Sebastian Dangerfield wrote: » Off topic but I think I prefer their attitude to funerals to be honest. The use of death as a social activity in this country really gets on my t1ts.
malinheader wrote: » I'm totally the opposite think the way alot of funerals were celebrated here before covid were a whole lot better than the one across the pond. There's a saying where I am from that an Irish funeral is better than an English wedding. Age and circumstances taken into consideration of course.
Cilldara_2000 wrote: » Irish funerals also beat Irish weddings.
cj maxx wrote: » So many times I've seen families standing there , dumb struck shaking hands ,with people who are for the most part , strangers. Awful tradition for the most part.
spakman wrote: » From my experience, it's a great comfort to the family to have people come and pay their respects. They could be people they haven't seen in years and it means a lot when they take the time to be there. And yes, there's a great social aspect to it which also helps and leaves many fond memories as stories are told etc
Santan wrote: » Anybody else reading through this thread hoping not to read a story and suddenly realise, uh oh this is about me
lawred2 wrote: » There is no way the procession/lineup for handshaking allows for stories to be told... Try to dawdle for longer than a couple of sentences and you get told to move along quick enough..
Ubbquittious wrote: » Kind of. Twas me that did the ruining. Won't go into any more detail than that. Great satisfaction from it though
Leg End Reject wrote: » It's done at the wake and after the burial when everyone goes for refreshments.
lawred2 wrote: » I know that. But the poster specifically highlighted the procession of handshakes... And it is very Irish for every Tom, Dick and Harry to join that queue. There's no stories being told. I like the late night story telling where you're really only in the company of family and friends but there's a lot of horrible protocol to get through before that. Anyway, we're going off topic:)
HBC08 wrote: » Great thread. I was groomsman at a wedding where one of the lads who was steamboats after the church herded a few sheep into the champagne reception. Sheep are more agressive than you think,while everyone (and the sheep) went mental he whipped down his trousers and played the grand piano with his bare arse cheeks.
Parachutes wrote: » Then it came to the speeches and the best man (who only met her the week before or so) was joking about how she was only doing it for the visa and to get away from being shot in America, it was fairly tame stuff but they didn’t get the humour at all and nearly started a row over it. The bride was awful upset about the whole thing and blamed the family for ruining her wedding day. I
anewme wrote: » To be honest that reflects more on the best man. Would be same someone from Northern Ireland going to UK and best man saying they did it to get away from bombs. Stuff like that never lands well.
HBC08 wrote: » I was at a cousins wedding with the other half,she hadnt met any of my extented family at the time. We were three drinks in before we realised we were at the wrong wedding. We also missed the actual wedding earlier that day because we couldnt find the church.
Parachutes wrote: » How’d you manage that at all.
glenfieldman wrote: » Give a clue to the politicians involved
Notmything wrote: » Showed this thread to a colleague at work. She was at a wedding where the groom got steaming drunk, decided to relieve himself outside. Someone saw him n he panicked, up went the zip and he "caught himself" in it. Apparently there was blood everywhere n he staggers back into the reception clutching his bleeding bits and screaming for help. Those trying to help only made it worse. Ambulance called and he ended up in a+e. But he now has a cute scar on his knob. And it's a not so friendly reminder to his wife of her ruined wedding night.