Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

FEC committee & final report - **UPDATE post 442**

• 15-06-2022 7:30pm
    Registered Users Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭

Did any of you get this email today?

Thank you for your expression of interest for appointment to the Firearms Expert Committee. Minister Browne wishes to express his appreciation of your interest in sharing your firearms expertise with the Minister and to thank you for the time and energy you invested in applying for appointment to the Committee.

A large number of expressions of interest for appointment to the Firearms Expert Committee. After giving them carefully consideration unfortunately, the Minister regrets to inform you that you have not been selected for appointment to the Committee.

Within the plan, Action 34.3 outlines a commitment to identify all outstanding issues requiring reform in the management and processing of firearms licensing, register of firearms dealers and inspections. In advance of any new or amending measures being introduced the Minister will be seeking to consult all relevant stakeholders.The standard of applicants was very high and the Minister hopes you will not be dissuaded from engaging with the Department on firearms matters in the future. The Firearms Expert Committee will not be the only consultation for firearms stakeholders in the coming months. The Justice Plan 2022 contains a commitment to undertake an expansive review aimed at modernising the firearms legislation. 

Having been impressed by the skills and experience of the expressions of interest received, the Minister is considering establishing new avenues for dialogue between firearms stakeholders and the Department, especially those who have unique and specialist insights into firearms matters. Therefore, I would be grateful if you could advise if we may retain your contact details to engage with you when these avenues are established.

We wish you every success in your future endeavours.

Sincerely,

Aoife Byrne

Firearms Expert Committee Secretariat.

fec@justice.ie 

The owner of the biggest range in Ireland happened to alert me to this today as he was rejected as well.,and the fact is they must have chosen these people last week to issue the rejection notices this week once everyone accepted. Be interesting to know who was handpicked for this?

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Post edited by Cass on

• Registered Users Posts: 516 ✭✭✭BSA International

I didn't but then again I didn't apply to be part of the charade......

• Registered Users Posts: 6,177 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

That is a very elaborate PFO it must be said. They put a lot of effort into that one, however with the sheer volume of thanking and plámásing in the opening paragraphs you'd just know it's building you up to a let-down.

• Registered Users Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Munsterlad102

Any idea who got the position?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Unconfirmed rumour hassit the head of IDS who is a barrister got the chair.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Pardon my ignorance, but who are IDS and should we be worried?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 1,422 Mod ✭✭✭✭otmmyboy2

Never forget, the end goal is zero firearms of any type.

S.I. No. 187/1972 - Firearms (Temporary Custody) Order - Firearms seized

S.I. No. 21/2008 - Firearms (Restricted Firearms and Ammunition) Order 2008 - Firearm types restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2009 - Firearms banned & grandfathered

S.I. No. 420/2019 - Magazine ban, ammo storage & transport restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2023 - 2023 Firearm Ban (retroactive to 8 years prior)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭clivej

When we're we not F*cked over by those in power?

Rumour control!

Apprently not according to one source! It seems NO reps from any organisation are on this list.

Fair enough,if it cuts out people with agendas.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,001 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

What makes you say that? Unfamiliar with IDS?

Unlucky Grizzly. You’re knowledge and experience definitely fits the bill. Seems they want somebody independent and unattached to any particular body.

I said there’s probably a RFD in the mix. As well as a shooter.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Aside from all the speculation here, has there been an official announcement as to the make-up of the FEC?

Nothing yet, although some in our various orgs know,but are not saying pending an official announcement.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,453 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

MODERATOR WARNING

The last five posts have been deleted. If you all want to start the mud flinging before names have even been released then take it elsewhere where that carry is not only allowed, but welcomed.

Until then mind your mouths, mind your language and if you cannot remain civil I'll remove your ability to post.

Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

Any update when the committee members will be announced?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭garrettod

With Helen McEntee having announced her second pregnancy, and intention to take full maternity leave, we might get lucky here and find that James Brown has a heavier workload coming his way, so won't be able to progress this at the rate he'd first hoped.

Thanks,

G.

From your lips to God's ears.

James Browne started this, its his baby and as he won't be directly involved (relying on the committee to inform him via regular memos) his workload won't be that much. Plus they'll bring someone else in to act as "Senior" Minister.

Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭garrettod

Hi Cass,

I'm expecting that another Minister will take on the additional responsibilities, while Helen's on mat leave - like the last time, when Heather Humphreys "double jobbed"

As for James Brown, I hear ye, but I also live in hope... as I can't see anything good coming out of this process :-)

Thanks,

G.

as I can't see anything good coming out of this process :-)

It won't. He has the bit between his teeth for some time now and if the committee is made of the names I have, we're, well as its been pointed out above by many others, fecked.

This is not simply about semi-autos. This committee is to also review the firearm acts and not for restatement purposes, that should scare everyone.

And to emphasise Cass's post.From the DOJ application formula, for those who didn't get the memo, or are still in a "be grand" mode of thinking this is what FEC's remit is;

 First meeting: Introduction of issues. Carry out an assessment of all types of firearms which are currently licenced in the State.

