I can say the general public were equally at risk of exposure to the virus as clinical staff who were working with people who had already contracted the virus.
You asked me a question about whether I was working in a clinical setting and I told you I wasn’t. That is completely unrelated to the point being that I have no idea of my own exposure to the virus because I could have no idea of my own exposure to the virus.
Healthcare workers being complacent about their own exposure to the virus is a different point entirely again.
and Neither did a good percentage of the Hse ….
Hence why the payment is only being given to a selected group who work for the HSE, those who work in high risk clinical areas.
https://www.hpsc.ie/a-z/respiratory/coronavirus/novelcoronavirus/surveillance/covid-19casesinhealthcareworkers/HCW_report_20%2001%202021_1.0_website%20version.pdf
How many Hse workers worked everyday with Covid patients… fuk all in comparison to your making out ……I’d say the dunnes stores workers probably dealt with more people with Covid than the Hse staff did, not realizing it and only wearing a cheap mask… not all the expensive ppe gear wore by Hse staff and paid for by taxpayer …so stop with all your precious Hse staff shite . the ones In Hse who did work in a&e and the Covid wards…. I have nothing but the highest respect for them… they deserve more than 1k…. the other good majority who weren’t… they should t get a penny if no one else outside of Hse is
As informative as the study is Dav, it doesn’t address the point I made. The purpose of the study was to reinforce the need for adequate health and safety arrangements and provision of PPE for essential workers, especially in the health and social care sectors -
This is an observational study, and therefore can’t establish cause. And the authors acknowledge that their initial background data were collected more than a decade ago, so they were unable to account for any changes in health, lifestyle, income and employment status. The UK Biobank is also not representative of the broader population.
Nor were the researchers able to take account of the changes in risk over time, such as the availability of personal protective equipment (PPE). Nevertheless, the findings echo those of other studies, they point out.
And they conclude: “Our findings reinforce the need for adequate health and safety arrangements and provision of PPE for essential workers, especially in the health and social care sectors. The health and wellbeing of essential workers is critical to limiting the spread and managing the burden of global pandemics.”
Even considering the initial background data they used is 10 years out of date, I don’t think you would find anyone who would argue the necessity for for adequate health and safety arrangements and provision of PPE for essential workers, especially in the health and social care sectors.
I don’t think anyone would seriously argue that the work of clinical staff should go unrecognised either. My only point is that the current proposals by Cabinet as a means of recognition of their work and their work alone, is a terrible idea.
You understand that the Government has said ONLY those HSE workers who work in high risk clinical areas will be entitled to the payment. Those who do not, will not get the payment.
well the articles I’ve read regarding it seems to say all frontline staff…. I.e all non admin staff I assume..and as I’ve already stated ..: not all frontline staff in Hse had the same level of risk … I see the army who attended are even goin to get it..: even though most did what they do best… stand around doing f all…
if u are right and only the ones who were dealing directly with infected patients get it.. then I’m totally behind it
Let's give it to the Prison Officers also, and the Court Officials while we're at it. Gardai getting as bad as the teachers now with the grubby paws out all of the time.
The thought has occurred to me on more than one occasion that it would be a terrible legacy of the pandemic if the only surviving evidence of humanity left, were the lads who had spent their whole lives preparing by self-isolating in their mothers basement.
Were it feasible, I’d have been doing the same thing myself until all this had blown over.
I agree fully with you. Thankfully I've a PS job that gets me up and out every morning.
(We don’t really, we still have to wear the face underpants 😒)
Won't get it myself. Can't really argue about it either. Had a handy number for approx 9 months last year, very rarely had to deal with the public due to closed offices and wages still arrived on time every two weeks plus savings increased.
Not expecting a bonus and won't be looking for one either. Am old enough to remember pay cuts approx 10 years ago and know that money recklessly paid out now will have to be repaid.
Bonus should apply to nursing/medical/ambulance personnel and everyone else in the PS should be thankful they have a job.
