How do people feel about this one? Will it be short and sweet?
Mod warning:
https://www.boards.ie/discussion/comment/121425200/#Comment_121425200
They were different unions then, so not comparable at all.
Please do.
Like all of the grades who crossed the cpsu picket during the last strike? The pseu sailed on past their colleagues.
Absolute bollix. I'll work from home that day so.
Load of nonsense.
Posts can't be filled, particularly in Dublin but not just in Dublin.
The public sector is no longer an attractive place to work.
If you cross a picket, people have long memories and they don't forget those who betrayed them
The original offer was 4.5% (extra 2.5% on top of existing 2 x 1% increases in 2022) this year and 2.5% next year I think (which is better than 3.5% each year imo!)
The longer it gets delayed the worse things get for everyone, maybe this is what the Govt is banking on? Like the extra 2.5% now is better than 3.5% in January for people who are really struggling atm
No way in hell I'd vote for that
But I voted against the current joke of a 1% "deal" as well
Edit: typo
A 2% pay rise had been discussed for the UK public sector but it's being reported that a 5% deal will be offered next week. Nurses reporting that 5% is not acceptable.
That's not really true though, is it? Serious amount of teacher jobs going unfilled in Dublin, likewise for nurses right across the health service in Dublin. People aren't taking the jobs, despite being offered. Will you acknowledge that fact?
This is from Prime Time this week alone.
The HSE told Prime Time that due to staffing shortages, a similar curtailment of PNH services applies across the wider Community Healthcare Organisation, CHO 7 (Kildare, West Wicklow and Dublin West) and in many parts of Dublin and surrounding areas - CHO 6 (Wicklow, Dun Laoghaire and Dublin South), and CHO 9 (Dublin North city and County). In the Galway area, three areas have also removed standard public health nurse checks for a prioritisation system.
According to the latest HSE data, 240 public health nurse posts are vacant nationally – 62% of these empty posts are in the Dublin area.
These are posts that have funding allocated to them, they just can't get the staff. The evidence is that when you loose experienced staff in large urban areas, it is currently difficult to replace them with new entrants. So retention is a serious issue for the Government - and they know it.
I'll implement my own package of "reforms" at work if the government does not provide a rise which matches inflation. Inflation will apply to FF/FG and not just the little people.
It's a long time since the review clause was invoked - 11th March. The government made one offer which was never going to be accepted, promised another but fell silent. Now they're off on their holidays for a few months. There's only so long the government can ignore us before the Unions have to recommend ballots. The government can pull their finger out at any time and resolve this.
i mean look, a lot of anyone anywhere have inflated ideas of their worth. any sector.
what that has to do with *collective* decisions to strike, I'm not sure.
because what is 100% certain is that as a *collective*, the sector does not exist without us.
and in the event of an employer stonewalling pay talks they agreed to, then the idea that a collective response should be off the table is a strange one.
now: do i have issues with the unions? yep. do i think they support lower paid workers in the event of strike action enough? nope. but should they have strike action in their toolkit?
yes, quite obviously.
Ah yes the "I'm a public sector worker who doesn't want strikes so ye can all stick it up yizzer bollocks" post.
I haven't seen one of them in a while.
A lot of public sector workers think the sector will cease to exist without them if they leave. Thats not the case though. Plenty more people to take the job.
Forsa can stick any strike action up their bollicks. I wont be on a picket. Absolute nonsense.
I would rather a work to rule than strike action,, but if it's a strike we have then so be it.
More details here:
It's not just the adjusted inflation - electricity bill has basically doubled since last year, even the price of milk is 50% more expensive than last year, the real cost of living is not a 9% increase, the government in their infinite wisdom decided to continue to introduce the MUP so you can't even afford a few cans at the weekend
It's all very well for people on very generous wages to dictate the wages of the poor
But I don't want to go on strike - really does no one any good
3.5% this year and again next year should secure a deal.
What choice do they have? This Government have been ignoring them and us. As the article says the review clause was invoked when inflation was 5.6 per cent, Government responded in May, when inflation had reached 7% but it is now at 9.1 percent! They're not the shrewdest lot this government.
Hopefully it kicks them into gear.
Well now...
Public service union negotiators recommend ‘coordinated campaign’ including industrial action ballots
https://www.irishtimes.com/ireland/2022/07/15/public-service-union-negotiators-recommend-coordinated-campaign-including-industrial-action-ballots/
Another letter in today's IT:
Sir, – While it is difficult for many younger people to afford to buy or rent in Dublin in particular, this is nothing new to those of us who lived abroad in past decades. In London for many years, public sector workers, such as nurses, teachers or police, all had a salary weighting as a means to addressing the additional cost of living there, but also as a way of retaining staff. It is unfortunate that our public sector unions have not effectively advocated for this option. – Yours, etc,
Someone else who doesn't appear to be aware that the majority of teachers, gardai, civil servants, etc. don't work in Dublin and the majority of union members would vehemently oppose such a thing out of pure jealousy.
Looked up one of the "facts". You're overstating the government debt by €10bn. Plenty of money to spread around the public sector ;)
At this stage I'd take whatever the Govt is offering just to close this carcrash of a thread.
"hopefully your not an English teacher"
If you're going to have a go at someone else's grammar...
All the facts are verifiable if you look them up. Also no capital letter to start either of you're sentence . People in glass houses :) hopefully your not an English teacher.
probably the part of is that is scattershot pseudofact nonsense that has either been debunked or rightly ignored for several dozen pages now.
also the lack of any type of punctuation or spacing
What part of it is Gibberish I dare you to pick through it and tell me what part is not true. Typical head in the sand and I'm alright jack approach who cares about anyone else and then just attack the poster and not the post.
I disagree Tonesjones. Wages, certainly in hospitality, are increasing but this is only evident in like for like comparisons. If an experienced waiter left the sector, and they are replaced by a new entrant to hospitality (a frequent occurrence post-pandemic), the figures show a decline in wages. However, new entrants now are on significantly higher hourly rates than previously. Likewise, experienced staff are paid more now.
A similar discrepancy arises when people fail to take into account the rise in preference for part-time employment versus full time roles.
Your assertion that the public sector is paid 30% more than the private sector also fails to compare like with like. Without some qualification it is just not true.
At the same time, I do believe the public sector is well paid. I don't think they should be given a raise to push their salaries higher anyone else, but that everyone should get inflation-related raises to keep parity.
Yes they have its been said over and again when anyone from the government party is asked about how they will deal with the cost of living crisis
Who do you expect to read that gibberish? Please go away.
For the same reasons people stay in the private sector if they are a) unhappy and B) will be better paid in the public sector.