Seems like the bar staff of the temple bar assaulted two teenagers Monday night. Kicking them in the head and using a ashtray as a weapon. After this incisdent and the blatant disregard the temple bar had for the rules at the start of the pandemic. Is it time that the temple bar's trading license is revoked ala Berlin's?
Video of assault: https://www.instagram.com/p/CR59UVtj4oW/?utm_medium=copy_link
One of the young fellas sister even made the comment about him being no angel ...
What's a 13 year old doing out at night time in the middle of Dublin city asking for smokes and hasseling licensed premises staff. All the videos show it's clearly dark out.
Is it normal for his parents to have him hanging around the city at night . Place is dangerous enough without throwing middle class kids into the mix.
As for not typical skateboarder behaviour. Never heard such waffle before. Lads on skateboards are no angels. They aren't some hyper being of great citizenship behaviour.
I also find it amusing the difference in opinion on this incident and the inner city young lads a few weeks ago causing havoc on south William Street.
Classism.
See that’s an assumption though.
How do we know the lads were provoking the bouncers?
if it’s the case they asked the bouncer for a cigarette and the bouncer slags the teen then is it the bouncer provoking the attack or kid for asking for cigarette?
or skateboarders might have just decided to attack a bouncer for no reason.
This is not usually a typical skateboarders behaviour but how and ever we don’t know what happened which leads us back to video evidence and that video evidence shows adult men beating on teenagers. The kids giving some slaps back and then some guy goes completely over the top by throwing an ashtray. Same guy then drags the 13 YO into the premises against his will. And that is really where the problem is. This wouldn’t be a problem if the dragging into the pub didn’t happen out of camera shot knowing this pub is famous for that camera being live steamed it’s even on their website. So this then shows something malicious within the dragging off camera.
its two groups of people interacting when they should have been. Both in the wrong .. but adults should probably know better. However a skateboard can cause serious damage to any individual regardless of who is swinging it ... and if you do swing it you'd want to be prepared for what ever reaction you are going to get
Its outdoors - and its usually a good idea to have one to put out illegally lit cigarettes indoors anyway. Brand new built aircraft still have ashtrays in the toilets for this purpose.
Absolutely problem is, if that craic starts going excused...then what a punter having a few verbals with a security head who looses patience after a challenging night.....and then the punter gets cracked on the head and dragged inside..that’s not lawful..
i guarantee most of us at some point have seen pub / club security overstep the mark, times I’ve seen it happen coincidentally has been temple bar too.
Whole story stinks. What's a pub doing with an ashtray inside it's premises in 2021 for a start.
Play stupid games, win stupid prizes
Well we don’t know the full extent. All we know is what’s in the videos.
-physical altercation.
-Teens swinging skateboards dangerously.
-adults beating on children as young as 13
-an ashtray thrown.
-a confused security guy dragging people.
-A child dragged into a pub off camera against his will by clearly an older man over powering him.
Thats what I see in the video. I think it’s enough to make judgement in this case due to previous behaviour as well. Adults shouldn’t beat on kids. Sadly we’ll never know the full story but this isn’t the only problem they’ve caused. You might remember the bad name they gave every pub in the country at the start of lockdown hosting sing songs when the virus ran rampant.
its an age old problem .. .young fellas who think they are bullet proof provoking bouncers ... and ending up getting a hiding.
Did I say I missed that part?
Agreed, however are we not forever giving out about feral youths having no fear of the law? And wouldn't it be great if they got their comeuppance? Attacking people with skateboards? Yea great idea but don't bite off more than you can chew.
you miss the part where the little scrote is on top of someone punching them in the head before the security guy gets involved??
I can only go on what I see .. so if I’m reading this correctly there was a verbal altercation and someone starting swinging a skateboard in someone’s face and a row erupted … culminating in a young fella getting a hiding?
are you reading this thread?
someone posted the tweet from the child’s sister where she clarifies he was 13???
I’m not wasting my breath on you anymore.
Gonna be big payouts for the kids.
There is a great difference between defending onself.. as we are all very much entitled to do... and whats being shown in that video... which is of a kid being dragged along the ground and into a premises and hit with an object.. ie. assaulted...bouncer simply needs to call the Gardai... de-escalate the situation and use proportionate force to defend himself...
Sorry I don't know his sister,may you're more familiar with these 'litle angles' than I am.
Maybe his sister might enquire why her darling child brother was out in the city at night?
Most skaters are.
would they be middle class teenagers by any chance?
Do you think the child’s sister is lying about his age?
Noticed the Irish times pulled the article from Facebook. Wonder why?
So they're 13 now? The ages have decreased again.
I heard they were 10 myself.
I dunno, I wouldnt like someone to swing a skateboard inches from my face, I quite like my teeth.
And you can tell they're security personnel from a grainy video can you?
My favourite bit is when trained licensed security men can’t handle a couple of 14 year old skateboarders.
So if a 13 year old child squares up to you, it's perfectly reasonable to throw an ashtray at their face? Sound logic.
I like the bit at the start where the young lad squares upto the staff member and the other starts swinging a skateboard.
It's funny how that never made it into the majority of the videos going around on Twitter etc.
You haven’t a clue what you’re talking about because you haven’t watched all the videos.
see:
https://streamable.com/nyb3cm
This shows the dragging