justbehindit wrote: » I was just wondering, do the guards who work as FO's have to do much if any training? Like a course on firearms and all things firearm related or do they just learn on the job? It often feels like when ever I'm talking to an FO they're not quite as knowledgeable as you'd expect. Not saying it's their fault or anything, but just wondering if this is the case country wide or just where I'm based.
alanmc wrote: » From my dealings with FOs, it seems to be a role that's rotated around the pool of sergeants every 6 months or a year or so (at least in my local). It's a bunch of admin tasks and paperwork on top of all of their normal day job activities, so some of them see it as a pain in the ar$e (I would too), and it often gets bumped down the priority queue when actual police work needs to get done. So, it gets no "love" as it's considered a side job, and a tedious one at that.
JP22 wrote: » Basically, its a hit and miss affair, some FO's have an interest in firearms, most however do not, its just a job to be completed. End of day, its a paperwork job like any other, checking this/that/and the other, however FO's do not work by themselves. From what I have been told - Local FO's complete all the necessary paperwork and complete any checks/house visits etc. as required, completed paperwork is then submitted to the Area/District FO (normally a Sergeant I believe) for final checking/semi approval and for final submission to the relevant Super authorising the license.
Vizzy wrote: » Not in my station. You submit everything and the application is checked by a civilian. If security checks are necessary, then this is done by the FO, then everything is submitted to the Super for sign off. Since they started using a civilian to do the initial checking things have sped up quite a bit.
JP22 wrote: » Yes, some civilians (Secretaries) are now doing the job or checking the applications in some stations, not all, but I believe an area FO (Sgt) must sign off the application before final submission to the Super.
clivej wrote: » I must have the best FO, She knows a good bit about licensing but will sometimes ask me when I'm in about what is happening at the moment. Last license was in and out in 2 weeks and another 1000 rounds on the license.
clivej wrote: » Here in Kilkenny City we have a dedicated FO. Great at her job.
Half-cocked wrote: » My FO for the last 10 years is the best I've ever encountered. I dread the day he retires. I once had an FO whom I had to explain to the difference between side by side and over under. Another who I figured knew zero about rifles so I managed to sub a .22lr for a .22-250. Worst was the one who laughed my partner out of the station when she tried to apply for a shotgun license. What would a girl want with a gun? Despite all these examples, the majority of FO's I've dealt with have been good to excellent.
tudderone wrote: » If that happened now it would be on the front of the papers !
tudderone wrote: » I know in the UK they have civilian workers for routine paperwork like licence renewal. It frees up a police.
jb88 wrote: » Had a good chat with the Instructor from an ERU team who was giving training to a team of Gardai once.
cookimonster wrote: » Dispite all the negative press these guys get, they are a far cry from the Detectives of yesteryear running around with 38's and Uzis.
For feck sake and before this blows up into a free for all slagging match these guys, both in the ERU and ARU, receive extensive training in many different disciplines.
otmmyboy2 wrote: » On their actual qualifications I did have the pleasure of meeting one ARU member and after a relatively lengthy(few hours) chat I would not be very confident in their abilities to shoot to stop a legitimate threat to their/others life.