Public Pay Talks - see mod warning post 4293

Jaysus this is gone to shite. As is the modding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭Shuffl_in

If they wouldn't even consider putting the 2.5% to ballot I don't think they're going to accept 3%. I think the next offer will be structured so that those on lower pay get a greater increase.

I still think they'll drag it out until the budget as they are talking about adjusting tax brackets which may benefit middle and higher earners.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,839 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

There's only so much that can be done with targeting increases towards the lower paid, what happens when the increment bands start encroaching on the next pay scale? Then you've an issue whereby people aren't incentivised to take on additional responsibilities and and seek promotion. That's already an issue in plenty of public sector organisations and is severely hampering management and the delivery of services.

Unless you mean those in very senior positions forgoing pay increases, but to be honest that amounts to a relatively small saving in the grand scheme of things. It wouldn't change the arithmetic all that much.

It could be a divide and conquer type approach for sure. Give the lower paid more and the middle to higher less. Split the ballot if it were to happen. That's tactical. I was expecting 5 percent up front but who knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭trigger26

I don't buy the loyalty story, sounds like you don't have the cahonas to move on and despise those who do value themselves/earn decent scratch. A lot of small IT companies are being acquired these days, all that loyalty would be out the window fairly quick in a buyout. It's never been easier to join the public/civil service with an IT background, you might actually come to like those increments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭am_zarathustra

Ah look, you are moving the goalposts the whole time, the last 2 years were outliers, they skewed the cost of the public service. You were set on 17% wage inflation, then when it suited jumped to 20% pay disparity with little nuance then when that didn't actually seem true. It's like assuming that there was a massive and sustainable change to the amount of mask needed in Ireland, and saying "you see massive inflation of mask numbers between 2014 and 2021" .............do you see the same between 2014 and 2019......…

England is disfuntional. It's education system is eating itself. 1/3 of teachers leave before they hit 5 years teaching because they can't afford to be a teacher. The rates of inequality of education and retention are also appaling, it's not a place I'd be looking at copying. Cool fact, ireland underspend on education (OECD figures) and over performs internationally (Pisa Rankings); if education were a part of a business they would be up for bonuses.

You also get what you pay for. Education and medicine are global markets now, if you want to retain talent in a one of the most expensive countries in the world you will have to pay for it. Even at the rates we are currently paying both sectors are facing acute crisis.

I'm not arguing for any more than the government are offering by the way but there needs to be work done around retention in urban areas. The depth of experience and knowledge is constantly being lost, teachers and nurses do a few years and then go home so they can afford to live. This isn't sustainable long term. I dread to think how bad the next few years will be, the increase in the young population of going to push things to unsustainable levels.

It has been pointed out in here so many times how little 2 or 3% is to somebody in the role of a clerical officer or similar on the lower end of the scale and they have to get a deal across.

Leo stated back in June that they were looking at higher increases for the lower paid.

We'll see what happens but I'll be surprised if it's an across the board offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭am_zarathustra

If there are changes to tax I'd much rather see a bigger pay increase at the very bottom than anything significant for middle to high income earners, giving up a luxury us very different from struggling to keep the heating on. I'd hope our unions would back that too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭Augme

If clerical officers were getting a bigger increase its inly fair they in turn take on take on more responsibility and the work tasks they can be assigned is increased.

It would be very unreasonable to ask most clerical officers I know to add more work to their load.

It's not about them deserving more pay. It's about them struggling to put food on the table.

I think it would be very unreasonable to expect their pay to narrow towards an EOs pay while not taking on any additionally responsibilities.

Nobody is specifically talking about clerical officers. They're used as an example as they're on the lowest scale.

That shouldn't need to be spelled out to you.

Okay, just so we are absolutely clear, what exact figure relates to the "very bottom" then?

Are you asking me for the exact figures of the governments next pay offer? Leo said they were looking at greater increases for lower paid so that's what we're speculating. What I or anyone else may speculate those figures to be is irrelevant.

If you think it's impossible or unreasonable or you simply can't understand how it could be implemented I'll remind you that the last pay deal offered 1% or €500, whichever was greater. This benefited lower paid. That's not to say that's how they'll do it this time, if they do it at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭Summer2020

I'm surprised you found the time for it given your 10 year long crusade against public servants. Very sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭HartsHat

Then you'd just end up with AP/PO on strike and Fórsa not (or potentially both).

Why should EOs be exempt? If its targeted at lower grades then CO should get the largest proportional increase on a sliding scale up to SGs.

No Forsa. You could potentially have the middle and higher earners in Forsa being disgruntled if other grades were to get a higher percentage than them. A ballot for industrial action or the acceptance of a deal would hinge on this. The lower paid might be dragged out onto the pickets even though they are happy with the deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭itsallabit

In a lot of departments the only difference between EO and CO is the salary disparity not the work they do.

Do the COs outnumber the other grades in Fórsa or what are the numbers like?

IDK to be honest. I'm going to make an educated guess and say no.

That's why I think this could get messy. A CO or other low paid grade on 25K might be happy with 6 percent but an EO on 40k might not be happy with 4 percent and a HEO on 55k might not be happy with 3 percent etc.

You can see where this could go.

I'm asking what is the figure where someone is considered lower paid or not. What's the cut off point. The original post made was that the poster would prefer to see a bigger increase at the bottom than for the middle and higher earners.

I don't think it's impossible, I do think it's unreasonable to give the bottom paid a pay increase at the expense of middle and hugger income earners. If the pay rates between the grades are going to narrrow then the workload and responsibilities also have to narrow. That's the only fair outcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,042 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

It's entirely the intention of the usual suspects to destroy any thread which attempts to have a reasonable discussion of the public sector

This thread was going great until they showed up, and it's been worthless since.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,042 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Are you kidding? the most underpaid public servants are those working in IT.

I don't think they should. But the claim was that the "bottom paid" should get the largest jncrease, I don't know ow what exactly "bottom paid" constitutes in actual terms.

And in alot of Departments that isn't the case.

You do realise there's a whole cohort of staff in the civil service below the clerical officer grade?

PER already did this a few years back, any HEO getting AP loses a day's leave and has to give up flexitime. (How's that for a supposed family-friendly employer? I'm actually surprised it wasn't challenged as indirect discrimination on family/gender grounds) and between that and the PITA interview process, for a lot of people it's just not worth bothering to apply.

TBH this was a clear agenda by PER to open up more "opportunities" at AP for outsiders and the unions just let them. PSEU couldn't really complain about changes to AP grade even though it's ultimately the only promotion outlet for their members. AHCPS didn't care as their existing members weren't affected.

Higher pay for the lower paid has already been agreed upon for October. It's 1% or €500, whichever is greater. It was the same last in October 21.

Workload and responsibilities didn't change in 2021 and won't be changing this time around.

Everyone wa offered that deal. As I said, I assume in the new deal terms offered will be the same to everyone. Which is fair.

It has to be the same percentage across the board. If the CPSU was still the union of the lower paid CO's they might be successful in negotiating a higher percentage for their members. It's hard for Forsa to go back with a higher percentage for one grade than the other.