Seems like the bar staff of the temple bar assaulted two teenagers Monday night. Kicking them in the head and using a ashtray as a weapon. After this incisdent and the blatant disregard the temple bar had for the rules at the start of the pandemic. Is it time that the temple bar's trading license is revoked ala Berlin's?
Video of assault: https://www.instagram.com/p/CR59UVtj4oW/?utm_medium=copy_link
Should have been revoked years ago for their rip off prices.
I wonder what the full story is...................................
I knew it was the temple bar that also started trouble at the beginning of lockdown. I couldn’t find any articles on it. This shower are scum and should lose their license but they’re in bed with the authorities i bet. As we can see in the protest videos yesterday
to be honest the skateboarder kid might have antagonised them. I heard they asked someone for a smoke or the bouncer for a smoke and then the bouncer started slagging them and then possibly something happened to start a physical altercation.
Either way its no excuse and it’s fairly pathetic a grown man had to drag a 14 year old child into the pub especially with covid and likely the child is not vaccinated.
There’s usually a good excuse for beating on a 14 year old and then proceeding to drag them into a pub against their will after you’ve slapped them up and down the street.
in the absence of any context - i wouldn't be forming any real opinion on the situation.
Organiser Evan Fogarty (24) said the teenagers involved had done nothing wrong. “All we want is somebody to come out and say sorry. It is not much to ask for,” he said.
Eyewitness Aoife Kehoe (17), who was with the teenagers , said the incident occurred when the security guards started to tease the teenagers about being skateboarders.
However - I really think there is more to the story than this
That story seems a bit one sided. Maybe leave the torches and pitchforks to the side until there is a bit more detail?
A teen getting dragged into a licensed premise to continue an assault after being attacked with an ashtray and kicked in the head isn't deserving of criticism?
I'm surprised the Twitter outrage mob never jumped in this story tbh.
It's shocking. No matter the prelude that led to this, it's beyond disproportionate to drag a teenager inside your premesis to (presumably) kick the ever-loving sh!te out of them off camera.
I've also witnessed the gards (most look like young trainee hot-head types) carrying on similarly around town over the past few weeks and months. I don't know what's in the water these days. Maybe steroids 💪
Here’s an honest question for people saying they don’t know the context.
if you were walking through your housing estate and you witness a 40 year old man beating a 14 year old on the ground and then dragging him against his will towards his house would you mind your own business and assume because you don’t know the context you will ignore the situation you just witnessed?
This is a real Irish approach. We’ve learned nothing about abuse throughout the years in this country, it’s actually quite sad.
I had 2 skateboarders outside my gaff at 9.30 last night, making serious noise jumping about the place and woke up my one year old.
I asked them politely to move on, they apologised politely and moved immediately, seemed like nice lads.
I suppose I didn't know at the time that this was an option.
Is there another video that shows the kick to the head?
Because the linked video clearly shows someone getting kicked in the bum.
"One individual threw a battery at the door"
He was definitely trying to start something.
the video you posted shows nobody being dragged in to a pub ... let along attacked with an ashtray.
You are probably protected in your work by security personnel at the door.
I am sure you are grateful for their presence.
Let the Gardai deal with this matter.
This shows the dragging
You haven’t a clue what you’re talking about because you haven’t watched all the videos.
see:
https://streamable.com/nyb3cm
I like the bit at the start where the young lad squares upto the staff member and the other starts swinging a skateboard.
It's funny how that never made it into the majority of the videos going around on Twitter etc.
So if a 13 year old child squares up to you, it's perfectly reasonable to throw an ashtray at their face? Sound logic.
My favourite bit is when trained licensed security men can’t handle a couple of 14 year old skateboarders.
And you can tell they're security personnel from a grainy video can you?
I dunno, I wouldnt like someone to swing a skateboard inches from my face, I quite like my teeth.
So they're 13 now? The ages have decreased again.
I heard they were 10 myself.
Noticed the Irish times pulled the article from Facebook. Wonder why?
Do you think the child’s sister is lying about his age?
would they be middle class teenagers by any chance?
Most skaters are.
Sorry I don't know his sister,may you're more familiar with these 'litle angles' than I am.
Maybe his sister might enquire why her darling child brother was out in the city at night?
There is a great difference between defending onself.. as we are all very much entitled to do... and whats being shown in that video... which is of a kid being dragged along the ground and into a premises and hit with an object.. ie. assaulted...bouncer simply needs to call the Gardai... de-escalate the situation and use proportionate force to defend himself...
Gonna be big payouts for the kids.
are you reading this thread?
someone posted the tweet from the child’s sister where she clarifies he was 13???
I’m not wasting my breath on you anymore.