As a nurse, I'd much prefer better wages, more staff, safer working environments. As it is, we're underpaid, understaffed and working in a country where it has one of the highest cases of covid positive healthcare workers in Europe. America is scrambling to find 1.1million nurses this year to avoid a nursing shortage, and Canada's not doing any better. And like many others have voiced out, there are many other workers who are left out from this bonus. It's an unfortunate situation that is making a lot of people frustrated.
ok to be honest i dont think any rewards are necessary as the were doing thei job and it was a bit busier than usual according to the MSM its all but disappeared today even the covid passes makes you wonder..............out loud..??
this is exactly where we re at, in regards our health system, just fcuking pay them better, and give them more paid time off ffs!
No but some were working behind a till with no ppe encounter the general population who might or might not be infected.
This is the most ignorant thing I've real all week. The pandemic may be over for the rest of Ireland but me (HSE worker) will be in work, 36 hours in the next 3 days in full PPE dealing with covid as we have done for the last two years. To compare that to someone working in dunnes is, frankly, retarded.
Early lockdowns meant the only people working were Gardai and people in the medical field. Why shouldn't gardai get it?
Because they are Gardai and not frontline medical care workers who worked all day in high risk clinical areas with infected patients, presumably.
It works out at around €10 per week for the healthcare staff, let it go, don’t begrudge them the money for the job they did. Most, if not all non health care staff would have **** themselves having to work in the conditions they did, particularly in the pre-vaccine period, most still don’t want to go back into crowded workplaces, but it’s only a few PS/CS types who are bleating about the unfairness of it all. Move on, take the bank holiday, enjoy life now that restrictions have ended, many hospitality/leisure industry works are going to be looking forward to their first full pay checks in nearly two years. The treatment of Covid patients will continue to be a risk for hospital staff for months or years to come, it hopefully won’t affect the rest of us as much going forward.
Wrong. Plenty working during the early lockdowns not just Gardai.
However the only ones that still should get it imo are those actually dealing with Covid and patients.
I'm delighted frontline health workers are getting it and equally delighted that GP's are not.
Most GP's are still only taking phone consultations unless it's urgent and even then if it is urgent they're referring you on to hospital.
I had to got to A&E twice over the Christmas period for things that could have easily been treated by GP. I agree with a poster above that they put the HSE under extra pressure rather than easing it. They also made a fortune from the vaccine rollout.
I work for a healthcare company in a Finance role and I have colleagues asking are we getting it.
For what? Sitting at home doing your job and saving on petrol and toll charges?
There are a quite a lot of people I know who have saved a fortune due to the pandemic but they still have their hand out for more. I include teachers in that. I know one who has saved enough for a deposit on a house!
Hilarious to hear the Gardai looking for the payment. They stood on the roads stopping and interrogating people going to work. Remember when they set up a checkpoint on the M7 at 7am holding up half the country.
Absolute gobshites.
The only people who should be getting this payment is nurses and nurses only. Doctors are paid enough. Nurses only, everyone else fcuk off.
Eh, GPs really didn’t, the vaccine payment was around €35, roughly half the fee for a GP visit and up until the 15min monitoring period was removed, it meant a limited number of patients (due to social distancing) were in the clinics for up to 30 mins to receive a vaccine. Compared to a normal morning or afternoon clinic, most GPs, including the ones who work in my Clinic lost money on vaccination sessions. I know it is easier to believe it was a money spinner, I can assure you that they would have earned more seeing patients for other ailments.
There was no-one in the clinics because they weren't seeing people, you're not getting the point at all. It takes 2 minutes tops to give the vaccine, not the same length as a consultation and the patient doesn't have to sit in the doctors office for the 15 minutes.
Up to 30 minutes to receive the vaccine, LoL.
clinics made plenty of money on vaccination clinics.
Two minutes you say, the after jab monitoring was 15 mins, before vaccination each person had to attend, read and sign the consent form, wait their turn, get the jab, then wait afterwards. Due to social distancing only a small number could enter the clinic at any one time. Perhaps a quarter of the normal patients seen per session, at half the price per visit, you do the math.
I've just explained that the 15 minute monitoring period is not spent in the doctors office, you obviously didn't read my post.
Where are they monitored?