 Second meeting: Make recommendations based on this assessment on which types of firearms should be licensable in the State and for what purposes.

 Third meeting: Make recommendations on which types of firearms should be licensable in the State and for what purposes.

 Fourth meeting: Consider whether firearms certificates should be conditioned to specify the locations where the firearm may be used. Consider whether firearms certificates should be conditioned to limit the use of the firearm to the purpose for which the firearms certificate was sought. Consider any further matters raised by the Minister.

 Fifth meeting: Consider whether there should be a limit on the number and type of firearms a person may hold. Consider any further matters raised by the Minister.

 Sixth meeting: Finalisation of report containing recommendations on these matters. Consider any future areas of examination or further matters raised by the Minister.

4,5,&6th points. Consider any other matters raised BY the minister...IOW this committee won't even be able to point out or bring up matters unless the minister raises a specific topic. IOW the complete and utter trainwreck of previous legislation will be ignored.

Tinkering with what , more or less isn't broken in the system.

From the DoJ Website:

• Ms. Emma Meagher Neville has been selected for the position of Chairperson
    • Mr. John Guinane has been appointed to represent the Department of Justice
    • Superintendent in Crime Legal, Brian Murphy has been appointed to represent the Department of Justice
    • Mr. Paul Walsh has been selected for the positions of Ordinary Member
    • Mr. Fabian Connolly has been selected for the positions of Ordinary Member

Discuss!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭berettaman

I have no words... I am aware of the laws of libel.😲

Not surprised just sad really.

I expected nothing and I am still disappointed.

Well expected Jogn Guinane as the Depts Go to for firearms matters.

Brian Murphy...Seriously??

Don't know Emma Meagher, ...Ok a solicitor...Firearms experience?

How the Fuk does Paul Walsh get a position as being involved with SC[OVI] when the minister stated categorically that he didn't want anyone from the gun lobby involved in this committee? Its not like he is a total unknown to the DOJ in either lobbying or involvement. It's a questionable and objectionable choice.

Fabian Connolly gunsmith, good choice there.

Post edited by Grizzly 45 on

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

Please excuse my ignorance, on the face of it what's wrong with Paul Smith Walsh, surely that's someone from our camp?

Edited as per Cass's comment below.

First they came for the socialists...

Paul Walsh, not Smith. Only being pedantic because I don't want any confusion or misnomer to cause problems for someone else.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,001 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Surely you can express your opinion without defaming anyone. I don’t know any of them in detail so not sure if you are referring to something obvious.

You need to go back to 2015/16 thereabouts and see the shtstorm the Sports Colation was involved in and the backroom deals that were trying to be cut. In fact, one letter written by them was probably the whole trigger to this event we now have today.

Things like .ban on nighttime shooting /lamping.Ban of semi auto rifles, graduated licensing are just a few things that stick in my mind sofar.

Ah yeah...here we go on boards here.

If the dOJ supposedly reads our posts here,they cant have missed his name being mentioned over the years,and him being the chairman of SC??

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2057844104/sports-coalition-boycotts-fcp/p1

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭berettaman

Yes, indeed.

There is at least one name there that is a spectacularly poor choice in my opinion.

Anyone that knows the personality involved has already written off this process once they heard that he was attached to it.

As to the problem(s):

In February 2015 the so called sports coalition sent in a "secret" set of proposals to the Department of justice. Those proposals included:

• Ban all semi-autos (bar pre-1950s stuff)
    • Ban all 22lr pistols with sub 5" barrels (IIRC)
    • Ban all Night time shooting
    • Ban all 223 rifles (bolt action too)
    • Introduce time lock safes for everyone, at home
    • Ballistic testing on all firearms
    • Graduated licensing
    • Proficiency courses (as opposed to competence)

The full details are covered in many threads such as this one, this one, this one, this one, and this one. Well you get the point.

These proposals came to light in April of 2015 after they were posted on the so called coalition's website, where they remained until the site suddenly went "dark" (recently?). In September 2015 Minister Francis Fitzgerald announced her intent to ban semi-auto firearms and set up a review committee for firearm licensing.

Email,write or phone minister Browne and point out this is an abysmal choice on his part and flies in the face of his statement of 29th Sept 2021 on Newstalk radio of the committee being made of.

"Committee to be made up of Dept of Justice officials, Garda officials and two independent civilian experts, not representatives of "the gun lobby"

Be at pains to point out that this is not sour grapes or poor loser on your part,but that in light of the above statement how does he justify choosing a chairman of a registered lobby group for this position?

Mr Walshs' appointment is a shock & major disappointment considering his history in the shooting world and the DOJ statements on appointment criteria prior to announcement.

Fabian Connolly, don't think he'll do the wider shooting community any damage. He's also a black rifle shooter and international competitor afaik so may bring balance to the debate.

The rest are not going to be doing us, as a community, any favours.

Bad times ahead for our sport, as a whole, I fear 😞