Yep that’s right.
the difference is whether the positive case isolated from the rest of the family or not. 14 days restricted movement if the positive case isolated, (or day 10 negative test) or 17 days if the positive case did not isolate.
I don't know if that has changed lately, but this is the advice I was directed to...
Now...you're not wrong. I know of 2 families told 17 days at home for negative siblings.But I also know of at least 2 other families told 10 days at home, with a neg test on day 0 and day 10 and that is it.I am aware of one school accepting the kids back with proof of the 2 tests but they must be 10 days apart.
So go figure. I am not disputing with either of you by the way, you are both correct. I am just pointing out that conflicting advice is being out and for my own case, wondering do I bother with Day 10 tests at all, particularly under the new criteria for PCR tests for 4-39 year olds.
I’ve had a few positive antigens today, what kind of leave is available to teachers? Also, I assume I need a confirmatory PCR test to obtain this leave?
Obtain? Strange choice of wording.
What age are you?
35, why is that relevant?
sorry I should have used a better word. If there is covid leave, Do I need a positive PCR test to qualify for it?
Pretty sure you have to show proof of a positive pcr for covid leave. Otherwise it will be sick leave.
Is it 17 days isolation for kids in a home with a covid positive adult???
It’s 17 days for anyone unvaccinated in a home with a positive case that they can not isolate from. It doesn’t matter whether the positive is an adult or a child.
Up until now the text you receive (positive or negative) qualifies you for covid leave up until result, if positive you then qualify for covid leave for 10 days I'd assume. Although with the new advice regarding antigen testing for 4-39yo before going for a PCR I've no idea.
Is it 17 days from onset of symptoms or from PCR?
Onset of symptoms, or from positive pcr if the case is asymptomatic.
Thank you! So seen my husband started showing symptoms and presuming he tests positive on PCR my kids won't be able to go back to school until the 17th of Jan...
If he can isolate from them they do 14 days (or until they have results of the day 10 pcr). Otherwise, yeah, it’s 17. It’s a pain, because it’s a full week after the positive person, and you can’t just have someone else mind them.
Its much of a muchness! The 14 days would end on the Friday and the 17 on the Monday...so it don't matter too much! He won't be isolating from us as I'd rather we all get it together if we are going to get it. No I can't get anyone else to mind them but shur it is what it is. Now to tell my principal I more than likely won't be back to school until the 17th of Jan!
Edited to add maybe the antigen is wrong and hubby will test negative on PCR!!!
Under 40 from Minday just need an antigen is my understanding
If you are vaccinated you can go back sooner than that. Though not if you need to be home for childcare, of course.
The contact tracer who rang me gave me all the above info, I don’t know if they have as much time for answering questions now though.
I'm fully vaccinated and boosted but the kids can't mind themselves as you say! I have no other childcare options with this so it'll be myself and my husband. But we shall see what Tuesdays announcement brings. It might be irrelevant!
Check hse re household contacts there is different advice for household contacts re restricted movements based on whether you are vacc and or have booster . Best case scenario is 5 days with 3 neg antigens and no symptoms. Though this will be updated on Mon . Covid leave covers isolating while waiting on a test , restricted movements as a close contact as outlined by PH and or covid positive. If you are due to return sooner and are unable to do so due to childcare then you will need to avail of other leave.
Thanks lulublue. If its 5 days from positive PCR result I'll be unable to return to work next week. If we have to go to school. I will have to stay home and mind my kids so I'll take illness in family leave. I am not going to take covid leave if I don't have to. My husband will be able to work from home next week but will have to return to office on the 10th so I'll have to be home with the kids. I'm sure I'm not the only parent who is a teacher in this situation. I will just wait and see what the new guidance is on Monday and what the announcement brings on Tuesday!
@lulublue22 just read the hse advice and its currently restricted movements for 5 days once u received a text from the HSE. So that could be Monday or Tuesday. Its 10 days if you haven't had your booster
Yes though I have a feeling it could change on Mon to isolate from a positive antigen as pcrs are so difficult to get. We are going tru it at the moment and all contact is via text - no phone calls as was previously the case - just links to guidance with the proviso that new guidance is due on Jan 3rd and will be updated then. Guess we’ll just have to wait and see.
Thats it. The isolation period for us is fine its the kids one that will cause my work related problems. But in the grand scheme of things it'll be fine. Once noone is too sick we should be all on the mend by this time next week!
Hopefully it will be a mild dose for ye. We’ve one positive here so far hoping it stays that way.
Thanks! And like that hopefully itll be mild. I am very rarely sick so we shall see. I actually can't remember the last time I was really ill but hubby would get these type of doses most winter.
I'm assuming the schools will be heading back on Thursday at this stage? Feels like the unions would be making a lot more noise about it if they weren't.
Omicron looks to be so transmissible i'm not sure any mitigation measures bar wearing n95 masks all day can stop it.
I think the best idea might be to go ahead with secondary school, delay primary for a week or two, and make the vaccines available to everyone who wants one in that category.
Tough decision for the government.
There is a Meeting on Tuesday with Dept Ed and Public Health, presumably others too. Presume we will all know after that.
I know, but you'd imagine if they were thinking of delaying the reopening then that meeting would be brought forward. I can't see them dropping it on parents at 6pm on Tuesday "sorry lads, hope you've got childcare sorted cause no school for another two weeks". But we'll see I guess.
I can't get over how quiet the unions are on the matter though.
What's your opinion on children returning to school who haven't been vaccinated?