That is definelty an exaggeration.
You are also mainly looking at popular English language social media posts that all sympathise with Ukraine.
On top of that, no one can really get an accurate picture of the losses suffered by both sides due to a whole host of things such as Propaganda, misinformation etc.
Looking at more specialist equipment tracking social media accounts it would suggest that losses are relatively even https://www.oryxspioenkop.com/2022/02/attack-on-europe-documenting-equipment.html
How many does it take to wipe out most of America and Western Europe? (I don't actually know but I'm sure it's only a small fraction of the total)
Here it is about 50km from the Chernobyl reactor
https://maps.app.goo.gl/BPWEUwxDAYVMmzxy9
Maybe they had planned for and expected Kiev to fall quickly? The next lot of riot ( or any ) Police will not be so anxious to be the first to arrive, I'd say. Ditto airborne units.
Germany stinks to high heaven. Angela Bloody Merkle and her cosying up the Russia with Nordstream 2. All that Gas and stuff the Germans have been buying from Russia - those are the funds enabling Putin to look good and the engage in attrocities like this and to pay the wages of the 2 million security police who jump on all public protests in Russia.
Sometimes it really hits you what a mad job being a news reporter in the middle of a warzone is, seeing the SKY News reporter hearing the sirens going off behind him and saying to camera, "So I, eh, might put some more protection on, and see you after the break..."
I think it is fair to say that losses being "even" is still an embarrassment for the Russians?
The impression we had beforehand was that they were just going to saunter in and liberate the Ukranian people from the drug addicts and Nazis in charge
It is better than killing their soldiers in a war. Destroying the wealthy lifestyle of anyone who made their money out of Russia is effective way rather than hitting the poor people in the country. Under Putin it is austerity for all Russians untill they get the balls to over throw him.
Sanctions should specifically be aimed at the wealthy and Destroying their lifestyle.
No wealthy Russian allowed in a western airports. If they want to get from London to Moscow let them do a 24h boat and train ride.
Adolf was ranting about his "Wunderwaffen" in 1945 yet by the end of April that year he was chewing on his Walter PPK.
I think Russia probably learned a harsh OPSEC lesson from the 2014 war. Idiot Russian troops who were supposed to be posing as Donbas locals were posting themselves and Russian army gear all over social media.
Eh, they've just lifted the block on German weapons being exported to Ukraine plus they've cancelled Nord Stream 2.
First Gulf War media solidified it. It stared during the Vietnam War. We are all guilty onlookers.
I see that they are still opposed to kicking the Russians out of SWIFT. Somebody needs to have a word here, its not good enough!
I wonder will this lead to regime change in Belarus? Especially is Putin is overthrown. The sanctions on the CB if followed through might do for him.
I'd prefer to see them take the money off Oligarchs (many of whom basically stole their wealth from the Russian people) rather that by taking money directly from the ordinary Russian people
Mad seeing all the refugees pouring into Poland. All women and children, men staying behind to fight, the way it should be.
Look, I am quite sure there are Irish eejits in US bars going on about how great our country is and how we do things so well, and yet they're in the US. Eejits are universal.
On a practical level I’d be on the blower Monday morning to immigration to have these crowd checked out- if they’re legal and all then they’ll have nothing to worry about. An anonymous tip off to the Gardai would also be no harm so they can be investigated fully- this is war and I’d very very suspicious of those talking like this.
This is war. Ah jaysus. Let's all relax the kaks there. Anonymous tip to the Guards? 🤣 We only found out last year that there are at least 17,000 illegal immigrants, I'm sorry, 'undocumented' in Ireland. The Guards are about as much use as tits on a bull in such matters and our government is hellbent on fasttracking these 'undocumented' after years of illegally living here. And yes these Russians, they're legal. With good jobs too.
Oh for sure it's an embarrassment. But they are starting to get 'serious' rolling in much better equipment
Looking at Tokmak we can see the more advanced troops in BTR-82a's and the TOS-1 thermobaric weapon systems will soon enter the frontlines behind the T-72's
https://twitter.com/IntelCrab/status/1497621347266088960
I suppose it's one step up from helmets - which is all they were sending a week after Boris was all but driving the forklift himself, that was loading Javelins onto a military plane heading to Ukraine, weeks before the invasion. Now the Germans have caught a whiff of the mood and direction of the wind. Better late than never, I guess.
Might I remind you, a day ago, Germany opposed excluding Russia from the Swift banking system.
Germany was warned many times, and very loudly, not to go ahead with Nordstream 2 and make themselves Putin's bitch.
The Germans have been very shady in all of this. My read is they have been Putin's bitches for a while. When the dust settles, questions must be asked.
To be fair to Germany, there is a little bit of history there what with getting involved with Russia. And for arms exports in general I think they have strict controls on it - again mainly for historical reasons.
Don't mention the war. I almost mentioned it once, but I think I got away with it.
It wrecks the business reputation of countries like Britain to seize assets of Russian millionaires.
They didn't have to let dodgy Russian millionaires set up shop in London in the first place but since they did do that to just confiscate their assets - and the UK is not at war with Russia - is arbitrary and treacherous. It's quite wrong. Just send them home with their roubles if their presence is no longer tolerable.
I'm sorry for Ukrainians but I don't want Ireland used as a vehicle for Ukrainian nationalism.
Ireland is its own country with its own interests.
I don't think that is fair in all situations.
My dad was a prisoner in the first gulf war it was literally the only source of information my mum and ourselves had at the time.
Did you see what he was carrying over his shoulder. Good bit of kit eh ?
Just point and shoot, even Stevie Wonder could not miss
They don't have much choice. It was made illegal for any male aged 18-60 to leave Ukraine. Though to be fair, they seem on board with defending their homeland.
Looks like my countrymen are finally pulling up their pants and closing their legs though. Announcement just in via Chancellor Olaf Scholz's official Twitter account that Germany will be dispatching 1000 of its own anti-tank weapons and 500 Stinger missiles to Ukraine. Tweet in German, obviously.
Great news if it was true. Unfortunately it is false.
Not good..
So everyone reporting it is wrong?
Unlikely to see the women's council out looking for equality on this one.