Wonder if those african countries who didnt vote for Ukraine will be complaining of high food prices, we should be diverting our aid funds to Ukraine instead.
The idea that Ukraine would need to fake atrocity after atrocity in order to make the Putin regime "look bad" is nonsensical. Guess what, you bunch of murderous war criminals....you already look bad to the civilised world, Ukraine doesn't need to do anything.
Another day- Another dead high ranking Russian Military Official
This time official confirmation from Russian state media that Colonel Alexander Bespalov, the commander of the 59th Guards Tank Regiment (part of the 144th Guards Motorized Rifle Division), was killed in Ukraine.
Thank you, it was a lot worse than I described, I have left out a lot. But you have gone from 'spring day loving keyboard warrior' straight to 'you're still wrong'.
I'm repeating myself, but I think it bears repeating; Kasparov, a former Russian foreign minister, The parliament of Latvia and the Polish government - all of which have more ar stake than you or I and are far better aquainted with all things Russian/Putin than you or I - all have one thing in common; they think Putin will not start WW3 if the west calls his bluff and intervenes in Ukraine.
'The world will not be destroyed by those who do evil, but by those who watch them without doing anything.' - Albert Einstein
'he who dares, wins'
'he who hesitates is lost'
“It is hard to fail, but it is worse never to have tried to succeed.” ― Theodore Roosevelt
“What would life be if we had no courage to attempt anything?” ― Vincent Van Gogh
“A person may cause evil to others not only by his actions but by his inaction, and in either case he is justly accountable to them for the injury.” ― John Stuart Mill
“Want of foresight, unwillingness to act when action would be simple and effective, lack of clear thinking, confusion of counsel until the emergency comes, until self-preservation strikes its jarring gong - these are the features which constitute the endless repetition of history.” ― Winston S. Churchill
“Pessimism becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy; it reproduces itself by crippling our willingness to act.” ― Howard Zinn
“You have only to rest in inaction and things will transform themselves. Smash your form and body, spit out hearing and eyesight, forget you are a thing among other things, and you may join in great unity with the deep and boundless.” ― Zhuangzi
“I cannot sit idly by in Atlanta and not be concerned about what happens in Birmingham. Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere. We are caught in an inescapable network of mutuality, tied in a single garment of destiny. Whatever affects one directly, affects all indirectly.” ― Martin Luther King Jr.
“A coward dies a thousand times before his death, but the valiant taste of death but once. It seems to me most strange that men should fear, seeing that death, a necessary end, will come when it will come.” ― William Shakespeare
Do you see a common theme? Are any of these people thick? Are they keyboard warriors; is Kasparov, the Latvian Parliament, the Polish governement or Andrei Kozyrev?
I don't think sanctions will work. China and India won't abide by them. US intelligence say's Russia has only lost 20% of it's forces so far, and it's just called up 160,000 reservists on top of the latest conscription, and it can call up more. Given we are only aware of a fraction of the horrors Russia has perpetrated, I'm not happy for the world to sit on it's hands and give them the time and opportunity to do 3+ times as much again.
Sanctions never work, the only thing that will is a military deafeat of Russia in Ukraine, which I don't believe the Ukrainians can manage with just better and more guns. I have donated enough money to Ukraine for the purchase of over 5,000 rounds of AK ammunition. It might be a help, but it's only a stop-gap and it, and many more actions like it, are not a solution.
Will the RU now add Andrei to its list for roundups if he is not already on it. Fair f—ks to you
Those Azov's being bad boys in Mariupol - again.
Ya got any evidence for all that because I'm having a hard time finding info on dirty money oligarchs in his campaign. Whereas we know the Russian puppet in charge was well and truly bought with a vulgar, lavish lifestyle.
None of those quoted (including Einstein) lived to see MAD.
But you've lost the argument when you come from the position that the end of all life isn't a big deal.
I think the West should do more, but not themselves confront Putin. The West will prevail, and it will be hard for Ukraine.
I believe Putin is bluffing. Where the two of us fundamentally differ is that I think the risk of humanity ending is too high a risk.
I also think it probable humanity WILL end itself at some stage, but not 100% certain.
BTW, I don't think the West/NATO not intervening is cowardice. The West cannot police the world. More than half the world hate the West for trying this already.
Loitering weapons will be key to the fight for the Donbas, the JFO have a paucity of these, Nato had better get their ass in gear
I haven't lost the argument, because the central position is that humanity will continue because Putin is bluffing. You aren't one for taking risks and you and I will never agree, I just hope someone gets the moral courage to call the bluff and helps to kick Russia out of Ukraine before more lives are lost and suffering endured.
I do have a question for you: If the Russians set up gas chambers and incenerators and started exterminating 40m ukrainians, is there actually a point where you would say enough, or would you stick to your guns antil 40m had pershed as to you thats better than all of humanity? Do you have a number or is there no limit?
