Horan showed some balls to sub AO'S in fairness to him. He deserves Kudos for that. Most managers would have left him on based on 'reputation' and hoped he would come good.
But yeah, AO'S seemed to be consistently acting the bollix. He is a an odd sort of player in that he can be completely anonymous in games at times. I don't know what to make of him at all. Would Horan pick it him to start v Kerry/Tyrone after that display?
AOS should have got a red for that missed free in the 1st half.
It sickened me seeing him celebrate at the end, and getting his mug into every photograph.
His behaviour at the end of the game reminded me of John Terry at the end of that champions league final that he didn't play in.
O'Shea contributed about as much to his team on Saturday as terry did to Chelsea that night.
That Rural Broadband Rollout has a lot to answer for! 😀
What shoe? What I find ironic is that you were responding to a poster about the Media's obsession with Dublin. Yet, here you are on a Dublin thread commenting about DUBLIN! 😀
Dublin had done five in a row never done before (in men's football) of course they are going to be the main draw. Six if you count the weird covid year. But, I don't really count that in my mind.
And now you're mentioning 'abuse' Meath players suffered from Dublin in Meath games. I am old enough to remember many a Meath game when both teams were top sides. There was hard hits from both sides and the teams shook hands. Then moved on from it. In fact many of the Dublin and Meath players of the late 80's early 90's side became good friends and played in golf outings together and the like. So I don't know where this abuse 'over the years' stuff is coming from. Your own head maybe?
I think McCarthy's one was worse, Small's was just awkward and mistimed. They still should have got reds though. But then so should A O'S for repeated infractions at least two yellows. Plus he was a contributor to a melee.
Interesting point on the Hennelly free we will never know now. There would have been real uproar if he scored the first and missed the retake. Maybe you are right Lane is likely to have bottled it.
I don't like the way posters are trying to tar the Dublin team. If they were real GAA people they would have more respect for the team. It has a similar vibe when the tired narrative was Dublin were physical machines/robots with no skill and so on. It was straight from a certain journalists play book.
But gradually even they had to concede that Dublin had great players, and moved on to find another way to diminish Dublin's achievements. It is pure and utter bregurgery. Remember when the Ulster teams and Kerry used to roll Dublin over they had skilful players but would outmuscle teams as well.
Kerry were not praised for this much for that but it was there in the an Gaeltacht lads they wouldn't be out muscled. Ulster football built its reputation on not being out muscled and the pundits used to rave about it.
The Dublin loss added to the John Small challenge is manna from heaven for certain posters. All their Christmases came at once they could really spin it. That is the nub of it really. Tomas O'Sé said as much when he called twitter a cesspit.
Meath players suffered this abuse and far worse for years mainly at the hands of Dublin people and the Dublin biased media. Now that the shoe is on the other foot maybe this will be recognised upon reflection.
Its heart warming to see the amount of new visitors we have to the Dublin GAA Thread. It really does bring home the amount of hurt that must have been inflicted on them over the years. I was berated by some for pointing out Flynns frontal charge on Cooper, and told to win graciously, something a lot of the new visitors to this thread could take heed of.
You implied it from what I can see and you are now backtracking. Teams do not win all ireland's without players like the Small brothers. A successful Gaelic Football team is made up of many components - different types of players complimenting each other.
1) Whatever way you want to read my posts is up to you. I never once said Mayo did no wrongdoing and haven’t in the past.
2) Again, my county is none of your business and doesn’t have any bearing on my opinion unlike how it does on yours. I can see when Mayo have done wrong and I can see when Dublin have done wrong. I don’t have a blind bias.
4) I really don’t care that much about Dublin football as you seem to think I do. What they managed to do was incredible and I don’t think we’ll see it again. I have great time for players like Mccaffrey, Kilkenny, and I don’t have time for others like the Small brothers.
I’m not replying to you again - have a great day 👋
More rubbish
1) you and your cohort clearly implied it in a previous post above (which I went through methodically as to the reasons why this was evident) (which you liked) then proceeded to laugh about Philly's ripped jersey.
2) The fact you are not revealing which county your are from or support is very telling. Are you not proud of it? Or will the statement incarnate you as to your true intentions on this thread.
3) There is no sour grapes from me about Dublin losing. I have already said fair play to Mayo on the Mayo thread. I have also said Mayo deserved it and this result was coming. If you look at this thread prior to the game I called a Mayo win. For reasons I have already elaborated on numerous occasions. I have zero complaints with the result
4) I am aware that a Dublin loss brings out 'fans' like yourself who seem extremely blinkered and really revel vicariously in a Dublin defeat. You dream of it. Your dreams came through. But you don't stop there you want to tar the team, diminish the team, sully the team's reputation. If anyone could learn a bit of humility it is yourself from genuine GAA fans like myself and others. I doubt you will be opining much on this thread until Dublin lose again in football. And I doubt you will be giving any insight on the upcoming Dublin Football Championships.
For a moment there I thought I wandered into the Dublin GAA thread. Never mind.
First up, I don't think the ref would have made him retake it if he scored it.
Second, I'd say there was at least 2 maybe 3 occasions where O'Shea ran on to the pitch after he was taken off. All of which were completely glossed over by the commentors and officials. Sure, he was showing great pashun, standing up for his teammates blah blah blah.
But, look, aggression is only to be praised when it's the plucky underdog doing it. Mayo were super aggressive after halftime and more power to them, they needed it. But this myopic sense of being hard done by even after winning a great game is laughable. Both teams were aggressive and overstepped the mark at times but it wasn't a nasty game by any stretch.
Small lost the plot completely tbf as did mccarthy.
small had two red card incidents so very lucky to stay on the pitch
Yes O'Shea shouldn't have done that.
