Dtp1979 wrote: » Not really appropriate in this day and age. Just be careful or you’ll get a name for yourself.
new2tri19 wrote: » When are all these comps yous talk about ?, going to have to turn up and check out the racks . The way this last year or so has been I'm going to actually turn up just as an excuse to get out of the house , do you need a licence or insurance or anything or just pay it and lift ?
Alf Veedersane wrote: » I think it would definitely open your eyes to the idea of signing up for a meet in the not-too-distant future. Last meet I did, there was a large flight (28) but there was a 155kg difference between the winning total and 10th place. There was a guy whose numbers were around your numbers now. But he got a raucous cheer like everyone else.
new2tri19 wrote: » When I read that first I read "large fight "! I was thinking jaysus these things must get rowdy ! I'd turn up sure why not , lifes too short to be worried about what other people think of you and the truth is nobody really cares , everyone has there own goals. I used to do Parkrun alot and won a few times but would stick around and cheer the people coming in for the next half an hour or so . Everyone is at a different stage has different commitments, available time , priorities. When you say 155kg difference do you do 3 lifts and they add them all up , like one day it's bench X 3 ? Or is it bench squat ohp and deadlift added together?
new2tri19 wrote: » When you say 155kg difference do you do 3 lifts and they add them all up , like one day it's bench X 3 ? Or is it bench squat ohp and deadlift added together?
Alf Veedersane wrote: » You have 3 attempts at squat, bench and deadlift and your total is the best of each. So say your day looked like this: Squat: 120kg, 140kg, 150kg Bench: 90kg, 95kg, 100kg Deadlift: 140kg, 160kg, 180kg Well done cos you've gone 9 for 9 but your total would be adding 150kg squat, 100kg bench and 180kg deadlift....so a 430kg total.
Patsy167 wrote: » Have been reading up on bracing on the back of discussion on this log. So many good tips available here - https://www.google.com/search?q=cue+for+bracing+squats&rlz=1C1GCEA_enGB820GB820&oq=&aqs=chrome.0.69i59i450l8.32628j0j7&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8
Alf Veedersane wrote: » You're doing paused squats :pac: Depth is great but you need to pop out of the bottom...not stop. I guess its probably happening because you're trying so hard to get deeper than what feels like is deep enough.
coffee_cake wrote: » I'm so bad for that it's like I stop down there and have a ponder about my life Good job though looking good the pause isn't the worst I think I know you're working on a million things but at some stabe maybe get in the habit of standing still for a second after you finish the squat - will need that for comp which you said you wanted
Dtp1979 wrote: » Feck that pondering life in the hole. I try to get out of there as quick as I can. Doesn’t mean I do though . You need to get some safety bars too. I wonder would knee sleeves help you a bit. Kind of giving you a gentle nudge up
Dtp1979 wrote: » What rack did you go with?
Dtp1979 wrote: » Did ya get the new rack set up?
Dtp1979 wrote: » I think you were a bit far away from the rack.
Alf Veedersane wrote: » Take off those runners before you squat again. Do you always squat in runners like that?
new2tri19 wrote: » Reebok Lifter PR II Shoes Mens https://g.co/kgs/WDRbZ1 These are lifting shoes I bought for squatting
Alf Veedersane wrote: » Ah ok. They just look like runners and that made me wince.
new2tri19 wrote: » Thanks Dtp do you mean in terms of catching on the spotter arms if I fail ? Or is my form off ? I was lifting very light so wasn't concerned with location of spotter arms if your concern is the former .