monkeybutter wrote: » was it not a blue ford fiesta, are you trying to cover your tracks?
BraveDonut wrote: » I watched the whole thing and spent most of my time wondering how Bailey and his partner funded their lifestyle. Lovely well maintained house, lots of money from booze - all from selling some paintings and bits of tat in the local market?
Bannasidhe wrote: » I knew the occupants of that other house - it was one of them found the body. He was a retired chef and his partner - who never recovered from finding Sophie - was a just retired teacher. She had literally just moved there from London that Summer. This was their dream retirement home and they intended to live there permanently. To get to their house you had to pass by Sophie's. It was up the side of a mountain in West Cork and I can confirm there was zero mobile phone signal in the area. I know as we got lost looking for the house in the summer of 1996 and were trying to phone them on the one mobile available between 5 people. In the dead of Winter unless there were lights on in the house it would not be seen by the neighbours. There was also a lot of foliage between the two houses. However, Sophie's house could be seen from the road. Neighbour's house couldn't be seen as it was painted sky blue and very well camouflaged - which is why we couldn't find the blasted place even though our driver had been there many times. We were going to a retirement party (a BBQ) attended mostly by people involved in the hospitality industry and one of the guests was Ian Bailey. I got the feeling he had invited himself and was infamous for gate-crashing. I spent most of the evening talking to him and found him a boor, tbh - no-one else wanted anything to do with him. Much was made of Bailey's attendance at this party - yet, the Gardaí seemed confused about who was in attendance. To give an example - of a well known Cork family one brother was there - Gardaí requested an interview with another brother who had never set foot in the place. The brother who had been there contacted Gardaí himself and insisted on being interviewed. The thrust of the questions was if Bailey had made any comments about Sophie. Gardaí were told as he spent most of the time talking to me they should ask me that. Did Bailey comment on Sophie? Yes, in a roundabout way. Another guest (not a local) asked who lived in the house we passed. Our host said it was a French film producer who comes and goes and they never know when she's there. Bailey asked if it was "that blonde woman, Sophie something". He was asked if he knew her and replied "just to see around" - there then followed a discussion on French cinema in which Bailey tried to demonstrate his knowledge. He was a know it all and a boor, and that guest that everyone who was there considered the why did you invite him person. I have never been interviewed by the Gardaí. Or anyone else. Gardaí were given all my contact details several times. When I was leaving the country in 1999 I again contacted them to ask if they wanted a statement. No one got back to me. From day one the investigation was a cock-up.
upupup wrote: » Jilted lover tries to meet her and was seen in town by marie farrell.she tells him its over. He calls to the house in his blue vauxhall but shes says its over,she walks him to the gate for the last chat and he gets upset and kills her in a rage.he goes back to the house to collect the flowers/gift he brought her and leaves the blood on the door.he is seen speeding away from the scene and disappears forever. marie farrell is upset because the gaurds didnt believe her true statement so makes up another one about the man on the bridge
Radio5 wrote: » Watched the 1st episode last night. Was surprised to learn that at least 1 of the houses close to Sophie's house was occupied. I thought they were holiday homes which were empty at that time of year. Strange that those people heard nothing given their proximity. The murderer clearly knew the area well, it didn't look like somewhere you'd be just passing by chance and you'd need to know your way out. Given the location, there weren't likely to be too many witnesses out and about.
listermint wrote: » Does the violence of the murder point towards a rage. Rage from the murderer being found out for something else. E.g an affair. Like I'll let your wife know about this you wait and see. These style murders are often rage induced to protect the preparator from exposure not of the murder at hand but another act known to the victim and the murderer. Does seem to have the hall marks of a jilted lover though with the visit back to Ireland at that time of year.
Addle wrote: » How come she was never charged with something like perverting the course of justice, or wasting Garda time?
AdrianG08 wrote: » Had to laugh at her trying to act coy and secretive, wouldn't say it would be in her nature to not tell the whole world something that would get her a bit of attention. She is the definition of the unreliable witness. Her description of the man outside the shop was funny too, long coat, sallow skin, a beret, trying to make him sound as french as she could.
yourdeadwright wrote: » Ye very possible could be why the man in the car with her was never named Although i always thoughtful maybe it was a Guard in her car ,
PokeHerKing wrote: » Or she herself could be mad. She claims to have seem the same man following Sophie the morning of her death. Then she spots the potential killer on the way home. Seems pretty coincidental that this woman was at the centre of this drama. I'm leaning more towards bored country housewife looking for a buzz and maybe it all got away from her.
yourdeadwright wrote: » Marie Farrell the women who witnessed the man late that night on the road was the key to this but with the length of time it took for her to come forward that ship has sailed , Her story about the head Garda getting naked in her house still baffles me , makes me think the Garda where up to all sorts and may have more to hide
fryup wrote: » and who's behind this?? someone local? a blow in? a Bailey associate?
am_zarathustra wrote: » It's on all the podcast apps, Spotify, Audible (originally theirs) or podcast addict. It's just called "West Cork". It's brilliant stuff, very strange and compelling story
am_zarathustra wrote: » It's clear from the way he goes on he's fond of hyperbole and ill advised humour. Also if half the town think you did it it becomes a psychological defense mechanism. .
fryup wrote: » anyone got a link to this Podcast, that's mentioned a lot here
AdrianG08 wrote: » What has Bailey got to say about his alleged confessions he made to other people? i.e to the young lad in the car and I think there was another also. Does he contest that or claim he was joking or what?
fryup wrote: » excellent point, we shouldn't concentrate on west cork all the time, more than likely she would have hired a car and travelled around the country on occasion and also what airport did she use? Dublin? Cork? did she stay overnight in these city's? did she meet some guy in a bar? have a fling? countless possibilities to consider
AdrianG08 wrote: » I wonder did she travel much in Ireland outside of West Cork during her previous travels here? Possibly meet another man from elsewhere in Ireland who had visited her from time to time? There is potentially an individual nobody has even mentioned (non local) who was very familiar with where she lived.