about at least two and the next winter could be even tougher," he said, adding local gas shortages over the winter were likely.
Next year the gas situation will be even worse, and energy prices even higher - at the beginning of this year gas storage and gas flows from Russia were normal, so it was possible to refill gas storage ahead of this winter. By next spring, it will be incredibly difficult to refill gas storage for the following winter unless supplies of gas drastically increase. There isnt enough spare LNG capacity in the world right now to make up for the European shortfall.
Its going to be a very hard few years unless there is a miracle regime change in Russia
Tver military registration office
Can't see Ukraine developing them themselves. The most likely scenario here is that international companies (probably the US) will be given licences to the reserves and be free to extract and sell as thy wish, with Ukraine "taxing" profits or something. In other words, I'd say the price Ukraine will pay for the weapons and support will be to give up their resources to international companies/vultures
Their previous winter target used to be 90%, 95% is now because of Russia and that's just an opinion that they won't hit it. Germany will not go back to them, nor will the EU. Russian regime change without withdrawal from Ukraine will not change anything.
Yea plenty of talk from "experts" on here and others that the US and other nations will stop supporting Ukraine, but no evidence to show that is happening or going to happen.
Western nations have no choice but to keep up the sanctions on Russia and keep supporting Ukraine, not doing so will set a very dangerous president of Putin and Russia getting there way with this invasion.
Hmmm...
German gas storage can at best keep the country going for 2.5months in the event of Russian gas being cut off.
Even if they hit 100% storage ahead of Winter, they will start the next year with lower storage and much lower gas imports than the previous year, making it even harder to hit storage targets for the next winter. Thats why German energy officials warn that next winter could be even worse - if the gas situation doesnt improve by next summer then next winter is when the supply squeeze will really be felt.
Hard to say really, their LNG terminals are planned to kick in, in the Spring. That warning sounds more like predicting a possibility than reality.
Inflation is high everywhere in the World and it’s high here, this is not all caused by Ukraine, far from it. So quit complaining and stick on another layer this winter, buy cheaper food and use the car less, not like we have to worry about a mortar landing on our home as we sleep.
I reckon this winter will be the worst of it and it won’t be that bad, it’s never as bad as the doomsayers say.
Got to love the sense of humor
There’s no going back to them, they had their chance and even without Putin there has to be decades of showing true regime change before they will ever be trusted again. I expect Russia to collapse first, won’t be pretty but they brought it on themselves.
Relax buddy.
Im not complaining just pointing out some things.
Maybe leave your mind open to other points of view?
You have everything arseways as usual. I'm not worried about Putin being humiliated, I'm worried only about what might yet happen to the Ukrainian civil population in the event of a nuclear disaster, as any vaguely empathetic person is. Those are two very different things. Try read with an ounce of intelligence (a lot to ask, I know) and you might cop on to that
Thant's OK, but remember that piped NG may be subject to longer-term contracts, and at the moment these are at lower prices than the cost of marginal supplies, which will be largely LNG. Its the marginal cost which really matters
I get this fear of nuclear disaster but it's all moot. Showing weakness in the face of any threat merely emboldens the threat. We either abide by "live free or die" or we will inevitably end up living under the boot. If we have to risk nuclear war then so be it, they have to believe that in their heart and the only way to ensure that is to be actually be willing to accept death if the alternative is subjugation.
Putin has given the go ahead for UN's nuclear watchdog, the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) access to the Zaporizhzhia nuclear power plant.
Following emergency call between French President Emmanuel Macron and putin.
But when it looks like the power station is rigged to blow with trucks full of weapons it's a big risk,
The moment Russia looked like they were going to invade the UN or Nato should have taken over the nuclear power plants to prevent this from happening in the first place, remember when early on in the invasion the Russians dug trenchs in Chernobyl where many of them died as a result of radiation exposure,
For all we know the Russians have already decided to blow the place regardless of anything else
Which is why we can't keep appeasing these animals. It's weak and laughable leadership from the west. Putin is slaughtering innocent people and holding Europe to ransom and it's pathetic. I've a horrible feeling he'll blow the power plant and we'll still see weakness from the western leaders.