It does the heart good to see some of these folks getting hauled before the courts.
Utterly bonkers defense from this lad
Anyone know of others?
Threadbans
Tonesjones
brenbrady
Former election candidate up in court
What does that have to do with the thread topic?
We didn't hear much of this reported in these parts. But hey, when you're of a certain political persuasion it's always a meek apology followed by "lessons learned". Until next time of course, and then it's just rinse and repeat. Next up - Climate Change.
Aaaand another one loses their case
Worker’s dismissal for spitting after being reminded of social distancing is upheld
Galway muppet facing 20 years conviction in the US
RTE news : Galway man faces jail for 'assault' on NY flight
Golfgate finally makes it to the courts
These folks are certainly having a hard time of it
And contempt of court!
It's generally considered impolite to criticise the recently dead.
Try reading my post again.
How insulting to insinuate that Joe wasn't making his own decision.
You obviously didn't see the videos. That poor lad only left the hospital after a serious amount of coercion.
Find it odd how much sympathy was given towards that Joe guy when he died. No he wasn't tricked by the Italian guy. Joe made his own decision. He was an anti vaxxer and was previously seen beside that twat Ben Gilroy.
Why the sympathy when he dies from a decision he made? Italian guy didn't force him or physically sign him out, Joe himself did.
Is this not "racist nonsense" using your own standards?
I believe on that same day of the woman's sentence, an IT worker who made child abuse material and was caught with nearly 2000 such images "continues towards" rehabilitation rather than be sent to jail........ there is a particular sort who will tie themselves in knots to refrain from having to acknowledge how ridiculous this sentence is as well as the justice system
Jaysus, the anti-mask lads are really REALLY bad at this lol
This lad claimed discrimination on the basis of disability but offered zero proof that he actually had a disability.
Hilarious stuff altogether lol.
No, different case. Follow the link.
This is the guy who got the guy out of hospital who subsequently died of covid, right. I would have thought this was the thing that he got charged for, and not the relatively trivial offense of travelling more than 5km
Oh Ireland.
Attack a transgender sex worker with a knife. No prison time. Man (23) given suspended sentence for knife attack on escort (irishtimes.com)
Batter and attempt to suffocate your wife. No prison time. Suspended sentence given for violent attack on wife | Southern Star
Rape an 8 year old. No prison time. Criticism after teen gets suspended sentence for raping eight-year-old niece - Cork Beo
Stab someone at a children's birthday party. No prison time. Suspended sentence for drunken party stabbing (irishtimes.com)
Not wearing a mask!? Six months in jail for you!
The court previously heard that Ms Buttimer has refused to have a Covid vaccination and that she visits her elderly mother without putting on a mask.
Seriously, what the actual fudge is wrong with people like this.
Hill, not cross! Don't be feeding their Messiah complexes!
Agree with the judge that it is a sad story indeed. Having lived peacefully and abided by the law for 65 years this is the cross she decided to die on? And this is how she'll be remembered by family and friends.
Maybe not mentally ill in a medical sense, but they’re a danger to themselves and others around them. They are deeply disturbed people lacking in empathy, selfish and brainwashed by far right/nazi propaganda.
Six months custodial sentence and a further six months suspended for multiple charges of refusing to wear a mask...
https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/district-court/judge-criticises-absurd-selfishness-of-woman-with-eight-convictions-for-not-wearing-mask-1.4757365
Neo Facist?
Is that the guy from the Matrix? 😉
It's the usual stuff from liberals, they go on about tolerance and acceptance - except people with different opinions of course - they should be denied medical treatment, lose their jobs, and be put in camps...
They don't see they are the real neo fascists...
Just incase anyone missed this one
She's appealing it so more to come
Fully accept that may not be how the law is implemented but it is how its written.
I didn't imply that all antivaxxers are mentally ill, I said this one person seems to have issues, based on his actions (contract written in red ink, the way he spoke about the courts not having authority over him and encouraging a seriously ill man to refuse treatment). While I don't agree with antivaxxers, everyone is entitled to make choices for themselves and it doesn't mean that they are mentally ill.
@swampy353 I understand what you're saying, but your reading of the law doesn't reflect how it is actually used (or not) in practice. I believe this because I've been personally involved in trying to get someone involuntarily admitted. The bar is incredibly high and there's just no way someone with weird opinions and antisocial behaviour is going to qualify.
I also think it's a bit disrespectful of antivaxxers to classify their fringe opinions as mental illness. Many of us know people who would buy into some or all of that guy's views, but they're not mentally ill and neither do they have a personality disorder. They're just wrong.
Ireland's attitude to metal illness has become a lot more supportive over the last few years, and that's very welcome, but let's not take from that by responding to every act of public idiocy with the offer of mental health supports.
Jim Corr complained to the Press Council about being called an "online quack". Jim loses, turns out its entirely correct to refer to him as an online quack