Once the verdicts are announced this thread will be opened
Original thread on the abduction here:
Commentary can be made on the individuals who were standing trial, but do not introduce any allegations against others who have not been the subject of a successful conviction in relation to this abduction.
40 year old defendant referred to as YZ found guilty
Thread opened
What was the reason for not naming the man found guilty? Are they in other ongoing trials?
I am not aware of any reasons being given and speculation over this is not permitted (as if the court has withheld that information it had reason to do so which it does not want the general public to know at this stage)
2nd conviction
"The Special Criminal Court found 40-year-old Alan O'Brien of Shelmalier Road in East Wall in Dublin 3 guilty of both counts."
(from the updated link in the post above)
I'm trying to figure out why he was abducted and why the kidnappers wanted him and others to resign.
Can anyone shine any light on that?
The reason was given back when they were arrested.
And what was it,?
very unsatisfactory level of detail available yet but i suppose it will all be out in time
Google it or read the original thread. Not going to say in case it is deemed as speculation.
Its not the first time great lengths have been taken to protect a convicted criminals identity. Alas it happens in Ireland very often.
Christ francie you'd make a great volunteer, you'd be a hard man to break
Is kevin lunny still with quinn holdings
Yes.
It is no longer QH's, it has been rebranded as Mannock.
It's not been done to protect him I'd imagine.
If it was intended to be the subject of ongoing discussion the reason for not naming would be published in news reports. It's not been so do not speculate or indeed quote from or link to any relevant posts elsewhere on the site (or else we would then need to delete that, if there is anything providing that info)
Any questions PM me - do not respond to this post in thread
I'm failing to see the point of a discussion, when you can't talk about the bloke most people assume was behind this attack?
These were just a couple of hired goons doing someone else's dirty work.
It's nice that they managed to nab them, but they're fairly small fish in the grand scheme of things.
Interesting when big business is involved, our courts seem to be very efficient at getting convictions. If it's some unfortunate nobody joe bloggs, good luck finding a court or judge that gives a sh!t.
Just to confirm (and it is stated in the now updated link in post #2)
Luke O'Reilly, 68, acquitted
Alan O'Brien, 40, Darren Redmond, 27, and "YZ", 40, all guilty of falsely imprisoning and intentionally causing harm to Mr Lunney
Manic what a name
They said the reason for not naming YZ on RTE news this evening. It's not a very interesting reason.
what was the reason? if it was mentioned on the news there shouldn't be an issue posting it.
His involvement in a seperate court case.
I'm interested in finding out what information they got from Dublin Jimmy's technology or if it was used atall.
Can only imagine hefty 15+ yr sentences here, planned insurrectionist crimes don't go down well here, not to mention the publicised aspect.
What was done to Kevin Lunney was beyond barbaric. Long sentences definitely in order. Hopefully they can get whoever was behind it ((mentioning no names of course) but I won’t be holding my breath.
I hope that these people will get long sentences.
I also hope some of those who live in the border communities and enabled these thugs to run amock by their silence and their deeply disturbing localism also hang their heads in shame. Too much of that carry-on went before this abduction.
The SCC doing its job once again.. detractors take note.
Is this the same Alan O'Brien?
Tremendous news, and yet another crack into the silence that surrounds the murder of Paul Quinn. There's a small cohort who know everything that went on with both incidents. A shower of backward knackers.
Will be interesting to see if the alleged IRA/Republican involvement is true or not. I guess the Sunday papers will be digging deep. More to come from this id say.,
This is a strange case, with the constant news articles about the paymaster.
I'm not sure if I have taken the hints the wrong way or not.
Only time will tell I suppose.
Definitely has to be at least one of them involved.