Tyrone's game management has been absolutely exceptional this year as well If tyrone are winning with 10 to go I'd fancy them very strongly they protected leads brilliantly against both Monaghan and Kerry so far this year.
My apologies Francie, I read that back and I was a bit touchy (rude) with you over the 'feeling' bit.
Fair play!
First final in a long time (sadly I have ALWAYS had no horse in the final race) that I can genuinely say I don't mind who wins it.
I read that and felt it was way over the line.
Brolly - a 3rd rate yellow pack Dunphy wannabe - is a scourge with zero class
Agree, but that's his speciality, the cheap shot. Thanks be to God we don't have to listen to his narcissistic ramblings anymore on the TV.
In fairness, the Dublin County Board had to run to their contacts in government after losing a couple of games to Meath and Kildare in the 90's. It's easy to point out the mismanagement of other counties while spending millions of euros provided by all of us.
That's part or the gaa problem we cannot enough passion/intensity as 90% of gaa games mis-match overall including the championship until the last 8 in recent times.Then the real championship starts. I have been pretty well picket 3 of the 4 teams in the semis each year for about last 15 years before it starts.
There are loads of options but the problem is for me the gaa need to want to fix it but admin out of touch with grassroots....
The funding needs to be addressed but first of all big clear-out at the top...
totally. Delighted to see the back of him off RTÉ.
I generally don’t read his articles but I read that one by mistake yesterday and yet again it confirmed brolly is a nasty, cheap shot merchant.
I’d always support an Ulster team but i wouldn’t mind seeing Mayo win just to see the celebrations, it would be mental if they finally manage to do it.
If Mayo don’t win this year when will they do it?
Genuinely don't know when they will win it if not this year. It will, for any fan of GAA (real fan) be a look away moment if they lose.
I’ve usually no time for Brolly but he hit the nail on the head with that comment yesterday.
Spillane should have been kicked out of RTE in 2003 after his sour grapes about Tyrones win over Kerry and puke football comment, almost twenty years later he’s still there spouting his rubbish. His performance yesterday was a disgrace, he’s an embarrassment.
With the influx of new players - and a few more on the assembly line - I think we will be there or thereabouts over the next few years. Outside of losing so many finals, we are lucky in getting the chance to follow these lads the last few years (and before). However, this is the best chance yet to get that elusive win but it's still a coin toss for me.
You're invited West if they win (and tanko as well) 😃
I don't mean to write off Tyrone, but let's be honest it's not their 2003 to 2008 vintage Mayo are playing here. So in that aspect, i do think you are slightly overrating Tyrone. Tyrone are a good team, but the current Tyrone side are a long way off the quality, of the early to mid noughties Tyrone teams.
This Mayo team is definitely different to previous ones. This one, when it senses blood it goes for it. Previous Mayo teams, if they went in front, they didn't know what to do or lacked belief.
The young lads have no baggage and no fear. Its refreshing to watch. They seem to have huge belief too. They came out smiling and laughing for extra time whereas Dublin looked nervous and edgy coming out.
Meath Kildare struggle outside Leinster and against Carlow. Longford. Westmeath Wicklow at various times in the last 10 years how do you excuse that? Anyway 'Ewan 2.0?' there are other threads for that discussion as you well know. You are another GAA excuse merchant, little or no analysis or real substance a one trick poster - agenda lead.
You would be another fella who would be great craic to watch an AIF Final with - agenda lead - little analysis of the actual game. A barstooler.
Mod Note
This thread is for discussion of the All Ireland Senior Football Championship.
You ( Enquiring ) know there is a thread devoted to this topic.
I am still tipping Mayo for the first time in my life in an AIF final. I think I said Donegal in 2012. It will be close though kinda hoping for extra time and penos. Does it go to penos or is there a replay?
Replay for the final. I think Mayo are finally gonna do it too, for once I think they are actually the more settled team
It is gas one minute Mayo are over confident they will win and that is why they won't.
The next minute it is Mayo are a bunch of bottlers, which really would mean they would have no confidence and hence will not win.
If Mayo were the chokers that they are always made out to be they would all be hiding under a blanket in the dark, but yet they come back year after year.
And if they are the chokers that are often made out to be then surely to fook the greatest team ever tag can never be given to Dublin.
After all what achievement is it to beat a bunch of chokers by just one point or just after a replay on numerous ocassions.
Mayo players rightly celebrated after finally getting one over their biggest rivals of the last 10 years.
But this manager and a fair few of the players have been in enough finals to know that winning a semi final, even if over Dublin, means fook all at the end of the year.
Anyone from Mayo underestimating Tyrone is an eejit and deserves to spend a few hours discussing refereeing with a certain poster.
We have won nothing yet, but like every year we live in hope.
I think if Tyrone are even within 1 or 2 points with 10 or 20 minutes to go I'd be fancying them to squeeze out a victory.
That's another aspect of gaa i do not understand i think considering the majority of scores are points, if its level it should be decided on points.
If say after 5 each its level then sudden death and goals...
Not sure if be hand or ground kicks or distance, i think that up to the players/management to decide....
Sugrue didn't step down in 2020 after a Galway game?! What are you on about. He brought a very average Laois from div 4 to 2 and a Leinster final in 2018. He overachieved with that bunch. You're facts are all over the place. He also trained the Kerry back to back team of 2007, 2008.
Quirke got no response from Laois. Senior players clashed with him. Get your facts straight.
Sugrue left Laois in 2019 after been beaten by Cork in the qualifiers. A year out and county wrong!! Maybe post on things you know something about.
Those managers didn't leave Laois in tatters. Those same players didn't play for any manager since Justin McNulty in 2012.
You have to laugh at the posse thanking you. Sugrue did brilliantly with an average lot. And his divisional record in Kerry and success training them in 2007-08.
Sugrue managed senior adult teams. That's way ahead of being given the gig for managing U17s.
If you consider that a 'great line'...
I have never used the word 'bottlers' but the fact remains they have failed at the final hurdle.
Physiologically deficient would be the term. Will Tyrone suffer the same way, I don't think so. Mayo have to get it right, they won't get a better chance.
There were two of them in it Saturday. Sean Cavanagh is one of the most obnoxious, arrogant, prickly, chip on the shoulder merchants on GAA analysis. Big victim 'we are angry' in Tyrone speech. The GAA and Kerry did all they could for them.
Some of the Tyrone lads were still recovering from Covid on Saturday. Not up to peak fitness. They’ll be much fitter for the final I’d say. It could make all the difference.
A look away moment?
They're playing in a 50/50 all Ireland final. If they lose it will be the same as any 50/50 all ireland lost. There'll be a final next year, and the year after that..
Look away moment... it's only sport, no one will die. It's not like Christian Eriksen collapsing, a genuine look away moment.
You’d imagine Mayo will be around the top end for a good while yet considering the job Horan has done turning around the panel.