whelan2 wrote: » One of our Angus bulls had a pig tail post wrapped in his ring this morning
Have you noticed how protests are only ever bad optics when it's the side you disagree with are doing it? Like during the pandemic, it decided if they were super spreader events or not.
Jaysus, plenty lads drive em around on Sunday’s for sport these days…
I saw a new Land Rover Defender today and my first impression was that it looked like a security van 🤨
You'd want the contents of the security van to pay for it to I'd imagine. There fairly basic as regards aesthetics which is in keeping with the rugged no frills Defender history. However they remind me of a bigger, beefier Suzuki Jimny which isn't something I'd want to be reminded of daily if I'd parted with that amount of my hard earned cash.
OH was saying same from comments she saw on social media
Need the older tractors in farm condition
God forbid an industry can afford to have modern safe equipment...
I doubt he'd of had it any other way, some are quarried for the hardship & love reminiscing about it.
A good while ago when I was doing my green cert work experience. A nephew of the host farmer (god be good to him) came into the kitchen and proclaimed how he would love to turn hay on his father's half of the farm with the host farmers vintage ferguson 20.
The nephew was an accountant on his weekend off. I gave him a look and that he wouldn't like it when he's covered in dust and horsefly bites. The farmer laughed. I grew up with it. The accountant didn't. The farm was leased out. But he had a romantic notion of it saving hay on those two days.
It's part of the wider approach that everything was ok before modern machinery and farming practices and a bit if expansion in dairy production.....
As you said I well remember the older machinery even as a young fella you would be crippled after a long day in them
Those old masseys were rough,no comfort. Lorry drivers of that time were killed too, you'd often see them taking off the coat to drive the lorries,
Lorry drivers now, that keep their weight under control, should have no wrecked body parts when they retire
Farmers that have jobs (as most of them now have) don't have time to tolerate poor machinery. It's great we can buy good machines and feck the begrudgers.
I told my neighbour that he'd have to pay 40k for his tractor, he just laughed and said no way for 500hrs/year. He paid exactly 40k ffor it after.
He has to be be in work at 8 am and because it's in dublin it means he's there at 7.15 otherwise it'd be 9
Wonders will never cease, I see a prominent Beef Plan (or whatever group she's in now) Member promoting our Budget submission..
That's a real '' road to damascus'' moment if there was ever one 😎
Lucky to have our meat industry, there's nothing else now, lucky to have them
Farmers aren't one homogeneous group, splits occurred for good reasons. A farmer would be a fool to blindly follow without thought.
`Never happen, as soon as prices would rise, farmers would drive on production
Would agree…
Farmers are a funny breed, we farm cos we want/like to a lot of the time. Like, how many here work reasonably well paid jobs, only to come home and spend a few hours working a minimum wage job?
Financially makes no sense really… 🙂
Agreed, I believe farmers are basically well off now because they have jobs. Despite the statistics there's a lot of young people farming now, Th'ould fellow goes to the mart/ protests which gives the grey impression A lot say it's nice to have the farm to pay big bills, My tenants are young and have taken over alot of land around.
A big difference in the scenario of ten years ago, driven on, I suppose, by the milk boom.
The guys around here buying land tend to have a wife with a good job, whatever the farm makes is a bonus
Most farmers have a partner working off farm and a lot where the two are working off farm
A high proportion of couples have both working and I don't think farmers are any different. Fact of life I'd say
I suppose I should say a high proportion of the couples that aren't on the dole
I don’t get when people say there is a wife working off farm earning a very good wage. She’s not gonna throw it into a farm so the husband can lose money at his hobby. I’d assume there would be a lot more ways to spend any of her wage that’s left over
Herself wanted to put money into the farm here when we started going out first, I warned her off! 😂
It generally means that the farmer needs to contribute less or nothing at all to household spending. Sad but true.
I think you've hit the nail on the head
Same here or both work full time
We both work off farm.
Not a penny goes into the farm from both salaries. The farm pays for itself and the miserly mortgage. All household expenses come from the other halfs salary. Mine pays for the cars and extraordinary expenses. Single payment is used for vacations.
We are here to live not slave.
Does there be much left out of the farm income for morgage and vacation after income tax is paid, or are you writing off the vacation some way,?
Don't answer me if private.
Today is World mental health day. It's good to talk.
It's subjective really. Some would consider 3 jobs in a household slavery. More would consider dairy farming slavery for example.