But John Small for sure was out of control.
Punched O'Donoghue in the face not long after McLaughlin was stretchered off
And to go back to the McLaughlin incident Small was lining him up from a distance back so had plenty of time to see that McLaughlin was unsighted in a sort of "hospital pass" scenario and the actions ensured that was the result.
It only takes 0.12 of a second or 120 milliseconds for the brain to have time to make a decision after the image has been seen with the eye
Coming from an expert such as yourself on bias and sounding foolish I have duly noted your concerns and will reflect on the matter.
Still not seeing anything malicious in that tackle. McLaughlin was mid turn when he got hit and the impact spun him around into the shoulder. Look, on another day that could have been a red but it's one of those incidents that happen in the sport from time to time where the initial impact looks fine but due to a player turning or ducking it can lead to a nasty injury. I wish the lad a speedy recovery.
All this talk to thuggery and Dublin being sore losers just boils down to being childish petulance.
I don't hold much stock in the guff being posted here and for the genuine Mayo supporters here's hoping ya bet that other shower in the final.
Interestingly enough, you can clearly see Horan telling the ref to fook off. Didn't Costello get the line last year for something similar?
I’ve never once said Mayo had no wrongdoing, I don’t agree with Aidan O’Shea entering the pitch at all. He left himself down there. Where I’m from is none of your business and has nothing to do with the posts. Maybe you can learn some humility with this loss now and move on. Sour grapes and all that.
I never compared the two that is your own bias. It was in response to a previous poster (who you are now in cahoots with) implying all the wrongdoing was on Dublin's side.
I also mentioned that Aidan O'Shea entered the field of play illegally repeatedly. It would have been very ironic if Hennelly had scored the first free but it had to be retaken because of too many Mayo lads on the pitch, and then he missed it.
I doubt you are even from Mayo and are just enjoying a wind up to kill time. But surely you can be a small bit more mature and grown up about it. Dare I say even witty? Or is it just juvenile level stuff dressed up as 'banter'?
Because comparing someone’s jaw being broken in two places and requiring surgery to a jersey being ripped is comical.
I don't drink coffee. I doubt you are even a 'GAA man' to be honest. Not the type of genuine salt of the earth supporter - that anyone would want to be sitting beside during a match anyway.
Why is that funny that post above reads very juvenile like? Does it not indicate rule breaking and rough play?
https://www.samaritans.org/ireland/news/free-call-samaritans-ireland/
And what speed is it? Slo Mo.
You have probably gone to bed dreaming about that challenge having watched it so much. It happened much faster than that in real time. But sure sure why let the truth get in the way of a good story?
Now was your chance to get your digs in online about the 'Dirty Dubs'. You have waited for all this time. It was your chance you have taken it. Unlike John Small your 'dig' is completely premeditated and calculated to inflict maximum annoyance to others who have to read a one sided viewpoint with little or no nuance. Tar John Small and tar Paddy Small as well while you are at it.
Well done.... clap clap clap
Ah but sure Philly had his jersey ripped hahahahhaha
"nice" angle here
Says it all in a couple of seconds
Could see that McLaughlin was totally unsighted and smashed him in the face with his shoulder
There is no defence for this, anywhere.
It seems you have already made your mind up there in the first few sentences. 'John Small lined up lined up with a VERY heavy shoulder challenge'
Small WOULD, Small SHOULD etc, Small COULD. Small KNEW etc.
You have already set in your mind that it was premeditated by Small to go out and injure E Mcloughlin. Was it slo mo you were looking at? The ref did not even pay heed to it in the heat of battle neither did Deegan.
Then you continue on to get a further dig in at 'John Small's brother' as you refer to him as. You might as well tar the whole family sure. I am glad you are not a judge in a court of law. No mention of any of the other goings on in the match - Philly's torn jersey, Aidan O'Shea repeatedly illegally entering the field of play etc.
I know history is written by the winners but your post is taking the biscuit. A completely one sided blinkered view from start to finish and you complete the post with - 'not a good look for Dublin' just to put the cherry on top of it for yourself.
Neither of the officials at the time thought there was something seriously wrong otherwise they would have reacted differently. That is not a Dublin problem, but refereeing human error on the day.
Is this ref error going to eclipse all others (in the minds of some) even the decision Seamus Aldridge did in the 1978 game v Kerry (Sheehy's goal), or Jimmy Cooney blowing up too early in the hurling AI SF between Clare and Offaly?
Fact is that in a very high profile match the Dublin player John Small lined up McLaughlin for a very heavy shoulder challenge.
Small would have seen on his approach that McLaughiln was receiving a pass from an angle that meant that McLaughlin would be completely unsighted to Small's challenge so Small could have "altered" his impact to take account of this but he didn't.
Small also knew on impact that it certainly wasn't shoulder-to-shoulder and that McLaughlin was in trouble but played on as if nothing happened, took the ball off the ground beside the prone McLaughlin, stormed up the field a bit and passed on!
Double-jaw fracture for McLaughlin results from an impact that he didn't see coming. Surgery required. Drinking through a straw and a yogurt and ice-cream diet for McLaughlin.
Then to add to the headlines you have in the very same match you have Small's brother clotheslining a Mayo player earlier on with a strike to the neck.
People can refer to other incidents in prior matches against Dublin players but in a match that was very notable for Mayo coming back and winning these incidents from two Dublin players who are brothers are going to hitting a much larger audience than normal so it's not a good look for Dublin.
This angle is particularly damming (plays from timestamp)
It’s plain as day to see that something was seriously wrong when Eoghan was hit. Anyone who says otherwise is simply choosing not to see it.