Addle wrote: » If you’ve listened to the podcast, there’s nothing new in it, so it’s disappointing. Sheridan likes to be in front of the camera as much as Bailey. He’s not a natural presenter/documentarian. I’d recommend the West Cork podcast over it.
notahappycamper wrote: » Yes, very poor that a day was wasted. This was a murder and the State Pathologist should have got his ass down there asap either by helicopter or Garda escort noting time was of the essence and the time of year. It was 1996, not 1896. The truth will never be known unless there is a confession at this stage.
I told ya wrote: » From what I recall at the time, from reading various articles, there was no official State Pathologist, laboratory, support staff, etc. Prof Harbison was on a retainer to act when requested by An GS. This may be clarified in the series or in some article.
I told ya wrote: » Watched about 35 minutes of E1. Couldn't believe the Guard from the Technical Bureau say that when they arrived in W Cork, the local Garda Station was closed for the night and they did not have a mobile phone. Whatever about not having an official mobile phone, I would be amassed if at least one of them did not have a personal mobile. Also, left Dublin at 3.30pm and arrived in W Cork at 10pm. Yes. I accept 23 December traffic and no M7/M8, Jack Lynch Tunnel etc but effectively, a day wasted. Could they not have used a bit of top brass pressure/back channels and get the Aer Corps to helicopter some of them there with basic equipment. Looks v poor from the outside, IMO for what it's worth.
Pintman Paddy Losty wrote: » Hi I watched the first two episodes on Sky Crime last night, how has everyone seen the whole series? Is there another way to watch it?
CorkGunJonny wrote: » Hi all. I saw the first two episodes on sky crime last night. When are the other episodes to be aired? Thanks
Sadb wrote: » In 1996?? I would doubt it. I didn’t know a single person that had a mobile phone in 1996. The fact that the first person called to the scene was a priest should tell you how far we’ve come since then!
I told ya wrote: » They were around Dublin in the late eighties. Granted, big awkward things, poor battery life and poor reception. Technology moves very fast. I had a mobile phone in 1992, a Motorolla brick but worked ok. By 1996 they were planning move to GSM phones with the 088 being phased out. Mobile phones were all the rage back then. Remember Denis O'Brien and ESAT.
I told ya wrote: » Watched about 35 minutes of E1. Couldn't believe the Guard from the Technical Bureau say that when they arrived in W Cork, the local Garda Station was closed for the night and they did not have a mobile phone. Whatever about not having an official mobile phone, I would be amassed if at least one of them did not have a personal mobile.Also, left Dublin at 3.30pm and arrived in W Cork at 10pm. Yes. I accept 23 December traffic and no M7/M8, Jack Lynch Tunnel etc but effectively, a day wasted. Could they not have used a bit of top brass pressure/back channels and get the Aer Corps to helicopter some of them there with basic equipment. Looks v poor from the outside, IMO for what it's worth.
Cona44 wrote: » Ive always said that the answer in this case is most likely the simplest one. To often, we look for far flung theories about what may have happened and this gets gradually worse as time goes on. For me, its quite simple. Whoever did this, had to know the area well. On top of that, if it was a local they would have had marks to the body in some form. Bailey was a known vicious, womaniser who was close to killing his own partner. He was wearing the long dark black jacket that all of a sudden went missing as part of a bonfire in the following days. His hands were destroyed in cuts as well as a nick to the face. In my opinion, its a bit far fetched for all the above to be a coincidence. The guards knew this too as well as many locals. But without any DNA evidence they knew they would have to prove it by other means. Marie Farrell was the absolute bombshell though. I cannot figure out why she inserted herself into this case at all. I can only guess she wanted a bit of fame which ultimately backfired on her. I think she probably did see Bailey on Ceal Fada bridge that night. The rest seemed to be lies forced out of her by gardai. Who was in the car with her though and why would she not release the info. She should have been arrested and prosecuted for not supplying this info.