The Supporter wrote: » Darragh O Se wrote today in Irish Times "Complacency cost teams last year and it will do so again this year". I see Peter Keane(Kerry) is talking up Clare and Kieran Donaghy(Armagh) is also talking up Antrim, they both are making sure that Kerry and Armagh are properly tuned in to the challenges they face this weekend. Mayo are playing Sligo in Markievicz Park and the Sligo Manager knows the strenghts and weaknesses of the Senior Mayo Players (having worked with them for two or three years). Are Mayo properly tuned in for the challenge they will face in Sligo on Saturday?
HBC08 wrote: » Correct ,he's done the cruciate in both knees in the last two years.To be back at any level is some achievement both mental and physical.I didn't think he'd play for Mayo again but it's a testament to the man that's he's put himself back in the picture.
wirelessdude01 wrote: » It was the other knee.
Thou wrote: » Back playing club football alright, but it's going to take him time, had a reoccurance of the cruciate injury didn't he. Expecting him to hit peak form at inter county level again after being out for so long is crazy.
km79 wrote: » Or Roscommon .......
naughto wrote: » For sligo letrim no bother but as the games get tougher that is where the injury he had will start to show I hope he has a full bill of health come galway
homewardbound11 wrote: » Without doubt Jason Doherty is a massive addition . Before his injury he was almost at his peak in football . If he is anything remotely close to it then he is a starter .
wirelessdude01 wrote: » A more pertinent question, is will he be in any cit shape to add anything to the county team within the next two months.
happyoutscan wrote: » How far is Jason Doherty from returning?
Blackjack wrote: » I'd agree with all of that except that is a very young FF line - I suppose you have to try it sometime. Same question around Aido's fitness as from MayoAreMagic - he did very well in the first half the last day but struggled in the second as he was dragged out of position (clever move by Collins too). I wouldn't have him in FF as we've seen defenders just pull and drag him all day long and never getting the calls.
RedDevil55 wrote: » With Diarmuid out for a while I think it makes sense to put AOS in midfield beside Ruane. That's where he played his best stuff against Clare. I don't think AOS works inside. He's not a reliable enough scorer. Ryan O'Donoghue seems to really have the hang of the advanced mark, simply because he makes clever runs out to the wing and catches the ball into his chest. Aido won't be able to do that. So maybe a full forward line of Tommy, James Carr and Ryan. We could play Loftus at 11 then as he's probably the best free taking option?
MayoAreMagic wrote: » Well the likes of carr always had to play second fiddle to coc inside. Being more of a central figure could bring performances out of guys. Not unlike when mortimer walked and coc became the figurehead of the attack - it undoubtedly helped develop him as a player. I think the advanced mark could be part of the reason why aos will feature inside at times. They need to start finding him with decent ball when he does though.
Sebastian Dangerfield wrote: » Seems like the strategy of playing Aido at 14 had run it's course based on league selections. I wonder if CoC's injury might see a change to that - though DoC's injury leaves them a bit short in midfield too. I'd love to see someone like James Carr really step up and make it his own, but can't see it somehow.
Blackjack wrote: » Not a fan of Aido at 14 as he just gets fouled out of the game there. Prefer him at midfield in a defensive role. He was excellent there all during 2019 along side Matty Ruane. Would be great if Jason Doc was ready as I think he'd be ideal at 14 in place of Cillian. I think Carr does need to step up - he's certainly got talent but he's got a tendency to take pot shots from distance rather than work the ball in.
Sebastian Dangerfield wrote: » Seems like the strategy of playing Aido at 14 had run it's course based on league selections. I wonder if CoC's injury might see a change to that - thought DoC's injury leaves them a bit short in midfield too. I'd love to see someone like James Carr really step up and make it his own, but can't see it somehow.
Happyilylost wrote: » Basically three years injured since he hurt his ankle. Two years ago in Limerick was brought against Mayo and was out of gas very quick. Had a good start to the league last year which actually coinciding with Galways best run of form (looking back at now it's hard to know how true a picture that form was) was brought on early in the league after lockdown against Mayo when ye hammered us out the gate and injured his hamstring not long after coming on. Was brought on late against ye again in championship last year and was out of gas by the time he had ran onto the field and took his position. From limited ball I thought he showed well against Dublin this year. Pace and power seems to be present it's just getting him on the pitch at this stage.
Audioslaven wrote: » Comer has tapered off imo. He is not the player he was about 2/3 years ago. Now he still has the potential and I did think he was going to be something really special for Galway but with injuries etc I think he is not the same guy. I think he has lost his aggression on the field which was a real admirable thing to see.
muddle84 wrote: I think he tried to come back to early from injury and he always seems to be injured now?
MayoAreMagic wrote: » Id imagine he will be out for the season, which is hard on him obviously. However, we are in transition, and this could be a chance for some lads to find their feet up front. The likes of a carr to lead the inside line, rod to become a central figure, towey to show his accuracy. It is undoubtedly bad news, but it is also an opportunity for the team to come out the far side a stronger unit.
Utopia Parkway wrote: » Touch and go for the Roscommon game but expected to be fit by Connacht final time.
Green&Red wrote: » Does anybody actually know how long an Achilles’ tendon injury takes to recover from? Major blow for Ballintubber if he’s out for the county championship