Yes, it is admissible and a jury is allowed to take confessions into account, the only requirement is that a judge must warn a jury about any lack of corroborating evidence. If the only evidence that a person committed a crime is that they confessed to someone and that person has testified, the jury has to understand that there may be no corroboration of this in other evidence.
Here’s an example of an informal confession being taken into account, the suspect was found guilty. https://www.irishtimes.com/news/witness-says-kerry-man-told-him-he-had-killed-teenager-1.213989
Good lord. Local rumours. Do you live in the west of Ireland??
I'm hopeful there's more substance to these rumours in recent times however.
I'm so confused
I've already said, it's speculation. Did you not read my post a bit back?
Yeah, the coat would have protected Bailey from the brambles and the briars. Maybe he really got the cuts from killing three turkeys and cutting a Christmas tree. It's not impossible. How often do you kill turkeys? I'd say it's something you don't do every day of the year, and if one doesn't have the experience, it's easy to get cuts.
what are the source of the rumours? did you ever try to trace them to source?
Poster is clearly not worth engaging with. Living in cuckoo land.
You have attributed words to me that I didn`t say and then criticized me for saying them. You are ridiculous.
Also strange that Bailey was reportedly wearing his big thick black coat but also somehow reportedly ended up with scratch marks all up his arms from briars at the same time..
Direct me to evidence of a complaint made by Sophie to the said detective. Not Bailey`s twittering.
Given the amount Ian Bailey had drunken that night, I'd say between him and the Gard, the Gard would have been the more agile one to commit the murder and leave the murder scene quickly enough. Bailey would have in the state he was in, have stumbled home, he wouldn't even have had a few scratches from brambles or briars but also a strained or broken ankle even. I don't think anybody said that Bailey walked with al limp later on over Christmas.
And if it was police corruption, it would certainly point into something very big to cover up, big enough to commit murder. A drug ring and Sophie having gotten wind of something going on in this area could easily have been the motive for that.
The Gard would also have been careful not to use his police car, but his private vehicle. On the road, anybody would easier have remembered a police car than a blue Fiesta. If he would have come late at night he could easily have argued to Sophie that he was at the end of this shift and actually stopping at hers on the way home or something. The Gard would also have known that fingerprints could not be left on that particular brick or that rock. Bailey would probably not have known that, he didn't have the experience, or I would think so.
Yes and they were so frightened and shocked they decided not to tell John Shelley who picked them up.
Yes he did according to the locals I talk to about it
Nope, that only comes when charges are brought.
And DPP directed (quite correctly) that no charges were warranted
Yes, that's not the full report but I believe he stated its a possibility but it wasn't certain.
In rural Ireland, if you make that kind of complaint, the last thing you want is a garda car turning up. The unmarked detective cars are typically used, driven by plainclothes detectives.
Now my theory personally was she'd made this complaint previously and he was either going over under the guise of watching her house, helping etc, but did in fact want sex and was rejected.
It's from John Haribsons report;
THE STATE PATHOLOGIST'S report raises two mysteries: what caused "the curious situation that the drops of blood on the clothing were for the most part quite circular, a few with slight 'blobs' on the edges, as if they had fallen vertically on to the long johns rather than dribbled downwards from the deceased's head onto her legs"? The folded part of the cloth was not stained, creating "the impression that this blood therefore fell on these trousers while in that infolded state". Could the drops on the dead woman's pyjamas be the blood of her killer? Future DNA tests may tell. And what caused the "fine parallel abrasions" that Dr Harbison said resembled "the imprint of a 'Doc Marten' boot" on the dead woman's neck, face and right forearm? Did her killer stomp on her body?
It's more proof of a connection than Bailey has with Sophie haha.
Can it be proved he was driving a blue ford fiesta perhaps, or can any link between John O'Donnell and Marie Farrell be found.
seeing it once was enough..
At 10.30am the first garda on the scene said the blood around her nose and ears was still wet. A Dr on the scene presumably did an examination of her body, but I'm not sure he mentioned rigor mortis??
She was left out for a further 24hrs till the pathologist came and did a post mortem, where time of death could not be determined.
The only reason the night time death theory has persisted is because the Gardaí have continually said it, however its not based on hard facts, because they don't exist.
There's a lot of weight to the early morning death theory, 6/7am
If Sophie had made a complaint to the Guards in relation to criminal activity it would be relevant as an alternative angle to who might have interacted with her and what other angles may have lead to her murder.
To suppose the only way Bailey might have come across this info is via Sophie and not disclosed data or other sources is blinkered tunnel vision.
Firstly I would question that the said detective was investigating a complaint made by Sophie. Just cos Bailey says it don`t make it so. Secondly, if a file on such a complaint existed, what relevance would it have had to the arrest?
You've hit on my point about the 7.30am sighting -
Hours could have been spent, since her murder, either erasing evidence, setting the scene, or attempting to decide how to proceed.
There have been cases where a murderer has been so overcome with the burden and unrelenting thoughts of what they did that they blurt it out. There was a case a couple of years ago where a man was constantly texting his friend telling him he had to tell him something, the police put a tape recorder in the friend’s car and the man confessed to his friend that he killed a teenager and told him details of the murder.
The Shelley’s said he was crying and clearly upset, how can that also be a humorous or sarcastic remark? They said they left the house before the lift home even arrived because they were so disturbed by what had been said. The Shelley’s were in the same pub as Bailey the next day and Richie said he told Bailey he now believed he had killed Sophie, I haven’t seen any account that they had arranged to meet or went together?
It's quite possibly the connection, but there's no proof.
Persisting with nonsense. Even if some of this hearsay evidence were admissible in court do you believe that any judge would allow a jury to take it into account when deciding on a murder verdict? The Guards knew they could stick any old shite into their presentation to the DPP because they didn't expect it to fly. They were just going through the motions of catching the killer. While not catching the killer.
For all that there was far to little evidence and traces left at the scene. Most likely the murderer had time on his hands to clean up the site to a certain degree. He would have operated totally under the guise of darkness
Good points. If he came prepared he could have had a torch
WTF wouldn't she just say that? Equally both personally incriminating but removes a reason for the Guards if doijng their jobs honestly and properly to speak to this other person.
So what other reason could there be for driving around at 3am on her own why, cos she's an astronomer?
"It's possible she made up" ... the whole thing.
It would be pretty logical if that was the connection, whether the guards were involved with the drug growing or dealing I don't know. But if rumours are to be believed this person had a past of trying it on with single women, maybe a case falls in his lap of a pretty french woman who needs liaising with.
What have you actually said though? These Chinese whispers have been doing the rounds for years. Gemma O Doherty wrote about it and now Bailey is running with it. From memory, and I stand corrected on this, Gemma had a witness who was overtaken by a blue Fiesta at 7-30 AM. It doesn`t fit with the probable time of the murder. Rigor Mortis was evident by 10-30 and given the overnight temperature, this would put the time of the murder well before 6-30. It would also be dark at 7-30 mid winter so I would seriously question how someone could identify a car colour accurately under lights. I actually had a Fiesta in the early 90`s and it was a weird blueish green colour. There was a lot of them around back then. Bailey drove a white one.