Anyone know what is his medical exception?
Are people not allowed to be sceptical about vaccines or is it just anyone who makes a different choice than you or has opinions that you don't agree that should be barred from entering certain countries to pursue their livelihood?
Your comment above confirms the attitude of covid maximalists and vaccine absolutists which is in lock step with the Australian immigration minister, that Djokovic should be punished not because he wasn't vaccinated but because he expressed opinions which they don't agree with and therefore should be punished to assuage your neurosis.
Again, for the purposes of clarity and to avoid spreading any misinformation. Can you confirm the reasons why Djokovic was deported from Australia?
What exactly is he being punished for? Is it because he made a different choice than you about what he decides to do with his own body that requires this punishment?
Djokovic, entered the country on a legally valid visa which was upheld by a judge. This was also upheld by a judge, are you saying that you have different information to the Australian courts?
listen, Novac isn't special. He lied on his visa application. That is sufficient grounds on its own to deport. Take your nose out of his arse for just a second and stop losing your **** about a poxy tennis player.
I think when slideways referred to the 'libs' he meant the Liberal Party of Australia who are in government at the moment.
Not liberally minded people, who are unlikely to be found in the Australian Liberal Party.
In that case, can you tell me the exact reasons, which the Australian immigration minister was provided to give under law, for his deportation???
not the only reason, no. It is enough reason on it's own to deport him.
It was acknowledged by the Australians that he was not a threat to public health. He reason he was deported, which the immigration minister was provided to give under law, was that he was a threat to public order and might excite anti-vaccine sentiment. His deportation was nothing to do with public health and purely for political reasons.
That wasn't the reason for his deportation so your point is meaningless.
This is the problem with how anti-vaxxers present their argument. They want to make up their own rules right now and will say anything to justify their stance instead of lobbying to get the rules changed and waiting like everyone else.
I still remember the post from a few pages back saying this isnt fair on poor djokovic - society should decend into anarchy and I dont care who's granny dies for it 🤣. Proper loopy stuff.
Djokovic can afford to take a year out until the rules are relaxed around vaxxines (I think this is how long it will take before he can travel freely to slams un vaxxed without having to lie / cheat his way in).
He got his punishment and he deserved it. He'll be grand. Time to get over it.
If I had to guess I think restrictions will be lighter by time french open comes round, but we will see
He lied in his visa application. He's one of the most famous anti-vaxxers in the world.
You let him in you are telling all anti-vaxxers that it's perfectly fine to lie about things to get your way.
It was a sensible decision to refuse him entry.
You clearly do not understand what liberal means.
The story is done and dusted here. The libs will claim it as a win for them and take some of the heat off them for the RAT clusterfcuk
Serbs him right.
As I said, his comments and opinions on vaccination were well known for ages. He wouldn't have made it as far as the airplane if that was the ONLY rationale for his deportation.
Yes.
I'm sorry, there's no comparison. Celebrating a successful Irish athlete even when questions are starting to be asked is not remotely the same thing as objecting to investigations, criticising legal proceedings or accusing other governments of victimising your athlete.
Countries lining up to ban him. Just shows what a tool he has made of himself.
No doubt someone among his team of high IQ individuals will figure out that he has the connections to get his hands on vaccine documentation regardless of whether he takes a vaccine or not. He will turn up in Paris with proof of vaccine Id bet.
I'm disappointed we didn't get to see him compete and see who is the greatest ever. Ruined because of covid. It's bullshit lads, bull shiiit.
like throwing a ball to a basset hound on a beach
That's one word for your dear Djokovic.
pathetic
bottom line - tennis or ego tennis or ego... ummm.. 🤔🤔🤔... nope, ego,. not taking vaccine.. bye bye 21st grand slam... see you in 2026 Oz - nope - i'll be too old bye then.. shite.. 😔
I guess they never thought about his admitted fact he ignored social distancing rules and isolation rules (even in Serbia is own country with all those people that love him) while he was covid positive and awaiting the results (or maybe not) of a PCR covid test.
So if ignored the rules in his own country, why should Australia allow someone like that into their state to possibly forment similar behaviour.
I find it enlightening how pro Djokovic supporters try and play it he only broke one rule or only did one bad thing.
Of course they never seem to put all the lies, the bad behaviour, the omissions, the errors in judgement together to get the full picture.
WTF ?
Yeah I guess the Croats, the Bosniacs, the Kosovans were an inconsiderate bunch and should have just put up with the ethnic clensing, the mass rapes, the mass slaughters and just let the Serbs run things. 🙄
I dispair that we are going full backwards as a race.
loll.... 🤣🤣🤣 well i'm still singing.. as is Nadal et al.. is Djok...? doubt it... aweeeee.. sniff sniff.. lol... "your not singing, your not singing" etc.. lol.. no French Open for him either yikes.. ekk.. and bye bye 21st grand slam.. awwweee... and the Oz tournament will go on and it will be amazing 😁
he lied on his visa application.
Nothing concerning about any of it.
AND comments he has made about the contracts given to the australian mine companies rio tinto in serbia !!
https://firstsportz.com/tennis-novak-djokovic-backs-the-growing-protests-in-serbia-over-the-rio-tinto-mining/
The reason for cancelling Djokovic's visa was not because he wasn't vaccinated. It was acknowledged he was not a threat to public health, it was also acknowledged that there is no vaccination requirement to enter Australia, and agreed that he entered the country on a legally valid visa. The reason the minister gave for deporting Djokovic, which he was required under the law to provide, was that by virtue of his previously stated views about vaccines, which he expressed in April 2020 on a FB live feed before a covid vaccine was even available, was that he was considered be a threat to public order because his presence might excite anti vaccine sentiment. Despite entering Australia for no other reason other than to compete in a tennis tournament which he had competed in an won 9 times in 12 years, Australia decided that he should be deported not for his vaccination status but for political opinions made almost two years ago which they considered to be "dangerous". The fact that people are cheering this decision is concerning.