Non intervention is cowardice. After WW2, many a voice uttered 'never again', so this policeman stuff is just a trite excuse. Hatred of the West is a Russian mindset that I couldn't care less about and don't have a problem with reinforcing.
Its ok boris has arrived
i hear they are filling out the questionnaire for Ukraine to join the UK
Azov's taking out an ammunition truck with a mortar.
Saw this image on Reddit of Chechen soldiers, quiet disturbing
https://www.reddit.com/r/CombatFootage/comments/tzvdlt/after_combat_the_fate_of_women_of_ukraine/
At the first merest hint of a deviation from the Geneva Convention, other nations should have advanced into Western Ukraine and warned Putin that any first strike on them would be considered a wider war on those nations too.
If it's any consolation, I can see others getting involved soon but I don't know what flag they'll fight under. I have to admit they probably won't have to fight too much if they do move in because Russia will probably proceed with its "all going to plan" pre-arranged "withdraw/retreat" at that point. We now know that they are not a "stand and fight" army and this should be exploited.
Ursula von der Leyen's look of horror at what she was shown may be the turning point.
Western governments haven't done enough to save the suffering of all those innocent people, ergo they simply haven't done enough. Doing enough to humiliate Putin isn't enough. Perhaps they'll now do enough to end this quickly.
Are things gone a lot quieter in Kyiv the past few days? Now it appears safer for foreign leaders to visit
The EU are actively working towards elimination and have said so numerous times in the last few weeks. That is now a given, apart from maybe Hungary but who cares about them. Where are you getting these absurd conclusions from? If the West gets involved directly it will hit the world economy hard, never mind the massive uncertainty over what such an engagement would involve and the long-term fallout, political or otherwise.
Russians gonna regroup and try and advance from the east most likely. Will probably keep the odd attack on cities, maybe drop the odd group in to rape and pillage villages now and then.
At least this may make you feel better to vent even if it makes no sense. There is no magic end to this where the West surgically wipes out all the Russian weaponry from a video screen. More weapons for Ukraine will help a whole lot more and that is the main focus.
An opinion poll was done in Australia and one of the questions was about the involvement of Australian troops in an international coalition force. 36% were for it, 35% were not sure and only 28% were against. I believe that was before the Kramatorsk train station massacre or the Russian soldier, Aleksei Bychkov, posting a video of him raping a toddler.
https://www.smh.com.au/politics/federal/australians-back-support-for-ukraine-but-not-ready-to-send-soldiers-20220407-p5abqp.html
We in the West need to start treating people how they deserve to be treated and to treat loyalty with just a little bit more respect. If foreign countries are killing gays, let them pay twice as much for food elsewhere, **** 'em. Domestically too, people who call for the end of the state they live in should be fucked off. We see the Azov lads, bunch of arseholes, absolutely no doubt, but they're the ones willing to fight for their country. Yer man with the Narwhal tusk in London, he killed someone who killed the organiser of the meeting for reformed "extremists" and people got on his case about his past. The flawed (and worse, there are scum around) people who will fight to the death to defend us are our brothers whether we like it or not. The people who actively undermine our culture, values and future existence of our states are our enemies.
Priorities need to shift and realign.
You don't have the moral high ground. Why have you only now decided NATO/The West should intervene in world affairs. Where have you called for attacks on North Korea, China, South American or a raft of African countries? Do you not think the abuses going on in Ukraine aren't going on in the above countries over a longer period of time.
You've lost the argument because you don't value human life as a whole.
China are pretty much doing the atrocities you envision for Ukraine to their Muslim countrymen. Where's the outrage there? Is it only cowardice when it's white people?
NATO are not cowards, they refuse to risk all their own people for other people.
Your not in your 50s, so in your 60s minimum. You've had a life span, with the not best years ahead... maybe it gets easier to risk other lives/including your own as you get older.
It's quite amazing to watch these butt munchers talk as if they think anyone believes them
https://youtu.be/h19HFztTScQ
There is absolutely no doubt in my mind that you are correct there. What is being done to Ukraine right now by Russia proves how right the Baltic nations, Poland, Romania etc were in all joining NATO.
Poor old Kremlin mouthpiece Solovyov seems to have gone stark raving mad on state TV. Is he on drugs or something? He appears positively certifiable. There definitely seems to be something weird going on inside the regime : first, Zakharova appearing plastered at a press conference and now this nutcase.
Ya can see everyone basically laughing at him. Russians aren't stupid, they're choosing what to "believe". We should never lose sight of that.
The question of course is, what will be the consequences for both Russia and it's debtors?
First two nuclear power plants, then an Ammonia plant, now an nitric acid tank, they like trying to blow all sorts of deadly things into the air...