1000 anti tank missiles & 500 stingers
You don't need " ties to Ukraine " to want to help their resistance.!
Reuters reporting Germany in favour of excluding Russia from Swift.
Orban has complied, many hours ago. Keep up or keep head buires in sand. Whichever suits you agenda.
Yup they will likely fire them into civilian occupied cities which is quite simply a war crime to use this weapon on civilians.
German support
Germany has approved the deliveries of 400 anti-tank rocket launchers to Ukraine in a U-turn from its longstanding policy of banning weapon exports to conflict zones, reports AFP.
“Given the Russian attack on Ukraine, the government is prepared to release urgently needed material for the defence of Ukraine,” a German government source said in a statement.
The anti-tank launchers will be delivered through the Netherlands, and will join 14 armoured vehicles already approved for Ukraine.
Up to 10,000 tonnes of fuel will also be provided.
Kyiv has for weeks been pleading with Germany to send armaments to help it to face down an invasion by Russia.
Berlin’s obstinate refusal until now to approve weapon deliveries, and a previous decision to send only 5,000 helmets, had sparked anger and mockery.
I have read it is hungary holding it up that everyone else are ready to kick them out
Unlikely to see the women's council out looking for equality on this one.
So everyone reporting it is wrong?
Not good..
Great news if it was true. Unfortunately it is false.
Looks like my countrymen are finally pulling up their pants and closing their legs though. Announcement just in via Chancellor Olaf Scholz's official Twitter account that Germany will be dispatching 1000 of its own anti-tank weapons and 500 Stinger missiles to Ukraine. Tweet in German, obviously.
They don't have much choice. It was made illegal for any male aged 18-60 to leave Ukraine. Though to be fair, they seem on board with defending their homeland.
Did you see what he was carrying over his shoulder. Good bit of kit eh ?
Just point and shoot, even Stevie Wonder could not miss
I don't think that is fair in all situations.
My dad was a prisoner in the first gulf war it was literally the only source of information my mum and ourselves had at the time.
It wrecks the business reputation of countries like Britain to seize assets of Russian millionaires.
They didn't have to let dodgy Russian millionaires set up shop in London in the first place but since they did do that to just confiscate their assets - and the UK is not at war with Russia - is arbitrary and treacherous. It's quite wrong. Just send them home with their roubles if their presence is no longer tolerable.
I'm sorry for Ukrainians but I don't want Ireland used as a vehicle for Ukrainian nationalism.
Ireland is its own country with its own interests.
To be fair to Germany, there is a little bit of history there what with getting involved with Russia. And for arms exports in general I think they have strict controls on it - again mainly for historical reasons.
Don't mention the war. I almost mentioned it once, but I think I got away with it.
The Germans have been very shady in all of this. My read is they have been Putin's bitches for a while. When the dust settles, questions must be asked.
I suppose it's one step up from helmets - which is all they were sending a week after Boris was all but driving the forklift himself, that was loading Javelins onto a military plane heading to Ukraine, weeks before the invasion. Now the Germans have caught a whiff of the mood and direction of the wind. Better late than never, I guess.
Might I remind you, a day ago, Germany opposed excluding Russia from the Swift banking system.
Germany was warned many times, and very loudly, not to go ahead with Nordstream 2 and make themselves Putin's bitch.
Oh for sure it's an embarrassment. But they are starting to get 'serious' rolling in much better equipment
Looking at Tokmak we can see the more advanced troops in BTR-82a's and the TOS-1 thermobaric weapon systems will soon enter the frontlines behind the T-72's
https://twitter.com/IntelCrab/status/1497621347266088960
Look, I am quite sure there are Irish eejits in US bars going on about how great our country is and how we do things so well, and yet they're in the US. Eejits are universal.
On a practical level I’d be on the blower Monday morning to immigration to have these crowd checked out- if they’re legal and all then they’ll have nothing to worry about. An anonymous tip off to the Gardai would also be no harm so they can be investigated fully- this is war and I’d very very suspicious of those talking like this.
This is war. Ah jaysus. Let's all relax the kaks there. Anonymous tip to the Guards? 🤣 We only found out last year that there are at least 17,000 illegal immigrants, I'm sorry, 'undocumented' in Ireland. The Guards are about as much use as tits on a bull in such matters and our government is hellbent on fasttracking these 'undocumented' after years of illegally living here. And yes these Russians, they're legal. With good jobs too.
Mad seeing all the refugees pouring into Poland. All women and children, men staying behind to fight, the way it should be.
I'd prefer to see them take the money off Oligarchs (many of whom basically stole their wealth from the Russian people) rather that by taking money directly from the ordinary Russian people
I wonder will this lead to regime change in Belarus? Especially is Putin is overthrown. The sanctions on the CB if followed through might do for him.
I see that they are still opposed to kicking the Russians out of SWIFT. Somebody needs to have a word here, its not good enough!
First Gulf War media solidified it. It stared during the Vietnam War. We are all guilty onlookers.
Eh, they've just lifted the block on German weapons being exported to Ukraine plus they've cancelled Nord Stream 2.
I think Russia probably learned a harsh OPSEC lesson from the 2014 war. Idiot Russian troops who were supposed to be posing as Donbas locals were posting themselves and Russian army gear all over social media.
Adolf was ranting about his "Wunderwaffen" in 1945 yet by the end of April that year he was chewing on his Walter PPK.